2019年7月24日比特币SV(BSV)的“类星体(Quasar)”协议升级计划将默认区块上限提高至2GB

比特币SV(BSV)“类星体(Quasar)”协议升级继续区块链大规模扩容计划,将默认区块上限提高至2GB

比特币SV(BSV)网络将于2019年7月24日进行分叉协议升级。这次升级着重于扩容:所计划的唯一更改是将默认区块的硬上限从当前的128MB提升至2GB(2000 MB)。虽然默认区块硬上限将为2GB,但最初,很大一部分矿工算力将手动调整其硬上限为较低的(但仍然非常强劲的)512MB级别,仍然远高于其他任何竞争的比特币项目。

“类星体(Quasar)”升级对于比特币SV来说可谓是关键的一步,将释放比特币可实现的大规模链上扩容能力,并使BSV成为全球企业区块链。BSV现在已经能够游刃有余地处理每秒300多笔交易;而这个处理能力还在不断提升,预计在“类星体(Quassar)”网络升级后的未来几个月内,每秒将处理超过1000笔交易。

对于比特币矿工将如何从此次升级中受益,比特币协会的创始会长吉米·阮(Jimmy Nguyen)评论道:“矿工们应该认识到大规模扩容对他们自身的利益来说意义非凡。特别是2020年5月下一轮区块奖励减半后,区块奖励补贴从12.5个币降至6.25个币,到2024年会再次降低至3.125个币,而后每隔几年还会再降。为了保持挖矿的利润,矿工需要从每个区块赚取更多交易费,以补偿逐渐降低的区块补贴。而这只能在BSV上实现。在2019年5月21日对BSV扩容网络测试中,挖出了1.42GB的区块,使得首次从交易费中产生超过12.5个币的区块奖励补贴。这就是比特币应当运作的经济模式,也是中本聪为确保矿工盈利所设想的模式。”

挖矿节点以及区块链监听者(listeners):2019年7月24日之前更新软件

本公告描述了“类星体(Quasar)”协议升级和其对挖矿节点的意义,以及不写入区块链的BSV实例的其他运营者(“区块链监听者”)。

请注意,“类星体(Quasar)”升级不同于2019年7月12日发布的比特币SV节点实现0.2.1版。0.2.1版是非强制更新,添加了几处优化,特别是大大减少了生成大量交易区块的用时,使矿工可以生成比BSV区块链中常见区块更大的区块。

0.2.1版增加了一些改进,强烈建议矿工使用,但对于升级“类星体(Quasar)”协议来说不是必须的。任何挖矿节点或区块链监听器如果倾向于继续使用BSV节点0.2.0版,仍然可以在2019年7月24日网络更新时直接升级到“类星体(Quasar)”。

BSV网络将于格林威治标准时间2019年7月24日13:00左右,升级至“类星体(Quasar)”。在网络升级前,建议挖矿节点和区块链监听器立即更新其BSV软件。

“类星体(Quasar)”升级的源代码将在BitcoinSV.io网站上提供:https://download.bitcoinsv.io/bitcoinsv/0.2.1/ 

区块大小上限:3种不同类型

对于比特币上如何进行区块大小治理的问题,实际上应考虑三种不同的区块大小上限。人们常提到的有两种上限:软上限和硬上限。其实,硬上限有两种不同版本。

软上限指专为矿工设定的上限,代表特定节点上可以进行尝试挖矿的最大区块规模。

硬上限指矿工可以接受的最大有效区块上限。同时也是BSV节点团队计划在2020年2月的“创世(Genesis)”升级中完全删除的设置。硬上限应该从以下两个角度考虑。

  1. 默认硬上限:对于硬上限,有一个默认设置。如果BSV节点的操作者没有手动调整过此值,则默认值将被使用。2019年7月24日的“类星体(Quasar)”升级会将此默认值从128MB提升至2GB,或者更具体来说,是2,000,000,000字节。
  1. 共识硬上限:无论硬上限的默认值为多少,大多数挖矿算力可能会使用不同的设置。我们之前提到过,一组代表了大多数算力的矿工已经表示过,他们想要手动地将他们的硬上限调整成512MB,即使比2GB的默认硬上限低些,但仍然远高于128MB的默认硬上限。

