标准:Merkle证明数据格式

提议人:史蒂夫·施德斯(Steve Shadders,nChain)
技术标准委员会(TSC)发起人:瑞安·查尔斯(Ryan X Charles,Money Button)
作者:(默认为提议人)史蒂夫·施德斯
评审人:待定

补充说明:本委员会可根据需要安排用户、实施者、技术专家或标准专家在某个工作组做补充工作。

评审专家:法律、知识产权、合规

1.背景

  1. 问题陈述

    一个Merkle证明代表Merkle树(根通常嵌在比特币区块标头中)的一个分支。执行该证明,要求按照特定的算法将提供的数据元同计算出的数据元作重新组合。

    Merkle证明格式不仅要定义需要什么数据,还要定义如何在算法执行的上下文中解释该数据。

  2. 目标/正当性

    Merkle证明对于原始比特币白皮书中描述的简化支付验证(SPV)模式必不可少,也是比特币扩容的重要基础。为了让SPV钱包有效运作,需要由矿工或其他下载了整个区块的玩家向钱包提供Merkle证明。由于Merkle证明的发送和接收出自各种原因,实施方式可能五花八门,因此采用一种标准格式,可以使整个生态系统的实施简化。

    现有技术体现在FilteredBlock p2p消息中,该模式利用的是一位向量以及哈希表。 这种方式会引起不必要的混乱,需要对证明作反向确认,因为它无法为计算Merkle树中某项交易的位置索引提供简易机制。另外,因为在SPV客户端采用布隆过滤器会产生内在扩容问题,这种p2p消息模式将会被废止。

  3. 范围

    Merkle证明最常见的用例是去证明某项交易已被包含到一个区块中,我们称之为简化支付验证(SPV)。证明本身可能还需提供其他信息,包括交易、交易在某一区块中的索引,以及所在区块标头的参考。

    此外,若一项交易尚未包含到某个区块中或其Merkle证明尚不可用,可提供一个未断的祖先交易链,只要位于终端的那项交易具备Merkle证明即可。我们暂且将这种扩展数据集称为包含Merkle证明及其他数据的SPV信封(SPV envelope)。这样,SPV信封就相当于一个包含Merkle证明格式本身的超集。

    尽管我们认为要达到行业需求,SPV信封必不可少,但该数据集应另作处理,而不在应包括在我们此次标准提案的范围内,原因是,无论该证明采用什么样的格式,这样的标准应该可以包含Merkle证明元素。

  4. 优势

    技术标准委员会使命宣言包含如下目标:“通过标准化措施提高互通性,以此增强比特币SV的实用性。”Merkle证明是比特币点对点(p2p)交互的核心。按照定义,这种交互需要彼此不同,甚至独特的系统之间具有互通性。开发标准的Merkle证明数据格式符合委员会的宗旨,而且也有助于简化原始SPV操作在整个生态系统内的实施。

  5. 交付成果

    发布一份标准文件,说明用于接收和执行Merkle证明的数据格式及相应的执行算法。

    该标准的格式描述应保证既能以二进制格式来实施,也能以人可识读的格式来实施。

2. 简要工作组流程描述

对外:发招聘信息,邀请有意者申请加入评审小组

内部:起草 >> 评审 >> 重复之前流程(如有必要)

内部:专家评审(法律、知识产权、合规)>> 重新起草(如有必要)

对外:公共评议 >> 意见处理 >> 重新起草(如有必要)

对外:技术标准委员会批准

3. 评审人遴选

请注意,对所有人开放的公共评议流程将在日后纳入本标准制定流程中。

  1. 要求

    有兴趣加入本委员会工作组评审小组的人员应符合以下标准:

    • 可证明满足下列至少一项条件:
      1. 本标准提案中特定领域的主题专业知识
        • 相关研究领域学士学位或同等经验
          • (如:工程设计、计算机科学、数学,及其他相关科学领域)
      2. 符合该标准成果的关键干系人(该标准目前或日后的用户或实施者)。
      3. 拥有在国际认可的标准机构里从事标准制定方面工作的丰富经验
    • 愿意在工作组整个生命周期间签署保密协议(NDA)
    • 在工作组预期生命周期内,有充分时间投入到评审流程中(仅供参考:一个工作组的生命周期预计在3-4个月,评审工作通常需要花几天时间,有2-3次重复草拟和循环的过程)
  2. 申请

    如有意申请参加本标准内部制定阶段工作者,可将本人资料发至电子邮箱: [email protected]。申请信息的接收时间截止2020年7月3日。

Bitcoin SV Technical Standards Committee

workgroup formation notice

Standard: Merkle proof data format

Proposer: Steve Shadders (nChain)

TSC Sponsor: Ryan X Charles (Money Button)

Authors: (proposer by default) Steve Shadders

Reviewers: TBA

Supplementary: As needed, the TSC may appoint users, implementers, technical experts and standards experts to supplementary roles within a working group.

