比特币协会年度报告(2019)摘要:学术界

今年4月,比特币协会发布了其首份年度报告阐述了协会的各种活动以及在第一年运营中BSV网络所取得的进步。在本系列摘要中,我们深入解读报告的内容。本次,我们将聚焦学术界——其作为协会的关键领域,致力于促进Bitcoin SV生态系统中的人才发展。

学术界代表着比特币协会战略的一个重要原则,即吸引并教育当下和未来的商业领袖认识BSV区块链的力量。协会坚信通过在学术界激发兴趣和提供资助,能够有效地建立Bitcoin SV未来专业人才渠道。

在第一年度,创始主席Jimmy Nguyen和nChain首席科学家Craig Wright代表比特币协会,多次前往顶尖教育机构,与学生和官员进行交流。此外,比特币协会还在许多活动中发表讲话并提供赞助,面向下一代开发者、企业家和创新者开展演讲和讲座。本年度亮点包括出席英国牛津大学和剑桥大学活动,以及中国清华大学举行的全天活动。

在2019至2020学年,比特币协会荣誉赞助剑桥大学Metanet社团,协助组织校内活动,为有兴趣学习和在Bitcoin SV上构建项目的学生安排每周交流。目前该社团已产生了多个具有潜力的项目,先拔头筹的是HIVE——其在比特币协会第二届BSV编程马拉松比赛中赢得亚军,其他进展显著的项目包括BlockPixels和MetaVibe。

剑桥大学Metanet社团在2019年10月举办了Metanet论坛,Craig Wright博士出席并发表了鼓舞人心的演讲,讲述了他对构建在Bitcoin SV上的互联网(即Metanet)的未来愿景。

2019年12月,在比特币协会中国路演期间,Craig Wright先生和Nguyen先生应清华国际区块链协会邀请,在亚洲顶级学府之一的中国北京清华大学发表演讲。在此次路演中,比特币协会与清华国际区块链协会共同主办了“比特币历史”系列讲座,吸引了50名学生、校友和技术爱好者参加,讲座主题包括Nguyen先生的《原始比特币与企业区块链》和Wright先生的《点对点系统的历史与哈希算法》。

2020年,比特币协会宣布设立中本聪奖学金,以支持Bitcoin SV区块链应用程序的学习和技术开发。第一位奖学金获得者是剑桥大学人类基因学博士生Robin Kohze,他作为比特币开发者和倡导者,因连续取得骄人成就而脱颖而出。

Kohze在比特币协会第二届Bitcoin SV黑客马拉松中赢得了亚军,他的获奖项目HIVE是一个激励信息协议,受分子动力学启发而发明,他计划在奖学金的帮助下将这个项目发展成一个能全面运作的平台。此外,Kohze还是剑桥Metanet社团的创始人。

Nguyen在解释这一决定时说:“作为我们组织使命的一部分,我们希望能支持下一代伟大的比特币思想家和开发者。”

“Robin Kohze是一位真正了解比特币变换数据交互技术能力的杰出人才,我们很高兴能把第一份中本聪奖学金颁发给他。我们期待着他的HIVE项目的实现,创造实际价值,同时感谢他对剑桥学生进行的比特币中本聪愿景教育工作。”

Bitcoin Association awards first Satoshi Nakamoto scholarship to Cambridge University Phd student

比特币协会计划在成立的第二年继续发展学术界项目和外联工作。想要了解更多关于比特币协会至今在学术界的工作和下一年计划,请点击下方阅读比特币协会首份年度报告。

Bitcoin Association Annual Report 2019 – Extracts: Academia

In April, Bitcoin Association published its first annual report, charting the activities of the organization and the progress made by the Bitcoin SV network during the Association’s first year of operations. In these series of extracts, we take an in-depth look at elements of the report, this time focusing on academia – a key area of focus for the Association as it works to develop the human element of the Bitcoin SV ecosystem.

Academia represents a key tenet in Bitcoin Association’s strategy for engaging with and educating the business leaders of today and tomorrow about the power of the BSV blockchain. The Association is steadfast in its belief that by generating interest and funding initiatives within the sphere of academia, it can help to build the pipeline of Bitcoin SV professionals for the future.

Throughout its first year of operations, Bitcoin Association – represented by Founding President Jimmy Nguyen and nChain Chief Scientist Craig Wright – made a number of appearances at premier educational institutions, meeting with students and officials alike, in addition to speaking at and supporting a number of events – delivering presentations and lectures to the next generation of developers, entrepreneurs and innovators.  Highlights of the year included appearances at Oxford University and Cambridge University in the UK, as well as a day-long event at Tsinghua University in China.

For the 2019-2020 academic year, Bitcoin Association was proud to sponsor the Cambridge University Metanet Society, helping the on-campus organization to arrange weekly meet ups for students interested in learning about and developing projects built on Bitcoin SV. Already, a number of promising projects have emerged from the Society, headlined by HIVE – which won second place at Bitcoin Association’s second Bitcoin SV Hackathon, in addition to demonstrable progress made by BlockPixels and MetaVibe amongst others.

The Cambridge University Metanet Society organised the Metanet Forum in October, 2019 which saw Dr. Craig Wright deliver an inspiring address about his vision for the future of the internet on Bitcoin SV – dubbed the Metanet.

 

In December 2019, Wright and Nguyen accepted an invitation from the Tsinghua International Blockchain Association to speak at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China – one of Asia’s foremost academic institutions – during the Bitcoin Association China Roadtrip. As part of the trip, together with Bitcoin Association, the Tsinghua International Blockchain Association hosted the ‘History of Bitcoin’ which brought together 50 students, alumni and tech enthusiasts for a series of lectures – including Nguyen’s ‘The Original Bitcoin & Enterprise Blockchain’ and Wright’s ‘Hashing and History of Peer Systems’.

In 2020, Bitcoin Association announced the establishment of the Satoshi Nakamoto Scholarship, an award to support the study and technological development of blockchain applications made possible by Bitcoin SV. The first recipient was Robin Kohze, a PhD student in human genomics at Cambridge University, who had distinguished himself with sustained success in Bitcoin – both as a developer and an advocate.

Kohze won second place at Bitcoin Association’s second Bitcoin SV Hackathon with HIVE – an incentivized-information protocol inspired by molecular dynamics – a project he plans to develop into a fully-functioning platform with the assistance of the scholarship. In addition, Kohze founded the Cambridge Metanet Society.

‘As part of our organization’s mission, we want to support the next generation of great Bitcoin thinkers and developers,’ said Nguyen explaining the decision.

‘Robin Kohze is an exceptionally talented mind who understands Bitcoin’s technical capabilities to transform data interactions, and we are thrilled to award him our first ever Satoshi Nakamoto Scholarship. We look forward to his HIVE project being realized to create real world value, and also appreciate his work to educate fellow Cambridge students about the Satoshi Vision for Bitcoin.’

Bitcoin Association awards first Satoshi Nakamoto scholarship to Cambridge University Phd student

Bitcoin Association intends to continue to develop its programs and outreach focused on academia in its second year of operations. For more information on the Association’s work with academia to date and plans for the coming year, read Bitcoin Association’s first annual report below.