对矿工的建议

我们建议默认硬上限的手动调整仅在挖矿节点上进行。原因很简单,如果完全不执行硬上限的话会更容易跟随共识。如果您做不到的话,那么使用比共识硬上限更高的硬上限会比较好。接下来我们会给出具体解释。

如果您是矿池的运营者或矿工,建议您将硬上限设置为512MB,并将软上限设置为较低值。

在比特币SV软件中,配置参数实际上会有不同的名字。举例来说,以下是512MB硬上限/256MB软上限的特定配置参数:

硬上限:-excessiveblocksize=512000000

软上限:-blockmaxsize=256000000

对矿工以外其他人的建议:“区块链监听者”

许多企业和个人经营比特币SV,但并不参与挖矿。例如,如果您运营支持BSV的钱包或交易所,那么您就是在运行一个比特币SV节点软件实例。但与写入区块链的矿工不同,BSV实例的其他运营者只是“区块链监听者”。

如果您是区块链监听者,我们建议您不要更改BSV节点软件中的任何默认设置。您的默认硬上限应保持在2GB。如果您试图对其更改以匹配矿工,而矿工可能会从现在到2020年2月之间改变设置(而您却不知情);在这种情况下,您将会从网络中被永远分叉出去,直到您注意到矿工们所做的改变并提高您自己的硬上限设置。

若出现超过512MB的更大区块怎么办?

您的节点一开始会接受该区块,但之后会发生两种可能:

  1. 如果挖出这个更大区块的矿工拥有大多数算力,那么链将变得更长,您将继续跟随最长的链。其他矿工必须选择提高他们的上限去跟随最长的链,或者保持分叉。我们预计这是很可能会出现的情况。
  2. 如果挖出这个更大区块的矿工拥有少数算力,则这个区块将变成孤块,您的比特币SV实例会重组回到多数链。

与比特币世界在过去10年里的误解相反,孤块其实并坏,也构成安全风险。孤块是比特币的一个特征,实际上是比特币中本聪共识运行的一部分。您可以从nChain的首席技术官史蒂夫•施德斯(Steve Shaders)那里了解更多相关信息

改变比特币文化

“类星体(Quasar)”的升级代表了比特币文化的重大转变。通过将默认硬上限(由协议开发者设定)与共识硬上限(由矿工设定)分开,比特币SV节点团队正在削弱默认设置的约束力。这是比特币SV节点团队为了让矿工有权负责产能共识而做出的积极努力。矿工们如今对管理区块大小共识负有责任,他们将需要承当他们错误所造成的损失,因此他们要为自身的经济利益做出最佳决策。

明年,比特币SV网络将完成文化转型中的最后一步。随着2020年2月的“创世(Genesis)”升级,比特币SV节点团队将完全移除默认硬上限(或者更准确地说,默认硬上限将是无限的)。在接下来的6个月里,我们希望矿工们能够了解适应他们在BSV网络管理共识硬上限方面的新角色。与此同时,比特币SV节点团队将致力于为矿工提供更好的工具,以更安全地管理未封顶的区块规模。

此外,区块链监听者们应慢慢习惯与孤块和区块重组和平共处;或者至少,他们需要学习如何适应孤块和区块重组正常化的环境。区块重组不会破坏服务;只会让那些长期以来被比特币核心开发人员误导的人们感到震惊。

nChain的首席技术官兼比特币SV节点团队的技术总监史蒂夫•施德斯解释道:“比特币是一个残酷的达尔文现象。它反映了在一个自然世界中,更严酷的现实正是推动物种和全球生态系统进化的因素。‘类星体(Quasar)’的升级无疑促使所有比特币(BSV)参与者理解和适应这一事实,为2020年2月BSV的‘创世(Genesis)’升级做好准备。”

