BSV的阿联酋之旅

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Alex Speirs Published: 12月 3, 2020
Jimmy Nguyen image

比特币协会刚刚结束了为期两周的阿联酋之行,并与创新型企业和投资社群进行了接洽。最重要的是,随着区块链技术在中东地区站稳脚跟,Bitcoin SV企业在久负盛名的第十二届“Ritossa全球家族办公室投资峰会”上成为了主角。

“迪拜是中东地区区块链发展的重要中心,尤其是就政府参与的项目而言。”比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen说道,“这对比特币协会有很大的吸引力,因为我们就是希望能开发出产生大量数据和交易量的应用。我们并不只是将比特币视为一种支付手段,而是希望帮助构建能产生大量交易的大规模应用。所以各种各样由政府驱动的项目是理想的类型,包括在区块链上管理交通数据或存储国民身份系统。这些都是会产生大量交易的应用,而现在Bitcoin SV就可以为这些应用服务。”

比特币协会的路演行程包括了数场活动、会议和媒体见面会,还有一场专为比特币协会团队举办的为期四天的峰会,为协会未来几年制定了规划。

然而,此次行程的重头戏则是这场久负盛名的“Ritossa全球家族办公室投资峰会”(下称“Ritossa家族峰会”)。该峰会由Anthony Ritossa爵士主持,Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum殿下资助,在迪拜朱美拉棕榈岛华尔道夫酒店举行。

峰会迄今已举办了十二届,吸引了全球各界高净值投资者(以及代表他们出席的决策者)的参与——他们管理的资产总计高达4.5万亿美元。本次峰会的主题重点是要利用投资为未来创造一个更加美好的世界,不只是实现财富的保值增值,还要肩负起相应的社会责任。

Nguyen表示:“当我们想要把比特币协会扩展到新的区域时,关键都是要找到与当地的重点企业、投资者和政府参与者有关系的合作伙伴。”

显然,要展现Bitcoin SV巨大潜力,没有比这更好的机会了。

(L-R) Jimmy (从左到右)Jimmy Nguyen、Anthony Ritossa爵士和妻子、Ron Tarter、Calvin Ayre

为未来投资

Bitcoin SV代表团在本次“Ritossa家族峰会”上表现亮眼。

在为期两天的活动中,Nguyen进行了关于Bitcoin SV的主题演讲,而Bitcoin SV生态系统的参与者们也积极参与了多场会议。

Taal的CEO Jerry Chan主持了一场互动式圆桌会议,讨论区块链投资如何支持一个在数据赋权新时代下更加美好的社会;而Bayesian Group的首席远见官(Chief Visionary)Roy Bernhard则参加了“金融科技、数字资产和安全Token产品”小组讨论。

Nguyen还主持了“区块链与商业:创造实际利益”小组讨论,与会专家包括迪拜区块链中心的CEO Marwan Alzarouni博士、迪拜宾·扎耶德集团(Bin Zayed Group)董事总经理Muhammad Salman Anjum以及nChain的CEO David Washburn。

Calvin Ayre也出席了“Ritossa家族峰会”和比特币协会的规划会议,这也体现出了本次活动的重要性。

“参加完今天下午的会议后,我就明白了亲自来到这里并有机会在‘Ritossa家族峰会’上面对高级决策者讲述nChain的故事,这将对世界产生巨大的影响。”Washburn说道。

Nguyen在峰会首日发表了主题演讲。当面对的观众是全球最有实力的一群投资者时,他传递的信息很明确:Bitcoin SV才是真正的比特币,为了支持一个更光明的数字未来,这是唯一值得投资的协议。

“我看到了一个真正将比特币用起来的世界。”Nguyen在主题演讲的开场白中说,“事实上,现在很多比特币的实施方案都不是中本聪所创造的著名比特币。中本聪最初的愿景是一个用户和企业每天都能使用上百万次甚至数十亿次的系统,用以进行各类支付和数据交易。这并不是到目前为止世界的走向,但却是我们希望用Bitcoin SV重塑的世界。”

Nguyen称比特币的其它分支都在设法获取投机性投资,但却与那些协议的实际效用毫无关联。他解释道,Bitcoin SV作为可扩容的数据网络,第一次带来了实际的效用和价值。

“区块链应根据市场的力量和经济状况进行扩容。”

他提到了一个竞争性的区块链平台——以太坊,后者一般被称作“企业级区块链”。在高峰拥堵时段,以太坊的交易费用高达14美元;相比而言,预计Bitcoin SV在2021年的吞吐量将达到每秒5万笔交易,与VISA交易网络的峰值相当——而其交易费用依然维持在一美分之下。

