Codugh首席执行官:作为一家BSV初创企业,如何有效应对监管

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Jamie McKane Published: 1月 26, 2022
Codugh CEO Shashank Singhal

Shashank Singhal在2019年的第二届BSV编程马拉松上获胜之后,迅速将他的第一个重大的BSV项目Codugh发展成了一个蓬勃发展的BSV初创公司。在这个过程中,他得到了许多惨痛的教训,包括关于区块链初创公司所面临的监管障碍以及如何克服这些障碍并最终提供一款可行可用的产品。

Codugh是一个API市场。BSV具有的强大功能,以独特的方式赋能开发者,让开发者从别人对其API的调用中获取收益。从API的开发和使用中获取收益对于开发者来说是一个难题,Singhal看到了利用BSV区块链的机会,通过基于区块链的API市场使收入流更加可靠和高效。

Codugh于是便从这个构想中诞生了。Codugh市场使开发者能够从他们的API中赚取收益,能让他们向用户对其平台上列出的API的每一次调用收取小额的微支付,而平台则从每笔支付中抽取一小部分归自己所有。这种基于微支付的商业模式只有在BSV区块链上才能实现。由于BSV没有武断的区块大小限制,并且交易手续费极低且能无限扩容。这些微支付不仅可以高效地完成,而且还有利可图,API开发者可以从他们的创造中获得收益,并随着API调用频率的上升,他们的收益也会线性地增长。

开发者和客户也不需要去了解区块链或BSV,因为Codugh在平台上新发布了一种CUSD STAS代币,其价值与1/100美分相等。这意味着开发者可以在平台上进行注册并发布API到平台上,并从自己的项目中赚取以法币计价的收入,而不需要与支付系统的底层基础设施——BSV区块链——进行互动。

然而,作为一个基于区块链的初创公司,提供了法币出入金通道,Codugh面临着有效应对全球区块链监管的艰巨任务,其中大部分法规仍然难以理解和遵守。Codugh背后的团队是开发者而不是律师,但他们必须迅速适应以跟上监管。

比特币协会采访了Codugh创始人兼首席执行官Shashank Singhal,了解他们如何克服天然就伴随着运营区块链公司的监管障碍,以及他们一路走来的经验教训。

 

获得相关的执照

Codugh运营中出现的许多监管挑战与它的新CUSD代币有关,这是一种建立在BSV区块链原生通证化能力上的数字代币。由于Codugh在其平台上接受和分配法币并将其转换为这些代币,该团队需要获得特定的执照,并将各种客户保护措施落实到位,才能实现合规。

“我们拥有数字交易所和汇款服务商的执照。我们要做KYC和KYT流程,以确保在我们的平台上发生的一切是安全的,还要确保没有洗钱或恐怖主义融资是通过我们平台进行的。” Singhal解释说。

他说,“显然,我们目前将所有的代币交易都在平台内进行维护,避免人们在平台外发送代币和用它们做其它各类事情,从而减少监管复杂度。”

对于一群构建在BSV上的初创公司的开发者来说,获得相关的执照并根据多变的监管要求来检查他们的合规状况,是一条艰难但最终会带来回报的道路。

“这是一个挑战。当然,这也很有趣。会有艰难的时光,但一切都还算不错。”Singhal说。

他补充道,“我们喜欢学习新事物,喜欢和各种事情打交道。但很明显,当涉及到处理法律问题时,就有点烦人了,但我们也与律师合作,以确保我们正确地理解了各项事宜并正确地处理了所有流程。”

 

深入全面地向律师进行咨询

团队为了确保合规性,不得不重新审视他们创建的众多初期解决方案,他们很快就了解到,咨询外部法律专家是建立区块链初创企业的关键步骤——特别是对于提供代币与法币互换服务的企业来说。

“最糟糕的事情是,你认为你理解了一些东西,然后你继续构建,然后你意识到这些不太符合监管框架,或者你遗漏了一些东西,因为我们知道,这一切都非常复杂。” Singhal说。

Singhal建议构建在BSV之上的企业全面审视自己所有产品的合规性,并就满足监管要求的必行事项咨询法律专家。

“一定要咨询律师。你一定要细心又全面。我知道这很花时间又很烦人,但这是必行事项,而且到头来,一切挣扎都是值得的。”他总结道。

这种咨询和合规性检查流程是持续的,而且随着Codugh业务的增长和平台功能的增加,可能会变得更加重要。Singhal对发展公司有很大的野心,他想要从提供按千字节数据存储付费服务做到挖矿算力销售。

“我们已经为API构建了处理支付的基础设施。我们可以将其分拆,然后应用于一项又一项的技术,这实际上比你想象的要简单得多。当涉及到我们计划中的数据存储,比如按小时、按千字节付费时,我们已经准备好了支付处理系统。只需进行些许调整,我们就可以处理所有支付以及所有通过计算服务所实现的功能。”Singhal说。

他介绍道,“我们也听取了社区的一些需求,有些人想临时用一下算力,但又不想购买大量的机器来自己产生算力。那么这样一来,他们就可以按需短期租用、按功能付费,而矿工在不一定需要使用所有的挖矿算力时,就有了额外的收入来源,或者说每台机器可以通过出租算力可以赚到比只挖矿更多的钱。”

他表示,“整合Codugh网关来出售不同的物品是一种非常酷的方式。也就是说,你可以通过出租任何联网设备来赚钱,同样地,你也将通过实时微交易获得报酬。在未来的24到36个月之内……我认为我们将成为全世界在微支付领域最重要的公司。也许(我们可以)取代世界上所有的订阅模式,代之以按次付费、即时支付的模式,因为这一模式更清晰、更顺畅,而且更棒。”

这些雄心勃勃的应用无疑都会有其自身的监管障碍,Codugh已经从过去的挑战中吸取了教训,他们将继续寻求法律建议,并根据任何相关法规全面审视其产品。

How to navigate regulation as a BSV start-up – Codugh CEO

Alex Speirs 512 x 320
By Jamie McKane Published: January 26, 2022
Codugh CEO Shashank Singhal

Shashank Singhal has quickly grown his first major BSV project, Codugh, into a flourishing BSV start-up after winning the second BSV Hackathon in 2019. In the process, he has learned many hard lessons about the regulatory hurdles faced by blockchain start-ups and how these can be overcome to deliver an accessible and viable product.

