对话Merkle Science公司的Ian Lee先生:如何成为数字资产生态中负责任的一员

Greg Hall 460 x 488
By Greg Hall Published: 2月 28, 2022
Merkle Science's Ian Lee

Ian Lee是新一代加密货币风险预测和情报平台Merkle Science的创始人之一。在近年来数字资产爆炸式增长的推动下,这家公司已经将业务推广至各个类型和体量的客户。

作为一家精于区块链商业推广和合规性咨询的公司,任何数字资产行业的牛市,对于Merkle Science来说都是一段黄金增长期。最近一波关注热潮——即便还未全面爆发——也不例外。

这波关注热潮的兴起和大众对虚拟资产的青睐主要有两方面原因:行业新宠——去中心化金融平台DeFi(包括零售和机构类型)的增长,以及备受主流关注的以非同质化通证(NFT)为代表的特定应用。

Lan Lee说到:“有趣的是,这为加密货币领域带来了一波全新的参与浪潮。在过去,很多人进入加密货币领域纯粹是出于钱的原因,他们将其视为一个投资的机会。

“我相信你现在终于看到了这一步:监管者们对于自己对技术的理解感到满意,从而积极地提出更加明确的指导方针,并开始授予企业运营牌照。

“这样做的后果是在有了持牌实体和持牌交易所以后,银行也被允许进入这一领域。过去因为加密货币交易所没有牌照,银行在与这些交易所打交道时常常显得犹豫不决。而现在,银行可以大方地说:‘我想与这个交易所合作,他们获得了我们当地监管机构的许可,所以他们很大程度上是符合监管规定的。’”

作为一家帮助企业监测区块链风险的服务提供商,区块链实用范例的每一次扩充都意味着民众对Merkle Science更浓厚的兴趣。然而,他们的服务生来具备适应性,所以在一个不断变化的行业中保持存在感对他们来说并不是一件太难的事。

“我想说的是,我们不得不对现有产品进行某些改动。”Lee解释说,“随着DeFi平台和NFT的出现,现在很多交易都是通过智能合约进行的,而且往往不止一两个智能合约,有些交易可以轻易地经过四五个智能合约来执行,这些智能合约之间不断地相互通信、促成交易。”

“想拥有一个可以提炼智能合约之间信息流的工具不是一件容易的事情。我们不能像可视化过去的平台那样将其可视化,因为那对我们的客户来说是一种信息过载。”Lee说,“这是关乎于‘我们如何提炼这些全新的数据点,让我们的用户更容易消化’的问题。”

对于Merkle Science这样一家公司来说,同样重要的还有监管环境。随着主流关注度的增加,监管的视野也更多地投向了这里。世界各地的司法体系都在建立健全各自的法律制度,以确保数字资产及其应用受到当地法律的保护。在短短两年的时间里,瑞士、新加坡、德国和欧盟都已经或正在对数字资产的监管制度进行全面的改革。

同样地,Merkle Science从最初就提出的适应性哲学也是至关重要的。

Lee表示:“当我们在2018年创办公司时,整个亚洲基本上没有许可框架可言。美国和英国/欧洲确实是有一些,但仍然不甚明晰。因此,我们从第一天起就知道,无论我们构建怎样的平台,其设计原则都必须是要能适应不断变化的法规。”

这方面的一个具体表现就是平台的风险检测协议。Merkle Science使用的并非一个一成不变的风险阈值,而是一个“风险引擎”,它能让客户根据自己的需求创建定制化的风险警报。风险引擎的控制权在客户手中,这也就意味着在当地的法律或法规发生变化时,任何需要立即实施的改动都可以轻松快速地完成。

“这使得客户的业务能够真正地扩展到任何他们想去的司法体系下,因为我们设计的系统同样不是只针对一套规则或法规,对吗?因为规则永远是不可知的。”他说。

这种定制化的服务并不只关注监管的灵活性,它还旨在让各类规模的企业——从较小的初创企业到大公司——都能够自由地享受该平台的好处,而不是接受一成不变的“通用式”服务。