Bitcoin SV (BSV) Quasar protocol upgrade on 24 July 2019 lifts default block cap to 2GB

Bitcoin SV (BSV) “Quasar” protocol upgrade continues massive blockchain scaling, lifting default block cap to 2GB

On 24 July 2019, the Bitcoin SV (BSV) network will undergo a forking protocol upgrade.  This upgrade is focused on scaling:  the only change planned is to lift the default block size hard cap from its current 128MB to 2GB (2000 MB).  Although the default block size hard cap will be 2GB, initially, a significant portion of miner hash rate will manually set their hard cap to a lower (but still very robust) level of 512MB – far higher than any other competing Bitcoin project.

The Quasar upgrade represents a key step in Bitcoin SV’s journey to unlock the massive on-chain scaling power that was always possible with Bitcoin, and enable BSV to become the global enterprise blockchain.  BSV can already handle 300+ transactions per second comfortably; this capacity is continually being expanded and is expected to cross 1000+ transactions per second in the coming months after the Quasar network upgrade. 

Bitcoin Association Founding President Jimmy Nguyen comments on how this upgrade helps Bitcoin miners:  “Miners need to be aware that massive scaling is critical for their profitability – especially after the next block reward halving in May 2020 which reduces the block reward subsidy from 12.5 to 6.25 coins, and then again in 2024 when the subsidy is reduced to 3.125 coins, and again every several years after.  For mining to remain profitable, miners need to earn more in transaction fees from each block to compensate for the lower block reward subsidy.  This is only possible on BSV.  During a 21 May 2019 test on the BSV Scaling Test Network, a 1.42GB block was mined – which resulted for the first time in transaction fees which were more than the 12.5 coin block reward subsidy.  This is how Bitcoin’s economic model is meant to work, and this is what Satoshi always envisioned to ensure miners remain profitable.”  

Mining nodes and blockchain listeners:  update software before 24 July 2019

This announcement describes the Quasar protocol upgrade and what it means for mining nodes, and other operators of BSV instances (“blockchain listeners”) which do not write to the blockchain.

Note that the Quasar upgrade is different than version 0.2.1 of the Bitcoin SV Node implementation released on 12 July 2019.  Version 0.2.1 was an optional release which added certain improvements – in particular to substantially decrease the time it takes to produce blocks with many transactions, enabling miners to produce even larger blocks than are already common on the BSV blockchain. 

Version 0.2.1 adds certain improvements and is strongly recommended for miners, but it is NOT REQUIRED for the Quasar protocol upgrade.  Any mining node or blockchain listener who prefers to continue using BSV Node version 0.2.0 can still upgrade directly to Quasar for the network upgrade on 24 July 2019.

The BSV network will upgrade to Quasar on 24 July 2019 at approximately 13:00 G.M.T.  Mining nodes and blockchain listeners are encouraged to immediately update their BSV software, in advance of the network upgrade.

Source code for the Quasar upgrade will be available on the BitcoinSV.io website at:  https://download.bitcoinsv.io/bitcoinsv/0.2.1/

Block size caps:  3 different types

There are actually three block size caps to consider when thinking about how block size governance works in Bitcoin.  People often talk about two caps:  soft cap and hard cap.  But it is worth thinking about two different versions of the hard cap.

Soft cap:  this is a miner specific setting that indicates that maximum sized block a specific node will try to mine.

Hard cap:  this is the maximum sized block that a miner will accept as valid. This is the setting that the BSV Node team intends to remove entirely in the “Genesis” upgrade in February 2020.  The hard cap should be considered in two ways.

  • Default hard cap.   These is a default setting for the hard cap.  If a BSV node operator does not manually set this value, it will use the default.  The Quasar upgrade on 24 July 2019 changes this default value from 128MBto 2GB, or more specifically 2,000,000,000 bytes.
  • Consensus hard cap.  No matter what the default setting is for the hard cap, the majority of mining hash rate may use a different setting.  In this case, we have previously announced that a group of miners totalling what we expect to be a majority of hash rate have signalled their intent to manually set their hard cap to 512MB – still much higher than the prior 128MB default hard cap, but lower than the 2GB default hard cap.