在一个越来越依赖数据的世界里,这一点至关重要——迪拜也不例外,它推出了世界领先的“迪拜智能城市”计划。Juniper Research预测,到2024年,将出现830亿个物联网终端,并预计到2022年,由物联网设备产生的数据每年将超过54艾字节(exabyte)——也就是54万亿兆字节!与此同时,移动数据量每三年就会悄然翻倍,超高速宽带的渗透率时刻在增长。一大波海量数据即将到来,因此社会需要能够获取、管理和存储这些海量数据的技术,以便为商业和私人决策者带来真正的效用。

除了在峰会上发言之外,Bitcoin SV代表团的很多成员还接受了与会国际媒体的采访,包括了来自《CNBC Arabia》和《CEO Magazine》的记者。这也是团队为强调Bitcoin SV货币化数据网络力量所做的持续外联努力。

Bitcoin SV就是下一步

对于在峰会上发言的很多人来说,快速变化的世界与Bitcoin SV(或更普遍意义上的区块链技术)的能力之间的联系是一个共同的接触点。尤其而言,作为Bitcoin SV在这个新世界的变革性应用的一个潜在原爆点,迪拜是无与伦比的。

Washburn说:“我知道迪拜是个高科技前沿城市,他们对区块链持绝对开放的态度,也理解区块链如何为智慧城市项目等一系列的项目提供助力。我们对这里的进展非常感兴趣,因为我们认为阿联酋处于这一趋势的前沿。我们也坚信,通过与当地合作伙伴携手,我们可以在这一进程中发挥重要作用。”

这一说法也得到了Nguyen的回应,他在演讲中言简意赅地强调了当前已有的、为Bitcoin SV网络而构建的应用。Bitcoin SV的独有特性对网络的未来会有深远的影响,但是很难通过这些影响来阐述BSV的独有特性,因此在面对高净值和实力强大的观众时,Nguyen将重点放在了大型项目以及更加宏大的构想上面。

对迪拜的观众来说,最好的例子可能就是英国剑桥一家名为GeoSpock的公司了。该公司正在开发解决方案,以管理由“万物互联”世界生成的海量数据。考虑一下由于物联网的原因,正在获取或可获取的数据日益增长的统计情况。智能城市的发展占了其中很大一部分:收费站、闭路电视、交通信号灯(甚至路灯)如今都是很多城市数字足迹的一部分。迄今为止,迪拜一直是智能城市计划的先锋,而阿联酋的手机普及率也是全球最高之一。GeoSpock将把Bitcoin SV区块链的功能并入其海量数据解决方案中,作为其产品的一部分,为决策者获取、转换和解释来自手机和其它智能设备的数据,使其成为可用和可操作的信息。(其中)一个具体用例是减少碳排放。任何针对这一目标的策略都必然需要大量的数据才能奏效:在给定的时间范围内,某一区域的车辆通行数是多少?车里有多少人?配送及服务车辆有多少?它们服务的终端客户有多少?所有这些信息都能在智能城市中获取到,而只有Bitcoin SV拥有收集、管理和处理这些信息所需的基础设施

医疗保健是Bitcoin SV网络可以提供巨大价值的另一个领域。美国公司EHR Data正在搭建全球首个使用Bitcoin SV区块链的医疗数据平台。患者记录可以以私密的方式存储在Bitcoin SV区块链上,同时患者也可以向医疗提供商实时提供与其相关的重要数据。现在,患者记录保存在多家独立企业的无数个数据孤岛中,而将这些信息存储在一个不可篡改、可普遍访问且易于验证的数据网络上显然要优于现状。如果医疗供应链中的每个环节都可以依赖于患者的单一数据源,那么从该数据中可提取的信息就会大大超过当前可用的信息,从而为个人和社会提供更好的健康结果。

Bitcoin SV区块链能让数据拥有者将数据变现,这种能力将产生巨大的有益影响。举一个当下的例子,当病人去就医时,拿到处方,然后去药房配药,这时就创造了数据,但这些数据对病人来说是不存在的。然而,我们知道真相并非如此:整个行业都是建立在这些公司出售其收集到的数据的能力之上的。与客户相关的数据的价值无疑让其它企业受益颇丰,让客户意识到这些数据的价值难道不是更加有意义吗?