这也是公平的,因为数字资产的繁荣意味着几乎所有你能想象得到的商业领域都开始使用区块链了。根据Ian Lee的说法,在过去的几年里,Merkle的客户类型发生了显著的变化。

Lee解释道:“在早期,唯一真正想和我们对话的人,就是你的交易所和托管方。那些明显在与加密货币打交道的人,需要知道这些资金的来源。”

慢慢地,监管机构和执法实体也开始扎堆进入这一领域,因为他们监控的公司或犯罪活动也开始使用区块链技术了。按照Lee的说法,他们现今的业务太满了,因为几乎所有人都在使用他们的服务。

他说:“想象一下,你是一家银行,你有一个交易所的客户,并且你可以实时地看到交易进出。如果你能告诉你的合规团队,‘嘿,如果(我们的客户)有洗钱行为,我们能实时看到’,你觉得这会带来多大的价值,你的团队会有多高兴?”

Merkle Science能够在行业的发展中站稳脚跟,其中一个切实的案例就是他们参加了伦敦劳合社(Lloyds of London)的“加速器计划”。近来,这家保险公司开始将眼光投向私营企业,看看有哪些方案可用于对交易所等数字资产公司进行风险评估。在过去,数字资产公司是个让保险行业感到头疼的领域,因为传统保险人对这一新兴行业的潜在客户的了解速度很慢。2021年初,Merkle Science官宣将于2021年9月进入“加速器计划”。

“‘保险(保障风险)’是加密货币公司面临的一个需求,没错吧?我的意思是,这是他们面临的一个问题,他们会被黑客攻击,他们需要有能力保护自己的资产,我认为保险市场认识到了这一差距。因此,我们正在与他们合作,通过打造‘仪表板’功能(dashboard),帮助他们更好地了解这些加密货币交易所背后的风险,从而计算出更优的保费,提供更好的服务。”他说。

对于Merkle Science来说,这是一个很好的服务于整个行业的案例,其重要性甚至超过了他们向市场上投放的服务或者产品。为监管机关和和传统保险业提供服务,与为公司股东赚取利润一样,是一种企业责任,因为这些努力将决定未来的全球热潮和监管变化能否最大程度的为这个行业带来好处。

How to be a responsible member of the digital asset ecosystem with Merkle Science’s Ian Lee

Greg Hall 460 x 488
By Greg Hall Published: February 28, 2022
Merkle Science's Ian Lee

Ian Lee is one of the founding members of Merkle Science, the next-generation predictive cryptocurrency risk and intelligence platform. Buoyed by the digital asset explosion in recent years, their services are provided to a wide range of clients of many shapes and sizes.

Now primed to play a critical role in making blockchain accessible and compliant for business, any period of growth for the digital asset industry is a period of growth for Merkle Science. The latest wave of interest – one which has yet to fully break – is no exception.

This surge in interest and adoption has been driven by the growth of DeFi platforms that are welcoming newcomers – both retail and institutional – to the space, and specific applications such as non-fungible tokens (NFTs) generating mainstream interest.

‘What’s interesting about that is this brought in a whole new wave of participants to the crypto space, where in the past a lot of people got into crypto purely for financial reasons – they saw it as an investment opportunity.’

‘I think you’re finally reaching this point where they’re comfortable with their understanding of the technology to actively come up with clearer guidelines and actively start granting businesses licence to operate.’

‘The by-product of that is now you have licensed entities, licensed exchanges, and what this does is that it allows banks to enter the space. Traditionally, banks which have been hesitant to deal with crypto exchanges because they’re not licensed, can now come in and say hey, you know, I want to work with this exchange and it’s licensed by my local regulator, so they much be doing things by the books.

As a service which functions to help businesses monitor blockchain risk, each expansion in blockchain use-cases means more interest in Merkle Science. However, their service was built to be adaptable, so staying relevant in a constantly changing industry is not too difficult of a task.