Recommendation for miners

We recommend that only mining nodes make manual changes to the default hard cap.  This is for the simple reason that it is easier to follow consensus if you do not enforce a hard cap at all; and if you cannot do that, the next best thing is to have a higher hard cap than the consensus hard cap.  We will explain in more detail soon.

If you are a mining pool operator or miner, it is recommended that you set your hard cap to 512MB and that you set your soft cap to some lower value. 

In the Bitcoin SV software, these are config parameters that actually have different names.  By way of example, here are the specific config parameters for a 512MB hard cap/256MB soft cap configuration:

Hard cap: -excessiveblocksize=512000000

Soft cap: -blockmaxsize=256000000

Recommendations for everyone else besides miners: “blockchain listeners”

Many businesses and individuals run an instance of Bitcoin SV but are not involved in mining.  For example, if you operate a wallet or an exchange that supports BSV, you are running an instance of the Bitcoin SV Node software.  But unlike miners – who write to the blockchain – other operators of BSV instances are just “blockchain listeners.”

If you are a blockchain listener, we recommend that you do not change any default settings in the BSV Node software.  Your default hard cap should remain at 2GB.  If you attempt to change it to match the miners, there is a risk the miners will change the setting sometime between now and February 2020 (and you may not hear about it); in that scenario, you will be permanently forked off the network until you notice the change made by miners and raise your own hard cap limit.

But what if there’s a bigger block than 512MB?

Your node will accept that block initially, but then one of two things will happen:

  1. If the miner that mined the larger block has a majority of hashrate, the chain will get longer and you’ll continue following the longest chain.  The other miners will have to choose to either raise their limit and follow the longest chain or remain forked.  We expect this is the likely scenario.
  2. If the miner that mined the larger block has minority hashrate, the block will get orphaned and your Bitcoin SV instance will reorganize back to the majority chain.

Contrary to what the Bitcoin world has incorrectly been told for the past 10 years, orphaned blocks are not bad and are not a security risk.  Orphaned blocks are a feature of Bitcoin and are actually part of how Bitcoin’s Nakamoto consensus is supposed to work.  Read more about this from nChain’s Chief Technology Officer Steve Shadders.

Changing the Culture of Bitcoin

The Quasar upgrade represents a significant cultural shift for Bitcoin.  By separating the default hard cap (set by protocol developers) from the consensus hard cap (set by miners), the Bitcoin SV Node team is diluting the power of the default setting.  This is a very active effort by the Bitcoin SV Node team to push the responsibility for capacity consensus into the hands of miners.  Miners are now responsible for managing block size consensus, and if they make mistakes, it will cost them because they have an economic interest in making the best decisions. 

Next year, the Bitcoin SV network will take the final step in this cultural transition.  With the “Genesis” upgrade in February 2020, the Bitcoin SV Node team will completely remove the default hard cap (or more accurately, the default hard cap will be infinite).  Over the next 6 months, we hope miners will learn their new role in managing the consensus hard cap on the BSV network.   During this time, the Bitcoin SV Node team will work on getting miners better tools to manage uncapped block sizes more safely.

Furthermore, operators of blockchain listeners are slowly getting accustomed to the idea that they need to make peace with orphan blocks and block reorganizations; or at the least, they need to learn how to manage in an environment where orphan blocks and block reorganizations are normalised.  Block reorganizations do not break services; they only appear to shock people who have been incorrectly listening to Bitcoin Core developers for too long. 

Steve Shadders, nChain’s Chief Technology Officer and Technical Director of the Bitcoin SV Node team explains:  “Bitcoin is a brutally Darwinian game.  It is a reflection of the natural world in which some of the harsher realities are the very things that drive the strengthening of species and the global ecosystem that hosts them. The Quasar upgrade is all about helping all Bitcoin (BSV) participants to understand and adapt to that fact, in preparation for BSV’s Genesis upgrade in February 2020.”