《BSV动态报道》2020年4月

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Alex Speirs Published: 4月 8, 2020
BSV Update 20th November 2019

会长笔记——吉米·阮(Jimmy Nguyen)

比特币协会社区的朋友们,你们好!

Jimmy-Nguyen

首先我想告知大家《BSV动态报道》的发布时间将改为每月一次,内容将更加充实,其中包括我亲自介绍BSV生态系统近况的专栏文章。

在我的第一篇“会长笔记”系列文章里,我必须先提及一个比比特币更重要的话题:全世界的健康和安乐。新冠肺炎COVID-19疫情已经颠覆了所有人的生活,现在,我们才刚刚开始适应一个与几个月前甚至几周前截然不同的世界。

此刻,所有人、所有团体必须齐心协力、团结一致,我们比特币SV社区也应如此。比特币协会在继续推进比特币SV的全球采用的同时,更将竭尽所能地为社区提供支持。

我们向来欢迎会员的反馈建议,尤其是在如今这样一个动荡时期,我们比以往任何时候都更想要听到你的声音。协会将继续向商用区块链方向打造比特币SV,因此,请让我们知道你对我们工作的看法,你认为我们在这个特殊时期应该如何作为全球社区参与进来,更好地支持彼此、支持比特币SV。

当然,考虑到新冠肺炎COVID-19的肆虐,我们已决定暂停协会所计划的一系列活动,直至另行通知。其中包括暂停我们计划6月份在旧金山召开的BSV开发者大会(DevCon)。目前,我们正在计划推出一系列在线项目,为开发人员和企业高管提供资源,帮助大家进一步了解比特币SV 。敬请关注协会的信息更新,了解进展状态。

即使身处世界危机中,比特币SV生态系统仍有许多积极消息,为我们带来希望和缓解。在本月的《BSV动态报道》中,我们将了解到:

– Bitcoinsv.com和比特币SV知识库(Bitcoin SV Wiki)的上线

– 比特币SV术语更新:交易处理者和数字资产

– 比特币协会斯洛文尼亚之旅

– 祝贺杰瑞·陈(Jerry Chan)从比特币协会转任TAAL首席执行官

– Kronoverse在电竞行业的重大进展

– UNISOT在环境可持续性方面取得的喜人进步

在此,我仅代表比特币协会全体成员,向你和你的家人,向我们的社区致以最诚挚的祝福,并期待着尽快与大家(以各种形式)再次联系。

珍重安康!

 

吉米·阮(Jimmy Nguyen)

比特币协会

创始会长

 

 

新闻与动态

关于比特币协会活动计划和旧金山开发者大会(DevCon)的最新消息

举办活动是比特币协会的一项重要工作,以引导开发人员、企业高管、投资者和社会各界了解比特币SV实力。当前,和全球所有组织企业一样,我们协会的一系列现场活动也不得不按下暂停键,包括原计划于6月在旧金山举行的比特币SV开发者大会(DevCon)。

也就是说,旧金山开发者大会将逾期举行,我们将从协会的角度评估主办大型活动的安全性,以确定举办时间。比特币协会正在密切关注目前情况,同时积极与有关政府机构进行沟通,了解其对组织活动方面的建议。我们将继续与已报名参加旧金山开发者大会的参会者和协会会员保持联系,根据形势的发展提供进一步通知。

与此同时,我们正计划推出一系列在线项目,为开发人员和企业高管提供资源,助其在此期间更深入了解比特币SV。敬请关注我们,了解更多信息。如果你有任何疑问,欢迎随时联系比特币协会团队。

 

比特币SV知识库上线

在比特币协会和nChain团队的共同努力下,(在2月份CoinGeek伦敦会议上)我们很高兴地宣布了全新比特币SV知识库正式上线。长期以来,关于比特币的错误信息被不断散播。比特币SV知识库将是一个综合资源库,让开发人员和全世界重新正确认识比特币。它还将记录比特币的历史,并收集有益于其生态系统的技术、服务和功能。

比特币协会很高兴看到该项目正式上线供世界查阅。欢迎访问比特币SV知识库,更多了解比特币——认识它应有的真实面貌。

 

BitcoinSV.com已推出!