‘I’d say we’d had to make certain modifications to existing products,’ explains Lee.

‘With the introduction of DeFi platforms and NFTs, a lot of these transactions now go through smart contracts. And not just one or two smart contracts – some transactions easily go through four or five smart contracts, which are just constantly speaking to one another to facilitate that transaction.’

‘Having tools that can then distil these flows between these smart contracts becomes more challenging. We can’t visualize it the same way we used to with our old platform, because that would be an information overload for our client.’
how can we distil these new data points and make it easier to digest for our users?

Perhaps just as important for a company like Merkle Science is the regulatory environment. With increasing mainstream interest has come increasing regulatory interest. Many jurisdictions around the world are beginning to shore up their legal regimes to make sure digital assets and their applications are appropriately covered under the law. In the space of just two years, the likes of Switzerland, Singapore, Germany and the broader European Union have all introduced or are in the process of introducing sweeping changes to the regulatory regimes governing digital assets.

Here too, Merkle’s philosophy of adaptability from square one has been vital.

‘When we started the company in 2018, by and large across Asia there were no licensing frameworks. Yes, over in the US and the UK/Europe, there was some, but it still wasn’t clear. So, we knew right from day one that any platform that we built had to be designed in such a way that it would accommodate for changing regulations.’

One of the concrete manifestations of this is in the platform’s risk detection protocol. Rather than a set-in-stone risk threshold, Merkle Science makes use of a risk engine that allows their clients to create bespoke alerts based on their own needs. The control of the risk engine lies with the clients, which means that any local changes in law or regulation that need to be implemented right away can be done so easily and quickly.

‘This allows them to really expand into any jurisdiction that they want, because again, the system that we’ve designed has not been tailored for just one set of rules or regulations, right? It’s agnostic.’

This bespoke approach is not solely concerned with regulatory flexibility. It also is designed to allow businesses of many sizes – from smaller start-ups to enterprise-level companies – to be able to enjoy the benefits of the platform freely without resorting to an unsatisfactory one-size-fits-all approach.

That’s just as well, because the digital asset boom has meant that virtually every cross-section of business you can imagine has started using the blockchain. According to Lee, the kinds of clients coming through Merkle’s doors has changed significantly over the past few years.

‘Back in the early days, the only guys who really wanted to speak to us were, let’s say, your typical exchanges and custodians, right? Guys who very obviously were dealing with cryptocurrency and needed to know where these funds were coming from.’

Slowly, regulators and law enforcement entities began to pile into the space as the companies or criminal activity they monitor began to make use of blockchain technology. But Lee says that now, the level of interest is such that their services are used by almost anyone.

‘Imagine you’re a bank and you have an exchange client and you can actually see your transactions going in and out in real time. How valuable would that be and how happy will your compliance team be if you could tell them, hey, if [our clients] are money laundering, we’ll actually see it in real time?’

One of the most tangible demonstrations of Merkle Science’s growing role in the development of the industry is their participation in an accelerator programme run by Lloyds of London. The insurance company had begun looking to the private sector to see what solutions could be used for risk assessment on digital asset companies such as exchanges. Insurance is an area where digital assets companies have in the past run into trouble because of how slow traditional providers had been to understand potential clients from this emerging industry. Earlier in 2021, it was announced the Merkle Science would be part of the September 2021 intake.

‘[Insurance] is a need that crypto companies face, right? I mean, it’s a problem that they face – they’re getting hacked, and there is a need for them to be able to secure their assets, and I think the insurance market recognizes that gap. And so, we’re working with them to build dashboard that can help them better understand the risk of these crypto exchanges so that they can calculate better premiums and offer better services.’

For Merkle, this is a great example of serving the industry in ways that go well beyond the exact products and services they are currently offering to the market. This kind of engagement with regulators and traditional institutions is as much a responsibility for the company as making profits for its shareholders because these efforts will determine whether the coming waves of global interest and regulatory changes will be as beneficial to the industry as they can be.