Codugh is an API marketplace that leverages the power of BSV to allow developers to earn money from calls made to their APIs in a way that is uniquely enabled by the BSV blockchain. Making money from API development and usage is a difficult problem for developers, and Singhal saw an opportunity for the BSV blockchain to make revenue stream more reliable and efficient with a blockchain-based API marketplace.

From this idea, Codugh was born. The Codugh marketplace enables developers to earn money from their APIs by allowing them to charge users a small micropayment for every call made to the APIs listed on their platform, which takes a small percentage of each payment for itself. This micropayment-based business model is something that is only made possible by the BSV blockchain. Because BSV has no arbitrary block size limit and scales unbounded with extremely low transaction fees, these micropayments can be completed efficiently and profitably, and API developers can earn revenue from their creations that scales linearly with their adoption.

Developers and customers do not need to know anything about blockchain or BSV either, as Codugh recently announced a new CUSD STAS token for their platform, which is pegged to the value of 1/100th of a U.S. cent. This means that developers may sign up, post an API to the platform, and earn fiat-denominated income from their projects without ever needing to interact with the underlying infrastructure of the payment system – the BSV blockchain.

As a blockchain-based start-up with fiat on- and off-ramps, however, Codugh is faced with the daunting task of navigating global blockchain regulation, much of which is still difficult to interpret and ensure compliance with. The team behind Codugh are developers, not lawyers, and they have had to adapt quickly to stay abreast of this regulation.

Bitcoin Association spoke to Codugh Founder and CEO Shashank Singhal about how they have overcome the regulatory hurdles intrinsic to operating a blockchain-based company and the lessons they learned along the way. 

 

Obtain the relevant licences

Many of the regulatory challenges that arise from Codugh’s operations relate to its new CUSD token, which functions as a digital token built on the native tokenisation capabilities of the BSV blockchain. Because Codugh is accepting and dispensing fiat currency and converting it to these tokens on its platform, the team needed to acquire certain licences and put various customer protection measures in place for compliance.

‘We have licenses as a digital exchange and as a remittance service provider. We do KYC and KYT processes to make sure that everything happening in our platform is sound and there’s no money laundering or terrorism financing going on through our platform,’ Singhal says.

‘Obviously, we currently maintain all transactions of the token within our own platform to fend off the regulatory complications of people sending out tokens outside of the platform and doing all sorts of other things with them.’

For a group of developers building a BSV-based start-up, obtaining the relevant licences and checking their compliance status against changeable regulatory requirements has been a difficult but ultimately rewarding path.

‘It’s been a challenge. Certainly, it’s been interesting. It’s been arduous at times, but it’s been good,’ says Singhal.

‘We love learning new things; we love dealing with stuff, but obviously, when it comes to dealing with legal it gets a bit tiresome, but we work with lawyers as well to make sure that we understand everything correctly and to make sure that we’re handling all the processes correctly.’

 

Consult with lawyers and be thorough

The team has had to revisit their initial approaches to many solutions they created to ensure compliance, and they learned quickly that consulting outside legal expertise is a crucial step in building a blockchain start-up – especially one that offers a token in exchange for fiat currency.

‘The worst thing is thinking you understand something and then going on to build something that you then realise doesn’t quite fit with a regulatory framework, or you missed something because it all is extremely complicated, as we know.’

Singhal advises businesses building on BSV to thoroughly double-check the compliance of all their products and to consult legal experts on what must be done to meet regulatory requirements.

‘Make sure you consult lawyers. Make sure you be careful that you are thorough. I know it takes time and I know it’s annoying, but it’s got to be done and it’s worth the struggle in the end.’

This consultation and compliance-checking process is ongoing, and will likely become even more relevant as Codugh grows its business and the capabilities of its platform. Singhal has great ambitions for the company, from pay-per-kilobyte data storage to the sale of mining hash power.

‘We’ve already built payment processing infrastructure for the APIs. We can just spin that out, and it’s actually much simpler than you’d expect to then apply that to technology after technology. When it comes to paying per-hour, per-kilobyte as we plan to for data storage, we can already have the payment processing in place. And with just a small amount of tweaking, we can deal with all the payments and all the functionalities heading through the compute services as well,’ Singhal says.

‘We’ve heard some requests in the community as well from people who want to use hash power temporarily but don’t want to have to buy massive machines to generate their own hash power. So this way they’ll be able to rent it short-term and on-demand, pay per function and miners have an additional revenue stream when they’re not necessarily using all their mining power or can make even more money per machine by renting it out than they would have through just the mining function.’

‘Integrating the Codugh gateway is a really cool way to sell different items – you can make money off any connected item you have by renting it out and again getting paid in real-time microtransactions. In 24 to 36 months’ time… I think we’d be the foremost company in terms of micropayments in the entire world. Maybe [we can] delete every subscription model in the world and replace it with pay-per-use, pay instantly, because it’s much cleaner, it’s much smoother and it’s just much better.’

Each of these ambitious applications will undoubtedly come with its own regulatory hurdles, and Codugh has learnt from its past challenges to continue to court legal advice and thoroughly check its offerings against any relevant regulations.