另外,比特币协会欣喜宣布BitcoinSV.com已正式推出。新网站将成为比特币SV所有信息的官方“主要门户”网站,提供最新内容、信息和资源链接,面向开发人员、企业高管、交易处理者、投资者和日常用户。去年11月,我们在比特币独立日一周年之际对BitcoinSV.com进行了试运行,并逐步向网站添加内容。

许多人已经习惯把Bitcoin SV.io网站当作比特币SV相关信息的“官方”来源。而2018年推出的.io网站,旨在为技术受众提供有关比特币SV节点实现的信息。比特币SV从未计划长期将.io作为通用信息网站;而现在Bitcoin SV.com将作为主要门户——提供更适合主流受众的内容。

BitcoinSV.io将继续运行,提供有关比特币SV节点软件和其他比特币SV节点团队基础架构项目的技术信息。

欢迎访问BitcoinSV.com,积极转发网站链接,分享给世界各地的朋友。

 

术语方面的重要更新

比特币和区块链行业所使用的某些术语名称需要更新了。

“交易处理者”而非“矿工”

“矿工”一词的出现似乎源于这样的类比,赢得每个比特币区块的节点可从比特币最初发行的2100万个限量币中获得新的币,就像从土地中挖出节点一样。每个区块收到的新币数量是一种静态补贴,用于网络初期启动,但随着时间的推移按计划减少:从50币开始,然后大约每四年减半一次,达到25币、12.5币和6.25币,以此类推。

因而随着时间的推移,这种与传统采矿的类比渐渐不再相关。随着三大竞争比特币区块链奖励减半的临近,“矿工”将需要更多的交易费来弥补区块奖励静态补贴的收入不足。这对于确保“挖矿”收益和维持网络至关重要。除此之外,每出现一个新区块,从限量供应的2100万比特币中分配至流通的新币将减少,这意味着“矿工”在网络中所扮演的角色发生了转变。简而言之,“矿工”将带来更少的新币供应,他们的活动需要进一步集中于从已经流通的币中赚取交易费用。为了体现这一点,我们认为是时候采用“交易处理者”取代“矿工”一词了——这个称呼更准确地体现了这些节点在比特币经济中的作用,在未来几年里,随着区块奖励静态补贴部分继续减半,新的功能肯定会变得更加重要。

“数字货币”或者“数字资产”而非“加密货币”

另一个改变是,比特币协会今后将使用“数字货币”或“数字资产”来指代比特币(当然是BSV),而非“加密货币”。

术语更替的背后有两个原因。首先,正如克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright)解释的那样,比特币的保障在于经济而非加密。因此,“加密货币”从来都不是一个对于比特币的准确描述。

其次,由于多年来比特币和其他加密货币被错误使用或歪曲,“加密货币”一词已经背上了负面色彩。我们相信比特币具有广阔的合法效用,不应与此类负面含义联系在一起。随着协会继续推进比特币SV业务,我们认为“数字货币”或“数字资产”是一个更适合企业和政府的术语,同时也是更能体现比特币效用的准确表达。

从今往后,比特币协会决定使用以上新命名标准,同时也积极呼吁我们的成员和更广大的比特币社区都这样做。

 

比特币协会祝贺杰瑞·陈(Jerry Chan)

比特币协会谨向杰瑞·陈致以热烈祝贺,杰瑞已卸任比特币协会日本和韩国区域经理一职,转任TAAL分布式信息技术公司总裁兼首席执行官

TAAL是一家加拿大上市企业,专注于交易处理——聚焦比特币SV、其相关技术和企业级区块链应用程序的开发。

杰瑞我们协会最早的区域经理之一,长期以来一直致力于倡导比特币中本聪愿景。我们特别感谢他在去年与克雷格·怀特博士一同举办的“BSV:为商业而生的比特币”东京活动中杰出的贡献。

我们衷心祝愿杰瑞一切顺利,并期待与担任TAAL新职务的杰瑞有更多机会合作。

 