如果患者的记录都存储在Bitcoin SV区块链上,或至少通过区块链来授予访问权限,那么患者就会收到所有请求访问其数据的通知,然后自行决定是否授权查看或收取多少费用。

如果没有Bitcoin SV的独有特性,这一切都是不可能的。通过无限扩容——以极低的费用支持巨大的吞吐量——像EHR Data这类公司描绘的世界是可以实现的。没有任何扩容受限的替代协议可以达到同样的效果——要么是限制了区块大小,直接拒绝扩容;要么是因为没有巨量的交易费,间接阻碍了扩容。这也意味着Bitcoin SV已经能够适应一个即将到来的未来:一个越来越多的产品连接到互联网并产生大量有用数据的未来。Bitcoin SV协议不仅可以管理这些数据,还能做到合情又合理。

比特币协会在迪拜对更远未来的展望

与那些在迪拜路演中加入比特币协会的人进行交谈,意味着这趟出访本身就是一次巨大的成功。比特币协会打算继续扩大在迪拜地区的活动,并将于12月继续参加第十三届“Ritossa家族峰会”——这很快又将成行。这是协会继续向迪拜宣传Bitcoin SV的重要一步。

Nguyen表示:“在我结束主题演讲走下台时,马上就有人向我提问,想要了解更多关于Bitcoin SV和关于该项技术的不同应用。我们从这次峰会中收获的价值不仅仅是对投资者的引导,还被引荐给了阿联酋及其邻国的重要决策者。对比特币协会来说,在峰会期间和之后的几天里,这一引荐促成了我们在迪拜参加了很多商业会议,与会者包括寻求投资的精英家族办公室成员、已经在从事区块链工作的其它企业,以及一些政府机构合作的企业,他们有兴趣探索可能能与Bitcoin SV进行协作的领域。”

当你想到迪拜和阿联酋时,一般很快就会想到“开拓”和“创新”这两个词。这个国家拥有惊人的财富,但也渴望将这些财富转化为公民和游客的真正利益。比特币协会想要迎合的正是这种品质,因为我们知道Bitcoin SV可以改变世界——只需要有人(或国家)去利用它。

比特币协会还为出访迪拜的代表团工作人员举办了一场内部峰会,旨在制定未来一年在中东及其它地区的规划。正如Nguyen总结道:

“在新冠疫情的大环境下制定规划是极具挑战性的,但随着生态系统和我们在阿联酋和世界各地的项目持续发展,(等世界开放后)让我们为比特币协会在2021年的更多活动做好准备吧!”

BSV in the UAE

By Alex Speirs Published: December 3, 2020
Jimmy Nguyen image

Bitcoin Association recently capped off a two-week trip to the United Arab Emirates to engage with the innovative business and investment community, headlined by a central role for Bitcoin SV companies at the 12th edition of the prestigious Ritossa Global Family Office Investment Summit, as blockchain technology gains a foothold in the Middle East.

‘Dubai is a key centre for blockchain development in the Middle East – especially for government-related projects,’ explains Jimmy Nguyen, Founding President of Bitcoin Association.

‘That appeals to us at Bitcoin Association, because we are looking to develop applications that have large scale data and transaction volumes. We aren’t looking at Bitcoin purely as a payments alternative; we want to help build massive-scale applications that generate huge volumes of transactions. Government driven projects are ideal for that, with use cases as diverse as managing traffic data or storing a national ID system on the blockchain. Those are the applications that generate huge numbers of transactions and which Bitcoin SV can cater to right now.’

The Bitcoin Association roadshow included several events, meetings and media appearances, including a four-day summit held for the Bitcoin Association team, putting in place plans for the coming years.

The centrepiece of the trip, however, was the prestigious Ritossa Global Family Office Investment Summit (the Ritossa Family Summit), hosted by Sir Anthony Ritossa and held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum at the Waldorf Astoria in Dubai’s Palm Jumeirah.

The Summit, in its 12th iteration, welcomed extraordinarily high-net-worth investors (and the decision-makers representing them) from a variety of backgrounds, with Ritossa Summit audience often representing $4.5 trillion USD in collective wealth. Thematically, the focus of this event was on using investments to provide a better world for tomorrow, not only growing and preserving wealth, but doing so in a socially responsible way.

‘Whenever we want to expand Bitcoin Association to new regions, it’s always important to find local partners who have relationships with key business, investor and government participants,’ explains Nguyen.

Naturally, there could be few better opportunities to present the massive potential of Bitcoin SV.

 

Investing for tomorrow

The Bitcoin SV delegation was well represented at the Ritossa Family Summit.

