访谈:nChain研发专家——Chloe Tartan

Liz Louw Bitcoin Association Writer
By Liz Louw Published: 3月 30, 2021
women in blockchain sv chloe tartan

3月是国际妇女月,2021年的庆祝活动主要围绕两个主题展开:“勇于挑战”和“女性领导力:在新冠常态化中实现平等的未来”。为此,比特币协会采访了Chloe Tartan,她是研究合作组织“屹立于区块链和科技领域的女性”(WiBS)的联合创始人,同时也是领先的区块链研发公司nChain的研发专家。

在谈到与他人共同创立的研究合作组织WiBS时,Chloe Tartan说:“将这些各异的大脑汇聚在一起,就会有不可思议的事情发生。”

WiBS的目标是通过创建和分享思想领导力,并向其成员提供资源以促进她们在科技领域的职业发展,从而增强活跃在科技领域——尤其是区块链领域的女性的能力。该项目最初只是nChain内部的一个小组,但很快便发展壮大,现已扩展到了技术行业的各个领域。

“我们一开始并未明确这个小组的目标,因为想法太多了,很难确定该从哪里开始。”

但很快,nChain之外的人群也开始对这个小组感兴趣。在多方建议下,WiBS将小组扩张到了整个行业,现在的小组成员横跨从南非到中国的全球各地。

对Tartan来,使科技(STEM,即Science、Technology、Engineering和Math的首字母缩写)行业更具包容性和多元化不仅是一件符合道德要求的事情,而且还有切实的好处。她提到了发表在《哈佛商业评论》上的合作研究,该研究表明,多元化的商业案例应该非常容易实现。

“科学证明了这一点!”Tartan兴奋地说道。

她说的并没有错,我们只需看一下数据:在民族和种族多元化管理上处于前四分之一的公司,有35%的可能性拥有比行业平均水平更高的财务收益率。而拥有至少一名女性董事会成员的公司与没有女性董事会成员的公司相比,则享有更高的股权收益率和更高的净收入增长。同样的,还有研究表明,STEM团队内部的多元化可以带来更多无形的收益,例如克服群体性思维的能力以及增加创新的可能性。

WiBS对批判性地思考女性在区块链行业中的角色非常感兴趣,小组邀请其成员从多个不同角度思考这个问题。为此,保持对话是至关重要的——无论是在WiBS这类组织内部还是在这类组织之间,或者是直接与更广泛的行业进行对话。同时,这也说明了社交活动的重要性。

“我从去年的女性领导力系列节目中学到的是,我们不能把性别平等的所有责任都归咎于异性。有没有可能是因为我们内化了性别的刻板印象而使自己止步不前?”

在一个以“进步”和“颠覆”这样的术语为标志的行业中,WiBS之类的组织可以确保这种进步是周到且包容的。尽管还有大量的工作要做,但进步是切实在发生的。

Tartan说:“我们已经走了很远,我认为陈旧的体系正在被重新定义,我们的前方是一个崭新的世界。”

“借助区块链,个人可以访问在传统系统中被孤立的资源和表现形式。我们正在使金融业以及数据所有权走向民主化。将少数族裔和性别平等纳入进来是这场运动合乎逻辑的一部分。

我们无法在一夜之间改变世界,但我们相信,像‘国际妇女月聚会’这样的活动是一个很好的平台,可以让女性在职场中提升自己的地位。”

报名参加3月31日举行的WiBS国际妇女月聚会吧。你可以通过https://womeninblockcha.in/加入WiBS的邮件列表,与WiBS保持联系。

Liz is Content Marketing manager at the Bitcoin Association, and WiBS (Women in Blockchain and STEM) ambassador to the group.

Interview: Chloe Tartan – R&D specialist, nChain

Liz Louw Bitcoin Association Writer
By Liz Louw Published: March 30, 2021

March is International Women’s Month and for 2021, the celebration centres around a pair of themes: ‘Choose to challenge’ and ‘Women in leadership: achieving an equal future in a COVID-19 world’. To celebrate, Bitcoin Association sat down with Chloe Tartan, co-founder of Women in Blockchain & STEM (WiBS) and a research & development specialist at leading blockchain development firm nChain.

‘Get all these different brains together and something incredible happens,’ says Chloe Tartan about Women in Blockchain & STEM (WiBS), the research cooperative she co-founded.

WiBS’ aim is to empower women in tech and in particular, women in the blockchain space, by creating and sharing thought-leadership and providing resources to its members to promote their career development within tech. The project started as an internal group at nChain, but quickly grew to encapsulate a broad spectrum across the tech space.

‘Initially, we hadn’t fleshed out the group’s objectives. There were many ideas, and it was difficult to know where to start.’

However, excitement for the group quickly spread beyond nChain, and WiBS was persuaded to expand the group to the entire industry, where it now enjoys input and diverse membership from South Africa to China.

For Tartan, making the STEM professions more inclusive and diverse isn’t just a matter of doing the morally right thing – there are tangible benefits to be had, too. She refers to collative research published in the Harvard Business Review which demonstrates that the business case for diversity should be remarkably easy to make. 

‘Science backs this up!’ enthuses Tartan.

And she’s not wrong – just look at the numbers: companies in the top quartile for ethnic and racial diversity in management were 35% more likely to have financial returns over and above their industry’s mean, while companies with at least one female board member enjoyed a higher return on equity and higher net income growth than those who had no female board members. Similarly, the research indicated more intangible benefits came from diversity within STEM teams, such as the ability to overcome group-think and increasing the likelihood of innovation.

WiBS is interested in thinking critically about the role of women in the blockchain industry, and it invites its members to think about the topic from many different angles. To that end, keeping the conversation going – either within groups like WiBS, between them, or directly with the wider industry – is important, and also highlights the importance of networking events.

‘Something I learned through the female leadership series that WiBS did last year is that we can’t lay all the blame for gender equality at the feet of the opposite gender. Are there times where we hold ourselves back because we’ve internalised gender stereotypes?’

In an industry where terms like ‘progress’ and ‘disruption’ are token, groups like WiBS are making sure that progress is thoughtful and inclusive, and while there is plenty of work still to be done, the progress is happening.

‘If you look at how far we’ve come already, I’d say we’re heading towards a world where age-old systems are gradually being redefined,’ Tartan says.

‘Through blockchain, the individual is gaining access to resources and representation that have been siloed in traditional systems. We are democratising the financial industry as well as data ownership. The inclusion of minority and gender equality is a logical part of the movement.’

‘We can’t change the world overnight, but we believe that events like our International Women’s Month Meetup are a great platform for empowering women to advance our position in the workplace.’

Sign up to attend the WiBS International Women’s Month meetup on 31 March. You can stay connected to WiBS by joining their mailing list at https://womeninblockcha.in/.

Liz is Content Marketing manager at the Bitcoin Association, and WiBS (Women in Blockchain and STEM) ambassador to the group.