比特币协会的斯洛文尼亚之旅

3月3日,比特币协会很荣幸能与nChainCREA(与nChain在比特币SV节点项目上一起工作的斯洛文尼亚开发公司)合作,在卢布尔雅那举办了首届BSV会议。在COVID-19情况得到改善前,短期内这将是最后一次比特币协会现场活动。

来自商界和比特币领域的250多位高管和开发人员为比特币SV齐聚一堂,参加斯洛文尼亚的“比特币SV:为商业而生的区块链”活动,为期一天的活动安排了以比特币潜力为焦点的学习内容,以及一系列现实世界应用程序案例,为大家阐释了BSV成为理想企业级区块链的原因。

比特币协会会长吉米·阮主持了当天的活动(甚至充分利用最后一分钟讨论了一些演讲者未提及的主题)。不过活动的重心还是在于探讨nChain与CREA之间的成功合作,以及双方如何帮助该地区的企业实现在比特币SV上的构建。因此,会议上来自nChain的资深骨干、CREA的代表以及多位比特币协会的业务成员各抒己见,在讲台上大放光彩,而将整场活动推向高潮的无疑是克雷格·怀特博士就他对未来链上构建愿景的精彩演讲。

“我希望看到(比特币SV)达到每秒数百万笔交易的那一天。”怀特博士的喊话激起了会场里所有人的斗志。

“目前,谷歌每秒有约56,000次搜索。我们希望(比特币SV)每秒完成数百万笔交易,这意味着我们将能够吸引谷歌和Facebook之类的掌握未来的组织,而无需广告收入。”

欲了解全场活动,请访问CoinGeek获得更多信息。

 

本月名人名言:简·西米特(Jan Smit)——Two Hop Ventures公司

比特币协会最近对我们的荷兰大使简·西米特进行了深入采访。西米特谈到他在Two-Hop Ventures(一家专注于BSV领域投资的风险投资公司)的普通合伙人身份时表示,比特币生态系统正处于一个关键时刻:

“这是令人激动的时期。机会非常多,而且我百分百确信这些(构建在比特币SV上的)公司大多数将不断成长,远超当前的估值。可以说能在此时买进,确实是千载难逢的好机会。”

请关注比特币协会官网4月底推出的个人背景介绍合集,了解更多关于简·西米特的信息。

 

继伦敦CoinGeek会议的成功发布后Kronoverse又取得重大进展

比特币SV游戏平台Kronoverse在3月份做出两项重大公告,继续在游戏和区块链领域稳定自己创新者的地位。

Kronoverse宣布已与全球最大电竞公司ESL达成了合作关系,欲进一步推动游戏平台的发展与规模,助力即将推出的《CryptoFight》联赛,该游戏首发于CoinGeek伦敦会议。

Kronoverse的首席执行官兼创始人亚当·克林(Adam Kling)表示:“作为世界上历史最悠久、最成功的电竞公司,ESL深知要在不断发展的电竞行业取得成功需要具备的条件。”

“我们坚信与ESL的合作将帮助我们充分开发Kronoverse平台。从吸引更多独立游戏开发人员到解决竞技游戏中诸如作弊等问题。”

在如此忙碌的一个月里,游戏新贵Kronoverse还宣布,他们成功加入了电子竞技诚信协会(ESIC)。Kronoverse将与ESIC携手,探索比特币SV和区块链技术为电竞增加保障和可靠性的途径。电竞行业不仅人气迅速激增,其财务回报更是日益突显。

 

UNISOT继续比特币SV上的构建步伐

供应链管理公司UNISOT是一家专注在比特币SV上开发应用程序的挪威企业,在今年2月伦敦CoinGeek会议和随后的新闻发布会中,UNISOT隆重推出了自己的新产品海鲜链(SeafoodChain)。该平台综合了海产品和水产养殖行业的追溯性、产品来源和质量证明信息,所有这些数据都在链上产生和记录。

此外,该公司还推出了UNISOT企业同名区块链平台。这两个平台都构建在比特币SV上,区块链的可扩容性、稳定性和低廉的费用是首席执行官史蒂芬·尼尔森(Stephan Nilsson)做此决定背后的关键因素。

以可持续性和可追溯性为核心理念,UNISOT正在开拓新的方法来利用全球对生态意识消费品日益增长的需求以及提供担保所需的技术,我们期待着听到UNISOT的更多好消息。

BSV Update: April 2020

BSV Update

Notes from the Founding President: Jimmy Nguyen

Greetings to the Bitcoin Association community!