Nguyen gave a keynote presentation on Bitcoin SV, and players from the Bitcoin SV ecosystem featured in several sessions across the event’s two days.

Jerry Chan, CEO of Taal, hosted an interactive roundtable on how blockchain investments can support a better society with a new age of empowered data; while Roy Bernhard, Chief Visionary at The Bayesian Group, participated in the Fintech, Digital Assets and Security Token Offerings panel discussion.

Nguyen also moderated the Blockchain & Business: Delivering Real-World Benefits panel discussion, which included experts such as Dr. Marwan Alzarouni, CEO of the Dubai Blockchain Center, Muhammad Salman Anjum, Managing Director of the Bin Zayed Group in Dubai, as well as David Washburn, CEO of nChain.

Reflecting the importance of the event, Calvin Ayre was also in attendance for the Ritossa Family Summit and Bitcoin Association planning meetings.

‘It’s really clear to me in the meetings I had this afternoon that being here in-person and getting the opportunity to tell the nChain story in front of senior decision-makers here at the Ritossa Family Summit makes all the difference in the world,’ says Washburn.

Nguyen’s keynote took place early on the first day of the Summit. In presenting to an audience comprising some of the most powerful investors in the world, his message was clear: Bitcoin SV is Bitcoin, and it’s the only protocol worth investing in to support a brighter digital future.

‘I see a world where Bitcoin is actually used,’ said Nguyen as he opened his keynote presentation.

‘Many implementations of Bitcoin today are not, in fact, the Bitcoin as famously invented by Satoshi Nakamoto: the original vision was a system that people and businesses could use on a daily basis, millions and even billions of times a day, for all forms of payments and data transactions. That’s not the universe that’s happened so far, but it’s the universe that we want to bring back with Bitcoin SV.’

Nguyen remarked that other iterations of Bitcoin have managed to attract speculative investment, but nothing tied to the actual utility of those protocols. For the first time, he explained, Bitcoin SV offers real utility and value as a data network which scales.

‘The blockchain should scale as big as market forces and economics dictate.’

He pointed to a competing blockchain – Ethereum – which is often touted as a blockchain for business. During periods of high congestion, Ethereum’s transaction fees can reach as high as $14USD. Compare this to Bitcoin SV, which projects to reach throughput capacity of 50,000 transactions per second in 2021 – rivalling the VISA network’s peak capacity – all the while retaining minuscule transaction fees of just fractions of a U.S. cent.

This is critical in a world which is becoming increasingly reliant on data – and Dubai is no exception with its world-leading ‘Dubai Smart City’ initiative. Juniper Research predicts that there will be 83 billion Internet of Things (IoT) endpoints by 2024, with the data generated by IoT devices expected to exceed 54 exabytes annually as soon as 2022 – that’s 54 trillion megabytes! Meanwhile, mobile data quietly doubles in volume every three years and penetration of ultrafast broadband grows by the second. A wave of extreme scale data is coming, and society needs technologies which can capture, manage and store those huge volumes of data so that it can bring real utility to both commercial and private decisionmakers.

In addition to speaking at the Summit, many of the Bitcoin SV contingent were interviewed by international media in attendance, including journalists from CNBC Arabia and CEO Magazine, part of ongoing outreach efforts to highlight the power of Bitcoin SV’s monetised data network.

Bitcoin SV is the Next Step

The nexus between a rapidly changing world and the capabilities of Bitcoin SV – or more generally blockchain technology – was a common touchpoint for many who addressed the conference. In particular, as a potential ground-zero for the transformative applications of Bitcoin SV in this new world, Dubai is unmatched.

‘It’s clear to me that Dubai, in particular, is very tech-forward and they’re very open to blockchain and understanding how that can help any number of initiatives – including smart city projects,’ says Washburn.

‘We are really interested in what’s going on here because we think that the UAE is at the leading edge of this trend and we’re quite confident that by working together with local partners we can play an important role in this process.’

That sentiment was echoed by Nguyen, who was quick to emphasise the existing applications already built for the Bitcoin SV network in his presentation. It can be hard to translate the unique characteristics of Bitcoin SV in a way that demonstrates the implications these features have for the future of the network, so with a high-net-worth and high-powered audience front of mind, Nguyen focused on big projects and even bigger ideas.