Specialist reviewers: Legal, IP, Compliance

1. Background

a. Problem statement

A Merkle proof represents a branch of a Merkle tree with a root typically embedded in a Bitcoin block header. Executing the proof requires the recombination of supplied data elements along with calculated data elements according to a specific algorithm.

A Merkle proof format needs to define not only the required data, but how to interpret that data in the context of the algorithmic execution. 

b. Objectives/Justification

The Merkle proof is fundamental to the Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) model described in the original Bitcoin white paper and that underpins Bitcoin scaling. In order for SPV wallets to make use of them, Merkle proofs need to be provided to wallets by miners or other actors that download full blocks. As there is likely to be a wide variety of implementations transmitting and receiving Merkle proofs for various reasons, it simplifies implementations across the ecosystem if a standard format is adopted.

Current prior art is embodied in FilteredBlock p2p messages which makes use of a bit vector and list of hashes.  This arrangement is unnecessarily confusing requiring validation of the proof in reverse as it does not provide an easy mechanism to calculate the positional index of a transaction in the Merkle tree. Additionally, this p2p message is likely to be deprecated in favour of other mechanisms due to the inherent scalability problems of using bloom filters for SPV clients.

c. Scope

The most common use case for a Merkle proof is to prove that a transaction has been included in a block which we refer to as a Simplified Payment Verification (SPV). The proof itself may require additional information including the transaction, the index of the transaction in a block and a reference to the block header it is included in.

Additionally, where a transaction is not yet included in a block or where a Merkle proof for it may not yet be available, the proof can be provided by presenting an unbroken chain of ancestor transactions terminating in a transaction for which a Merkle proof can be supplied. We refer to this extended data set tentatively as an “SPV envelope” containing Merkle proofs and additional data. As such, the SPV envelope is a superset of the Merkle proof format itself.

Whilst we regard the SPV envelope as integral to meeting industry needs, it should be dealt with separately and is not in the scope of this standard proposal as such a standard can encapsulate the Merkle proof element regardless of how it is formatted.

d. Benefits

The TSC mission statement includes the goal to: “improve Bitcoin SV utility by enhancing interoperability through standardization.” Merkle proofs sit at the core of peer to peer interactions on Bitcoin.  By definition, such interaction requires interoperation between systems that are likely distinct and unique. As such, the primary benefit of developing a standard Merkle proof data format is in line with the stated goals of the TSC and meets a need that will simplify implementation across the ecosystem of a fundamentally primitive SPV operation.

e. Deliverable

A standards document describing a data format and accompanying execution algorithm for receiving and executing a Merkle proof.

The standard should describe the format in a way that can be implemented in both a binary and human readable format.

 

2. Brief workgroup process description

External: Call for expressions of interest to serve on review panel

Internal: Draft >> Review >> Iterate (if required)

Internal: Specialist review (legal, IP, Compliance) >> Iterate to draft (if required)

External: Public review >> respond to comments >> Iterate to draft (if required)

External: Ratification by TSC

3. Reviewer selection

Note that a public review process open to anyone who wishes to provide input is a later part of this standards development process.

a. Criteria 

Persons wishing the apply to join this TSC workgroup review panel should meet the following criteria:

  •  Can demonstrate at least one of the following:
    1. Subject matter expertise in the standard proposal’s specific domain
      •  Bachelor’s degree or equivalent experience in a relevant field of study
        • e.g. Engineering, Computer Science, Mathematics, other relevant  science fields
    2. Are a key stakeholder in the outcomes of this standard either as an existing or future user or implementer of the standard.
    3. Have significant experience in standards development associated with an internationally recognised standards institution
  • Are willing to sign an NDA for the duration of the workgroup lifecycle
  • Have sufficient time to commit to the review process over the expected lifetime of the workgroup (as a guideline, workgroup life cycles are expected to be in the range of 3-4 months and would typically require several days review work split across 2-3 iterations of a draft standard) 

b. Application

Application to participate in the internal development phase of this standard can be made by addressing the above criteria in an email to: [email protected].   Applications must be received by 3 July 2020.