Jimmy-NguyenFirst of all, I’d like to note that we’re changing the schedule for our BSV Update and will now deliver a more substantial newsletter on a monthly basis, including a note from myself on the state of the BSV ecosystem.

As I write the first of these Notes from the President, I would be remiss to not first address something more important than Bitcoin: the world’s health and wellbeing. The COVID-19 pandemic has changed all of our lives, and now, we are only just beginning to adjust to a world which looks markedly different today from how it did just a short few months and even weeks ago.

It’s times like these when people and communities must come together and that includes our Bitcoin SV community. Bitcoin Association wants to provide support where we can, while also continuing our work to advance the global adoption of Bitcoin SV.

We always love to hear from our members, but given the fast-moving times in which we’re all currently living through, now more than ever, we want your thoughts. As the Association continues our work to establish Bitcoin SV as the blockchain for business, please tell us what you think about the work we’re doing and how we can all pitch in as a global community during this period – both to support each other and Bitcoin SV.

Not surprisingly, we have made the decision to suspend a number of our Association’s planned events until further notice in light of the COVID-19 situation. This includes our announced BSV DevCon for San Francisco in June. We are in the process of working to launch online programs to provide developers and business executives resources to learn more about Bitcoin SV. Stay tuned for more information from the Association as the situation develops.

With all of that said, even in the midst of a world crisis, there’s plenty of positive stories within the Bitcoin SV ecosystem that provide some semblance of inspiration and balance. This month in the BSV Update, we look at:

– The launch of bitcoinsv.com and the Bitcoin SV Wiki

– New nomenclature for Bitcoin SV: transaction processors and digital assets

– Bitcoin Association’s trip to Slovenia

– Congratulations to Jerry Chan as he leaves Bitcoin Association to take over as CEO at TAAL

– Major moves by Kronoverse in the eSports industry

– Exciting developments by UNISOT in the name of environmental sustainability

From all of us here at Bitcoin Association, we send you, your families, and our community, our best wishes and will look forward to connecting with you (in whatever form that may take) all again soon.

Take care and be safe,

 

Jimmy Nguyen

Founding President
Bitcoin Association

 

 

News and Updates

Update on Bitcoin Association Events Program and DevCon San Francisco

Events represent a substantial portion of Bitcoin Association’s activities to educate developers, business executives, investors and more, about the power of Bitcoin SV. As other organizations and businesses around the world have also done, we too need to put a pause on the Association’s in-person events – including our planned Bitcoin SV DevCon, previously announced for June in San Francisco.

This means that the DevCon in San Francisco will be postponed to a future date, to be determined once we feel as an Association that it is again safe to host a major conference. The Association is closely monitoring the ongoing situation and is actively involved in communications with relevant government bodies regarding their advice on organizing events. We will remain in contact with all of those who pre-registered for the DevCon in San Francisco, as well as our Association members, to provide notice of developments as the situation progresses.

Meanwhile, we are working to launch a selection of online programs to provide developers and business executives resources to learn more about Bitcoin SV in the interim. Please stay tuned for more information and do feel free to reach out to the Bitcoin Association team if you have any personal queries.

 

Bitcoin SV Wiki Goes Live

Following a significant effort from staff at both Bitcoin Association and nChain, we were pleased to announce (at CoinGeek London in February) the new Bitcoin SV Wiki. For too long, misinformation has been spread about Bitcoin. The Bitcoin SV Wiki will be the comprehensive resource that re-educates developers and the world about Bitcoin. It will also chronicle Bitcoin’s history, and summarize the technologies, services and functions which contribute to its ecosystem.

The Association is delighted to see this project live for the world to access. Please visit the Bitcoin SV Wiki and learn about Bitcoin – the way it was truly meant to be. 

 

BitcoinSV.com Launches!