Perhaps the best example for an audience sat in Dubai is that of GeoSpock – the Cambridge, UK company building solutions to manage the extreme scale data generated by the ‘everything connected’ world. Consider the statistics about the increasing amounts of data being captured, or becoming available to be captured, thanks to the Internet of Things. The growth of smart cities is a large part of that: tollbooths, CCTV, traffic lights and even streetlamps now form part of many cities’ digital footprints. Dubai has been a pioneer in smart city initiatives so far, and the UAE has one of the highest mobile penetration rates in the world. GeoSpock will be integrating Bitcoin SV blockchain features into its extreme scale data solutions, as part of their offering to capture, transform and translate the data from mobile and other smart devices into useable and actionable information for decisionmakers. One (of many) specific use case is that of carbon footprint reduction. Any strategy oriented toward that goal is certain to require vast amounts of data in order to be effective: how many vehicles are travelling through an area in a given space of time? How many people are in those vehicles? How many are delivery and service vehicles, and how many end-customers are they serving? All of this information will be available in smart cities, and only Bitcoin SV has the infrastructure required to collect, manage and act upon it.

Healthcare is another domain where the Bitcoin SV network can provide massive value.  American company EHR Data is building the world’s first healthcare data platform which uses the Bitcoin SV blockchain. Patient records can be stored on the Bitcoin SV blockchain in a private manner, while also allowing patients to grant medical providers real-time access to critical data which concerns them. Having this information on an immutable, universally accessible and easily verifiable data network is clearly preferable to the status quo, in which patient records are kept in countless data silos across multiple, independent organisations. If every link in the healthcare supply chain can rely on a single source of data for patients, then the information that can be extracted from that data can greatly exceed what is currently available, offering the opportunity for better health outcomes for individuals and society.

The capacity for the Bitcoin SV blockchain to allow data owners to monetise their data has huge, beneficial implications. Currently, the data that is created when a patient, for example, sees a doctor, gets a prescription and then goes to a pharmacy to get that prescription filled disappears into the void as far as the patient is concerned. However, we know that isn’t true: entire industries are built on the ability of companies to sell the data they collect. Does it not make more sense for customers to realise the value of the data which concerns themselves and which other businesses are undoubtedly benefitting from?

If patient records are universally stored on, or at least access rights granted through, the Bitcoin SV blockchain, the patient can be notified of all requests for their data and then decide for themselves whether to authorise the viewing or how much to charge for it.

None of this would be possible without the unique characteristics of Bitcoin SV. By imposing no upper limit on scaling – supporting massive throughput at minimal cost – the world proposed by the likes of EHR Data is possible. No alternative protocol which limits scaling, either directly by imposing a block cap size limit, or indirectly by being unable to reach scale without massive transaction fees, can offer the same. It also means that it can already accommodate a future which is rapidly approaching: one where more and more products are connected to the internet and produce gargantuan amounts of useful data. The Bitcoin SV protocol can not only manage this data, but can do so ethically and fairly.

Bitcoin Association Looks Ahead in Dubai – and Beyond

Talking to those who joined Bitcoin Association on their Dubai roadshow, the expedition itself was a resounding success. Bitcoin Association intends to continue to expand its activities in the region, with a trip to the next Ritossa Family Summit (the 13th edition) in December next on the agenda and coming up quickly – an important step to continue educating the region about Bitcoin SV.

‘As soon as my keynote finished and I got off stage, I had people asking to learn more about Bitcoin SV and the different applications of the technology,’ says Nguyen.

‘The value we got out of this Summit was not just the opportunity to educate investors, but being able to be introduced to key decision-makers in the UAE and neighbouring countries. For Bitcoin Association, it led to business meetings in Dubai over the course of the Summit and in the days following, ranging from members of elite family offices looking to make investments, to other businesses already working in blockchain, to those working with government agencies that are interesting in exploring possible areas of collaboration with Bitcoin SV.’

When you think of Dubai and the UAE, the words ‘pioneering’ and ‘innovation’ aren’t usually far behind. The country is home to extraordinary wealth, but also a desire to turn that wealth into real benefits for its citizens and visitors. It is this quality that Bitcoin Association looked to cater to with the knowledge that Bitcoin SV can change the world – all that’s needed is for someone – or some country – to take advantage.

Bitcoin Association also hosted a summit of their own between its staff visiting Dubai as a part of the delegation, in order to map out its own plans for the coming year, in the Middle East and further afield. As Nguyen surmised:

‘Planning in a pandemic environment is challenging, but as the ecosystem and our programmes in the UAE and across the world continue to grow (and when the world opens up) prepare for a lot more activity from Bitcoin Association in 2021!’