Bitcoin Association is also excited to announce the official launch of BitcoinSV.com. The new website will serve as the official “master portal” for everything Bitcoin SV, with up-to-date content, information and resource links suitable for everyone from developers, enterprise executives, transaction processors, investors and every-day users. We soft-launched BitcoinSV.com for the first anniversary of Bitcoin Independence Day last November, and have continued to gradually add content to the site.

Many people have viewed the BitcoinSV.io website as the “official” site for Bitcoin SV information. The .io site was launched in 2018 to provide information about the Bitcoin SV Node implementation and is intended for a technical audience. It was never intended long-term to be the general information site for Bitcoin SV; that function will now be served by BitcoinSV.com – which has content suitable for a more mainstream audience.

BitcoinSV.io will continue to operate, in order to provide technical information about the Bitcoin SV Node software and other infrastructure projects from the Bitcoin SV Node team.

We encourage you to visit BitcoinSV.com and distribute the link widely for the world to see. 

 

Important changes to nomenclature

It’s time to change the nomenclature for certain terms used within the Bitcoin and blockchain industry.

“Transaction Processors” rather than “Miners”

The term “miners” appears to have been adopted based on the analogy that the node winning each Bitcoin block receives fresh coins from Bitcoin’s originally-issued finite supply of 21 million supply – as if the node was mining the coins out of the earth. The number of fresh coins received for each block is a static subsidy to bootstrap the network at the very beginning but intentionally decreases over time: it began with 50 coins, and then halves approximately every four years to 25 coins, to 12.5 coins and soon to 6.25 coins and so forth.

Therefore, the analogy to traditional mining becomes increasingly less relevant over time. With the next impending halving across the three main competing Bitcoin chains, more transaction fees are going to be required to make up the shortfall in revenue earned by “miners” from the static subsidy portion of the block reward. This is critical to ensure profitability of “mining” and sustain the network. To add to that, with every new block, fewer fresh coins will be distributed into circulation from the finite supply of 21 million Bitcoin, representing a shift in the role that “miners” play within the network. In short, “miners” will be bringing fewer fresh coins into supply, with their activity needing to focus further on earning transaction fees from coins already in circulation. To reflect this, we believe it is time to replace the term “miner” in favour of “transaction processor” – a term which more accurately embodies the role these nodes play within the Bitcoin economy at present, and one that will most certainly become more important in the years to come as the static subsidy portion of the block reward continues to halve.

“Digital Currency” or “Digital Asset” rather than “Cryptocurrency”

In another change, Bitcoin Association will now use the terms “digital currency” or “digital asset” to refer to Bitcoin (SV of course), rather than “cryptocurrency.”

There are two reasons for this change. First, as Dr. Craig Wright has repeatedly explained, Bitcoin’s security is economic, rather than dependent on cryptography. Therefore, “cryptocurrency” was never an accurate term to describe Bitcoin in the first place.

Second, the term “cryptocurrency” has developed negative connotations due to Bitcoin and other digital currencies being misused or distorted for many years. We believe Bitcoin has tremendous lawful utility and should not be associated with such negative connotations. As the Association continues to advance business with Bitcoin SV, we believe “digital currency” or “digital asset” is a more enterprise and government-friendly term, as well as being a more accurate representation of Bitcoin’s utility.

Moving forward, Bitcoin Association is committed to utilising these new naming standards and actively encourages both our membership and the wider Bitcoin community to do the same. 

 

Bitcoin Association congratulates Jerry Chan

Bitcoin Association would like to extend its congratulation to Jerry Chan, who has moved on from his role as Bitcoin Association’s Regional Manager for Japan and South Korea to take up the position of President and CEO at TAAL Distributed Information Technologies.

TAAL is a Canadian-based, publicly-listed business focused on transaction processing – with a strong focus on Bitcoin SV, its associated technologies, and the development of enterprise-level blockchain applications.

Jerry was one of the first Regional Managers for the Association, and has been a long-time advocate for the Satoshi Vision of Bitcoin. We especially appreciated his hosting of the BSV: Bitcoin for Business – Tokyo event last year with Dr. Craig Wright.

We wish Jerry the best and look forward to future opportunities for collaboration with him in his new role at TAAL. 

 

Bitcoin Association goes to Slovenia

On March 3, Bitcoin Association was proud to partner with nChain and CREA – the Slovenian-based development firm who work alongside nChain on the Bitcoin SV Node team – on the first BSV conference in Ljubljana. This will now go down as the last in-person Bitcoin Association event for the foreseeable future, until the COVID-19 situation improves.

More than 250 executives and developers from the worlds of business and Bitcoin came together for Bitcoin SV: The Blockchain for Business in Slovenia, a day-long program that paired learnings centred on the potential of Bitcoin, together with a series of real-world applications that illustrate why BSV is the ideal blockchain for enterprise.

Bitcoin Association President Jimmy Nguyen hosted the day (and even filled in last minute to present topics for some speakers who could not make it). But the event’s focus was on the successful relationship between nChain and CREA, and how they can help businesses in the region build on Bitcoin SV. The conference therefore had senior members from nChain, representatives of CREA, and as well as several Bitcoin Association business members take the spotlight on stage – the highlight of which was a powerful speech from Dr. Craig Wright on his vision for a future built on-chain.

“I want to see [Bitcoin SV] get to the point where we have millions of transactions every second,” exclaimed Wright, riling up the over-capacity theatre.

Right now, Google does about 56,000 searches per second. We want to get [Bitcoin SV] doing millions of transactions every second, which means that we’ll be able to capture organisations of the future like Google and like Facebook, but [with] no more ad revenue.”

For a full recap of the event, visit CoinGeek. 

 

Quote of the Month: Jan Smit – Two Hop Ventures

Bitcoin Association recently sat down for an extended interview with our Ambassador for the Netherlands, Jan Smit. Discussing his role as General Partner at Two Hop Ventures, a venture capital firm focused purely on investments in the BSV-space, Jan said that the Bitcoin ecosystem was at the point of a pivotal moment:

“This is a super exciting time! There are great opportunities and I’m one hundred percent certain that most of these companies [building on Bitcoin SV] will grow on to have valuations which are far, far beyond what they have today. To be able to buy in at this level, it really is an opportunity in history I would say.”

Look out for more from Jan in his feature-length profile set to publish on the Bitcoin Association website later in April.

 

Kronoverse makes major strides following success at CoinGeek London

Bitcoin SV gaming platform Kronoverse made a pair of pivotal announcements in March, as they continue to establish themselves as an innovator in the gaming and blockchain spaces.

Kronoverse announced that they had formed a partnership with ESL, the world’s largest esports company, in order to further both the development and scale of Kronoverse’s gaming platform, as well as their upcoming CryptoFight’s title which premiered at CoinGeek London.

“ESL knows what it takes to succeed in the ever-growing esports industry as the oldest and most successful esports company in the world,” says Adam Kling, CEO and founder of Kronoverse.

“We’re confident our partnership with ESL will enable us to fully develop the Kronoverse platform. This includes everything from attracting more indie game developers to solving problems in competitive gaming such as cheating.”

In what was a busy month for the gaming upstart, Kronoverse also announced that they had been elected to membership of ESIC, the Esports Integrity commission. Kronoverse will work together with ESIC to explore ways in which Bitcoin SV and blockchain-technology can work to add surety and reliability to eSports – an industry not just booming in popularity, but one with increasingly prominent financial rewards at stake.

 

UNISOT continues to build on Bitcoin SV

At CoinGeek London in February and afterward through a press release, supply-chain management company UNISOT, a Norwegian business which develops applications exclusively on Bitcoin SV, made a major announcement about the release of their new product, SeafoodChain. The platform combines traceability, product provenance and proof of quality for the seafood and aquaculture industries – all of which is built and recorded on chain.

In addition, the company launched its namesake UNISOT enterprise blockchain platform. Both platforms are built on Bitcoin SV, with CEO Stephan Nilsson citing the blockchain’s scalability, stability and low fees as key factors behind the decision.

With sustainability and traceability as core ethos, expect to see further announcements from UNISOT, as they find new ways to harness the growing global demand for eco-conscious consumer goods and the technologies required to facilitate their surety.