投资未来

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Alex Speirs Published: 2月 16, 2021
Sir Anthony Ritossa and Jimmy Nguyen

随着人们越来越多地意识到区块链技术的颠覆性潜力几乎适用于所有行业,因此,在迪拜举行的第13届Ritossa全球家族办公室投资峰会上,这一主题得到了热烈的讨论,而来自Bitcoin SV及其更广泛生态系统内的代表公司在活动上也获得了充分的展示机会。

由Anthony Ritossa爵士主持,并在Ahmed Al Maktoum酋长赞助下举行的Ritossa峰会对超高净值个人及其投资代表的出席表示了热烈的欢迎——该群体的总财富高达4.5万亿美元。

在为期三天的活动中,Bitcoin SV生态中的企业及其创新领袖参加了一系列的小组讨论和会议,展示了该技术所带来的巨大的价值提升潜力。小组讨论和演讲各有侧重却又主旨明确——“改善”。在一场关于“投资未来”的峰会上,Bitcoin SV的代表们向与会者们传递了一个明确的信息:Bitcoin SV技术提供了一种改善现状的手段。

 

智慧城市

其中一轮小组讨论的主题是“区块链下的更优质的社区:智慧城市和物联网”,讨论的重点是区块链技术在未来城市中的作用。

Simit Naik——领先的区块链研发公司nChain的商业服务总监——专门举了一个例子:GeoSpock。这是一家做巨量数据集成的公司,尤其看重地理空间数据。

“区块链可以在两个关键领域有所助益。首先,区块链为你提供了一种非常安全且透明的方式来维护数据的完整性。我们可以使用区块链来确保地理空间数据库所存数据的完整性。”Naik解释道,“其次,GeoSpock会对事件的数据进行捕捉。每个事件都有可能成为有价值的信息,而且这些事件本身会引发其它事件——比如说支付事件,而我们正在做的就是利用区块链在事件之上添加一个支付层。Bitcoin SV支持我们进行微支付,这意味着我们可以在各项事件中进行低于1美分的支付,这使得我们可以在实时事件数据发生时进行实时支付。举个例子,由新加坡的道路传感器所捕获的事件数据就可以被用来触发支付。因此,每次当你开车上路时,并不需要以年为单位缴纳税金,而是可以按每次的实际使用量进行付费。这些活动都可以直接在区块链上实时完成。”

体验现实(XR)开发公司Transmira的首席执行官Robert Rice也作为公司代表出席了小组讨论。与GeoSpock一样,Transmira的旗舰产品Omniscape也是利用基于位置的数据——但他们是将其用于为商业品牌、企业和智慧城市打造商业活动和体验。

Rice说:“我们所处的环境包含了大量的数据。我们Transmira所做的就是将数据变成信息,再将信息变成知识,最终形成一种体验。”

 

数据管理

在讨论区块链技术的应用时,数据是大家共同关心的点。因此,下一轮小组讨论的焦点由社区转移到了企业,讨论了Bitcoin SV的数据管理功能将如何带来更好的商业成果。来自Bitcoin SV生态系统的商业领袖们讨论了区块链技术在数据管理中的应用,反响强烈。

UNISOT的SeafoodChain就是其中的一个项目。UNISOT的首席执行官Stephan Nilsson参加了小组讨论,并以自己的公司为例,阐述了利用区块链数据管理应用的理由。

“海鲜行业的数字化程度很低,大多数作业都需要人工来完成。”Nilsson解释道,“SeafoodChain是我们为海鲜行业提供的解决方案。我们的供应链管理解决方案所提供的工具不仅可以提高产品质量,还可以帮助证明产品的可持续性和原产地。”

在任何一条供应链中,每个环节及各个参与者都会产生大量的数据。几乎每个行业都是如此,但是海鲜产品尤甚。而且随着全球供应链的不断延长和复杂性不断增加,数据量只会变得越来越大。

“我们正在从供应链的各个环节收集信息,包括鱼卵的DNA,鱼如何被饲养、捕捞、宰杀,直到鱼被送到餐厅这整套流程中的信息。”Nilsson紧接着阐述了基于区块链的方法所带来的第二个好处,“通过将这些片段信息放到区块链上,供应链中的参与者也可以将这些信息变现。他们可以交易这些片段信息——比如温度、重量和位置等,可以将其出售给供应链中的其他参与者。渔民们可以将其捕捞方式、捕捞时间和捕捞地点的信息变现,这些信息都可供整条供应链使用。”

nChain帮助各行各业打造区块链解决方案,以便各类公司可以从数据中获得更多收益。Naik还谈到了关于数据管理能力另一个例子——EHR Data公司,该公司正在积极推动将这个构想应用于医疗保健行业,而这个行业可以说是能从区块链带来的数据管理革命中受益最大的行业。

“(EHR Data)项目的首要原则是消除数据孤岛,这使人们可以轻松地从这单一的真相之源中获得与患者有关的所有医疗保健信息。第二步是将这些数据货币化并为患者提升自身数据的价值。EHR Data能让患者们更加便利地拥有自己的数据、批准数据的使用并与世界各地的其他医疗机构进行数据共享。” Naik解释道,随后还补充了一句:“我们认为,数据是21世纪最宝贵的商品。”

 

建立更好的政府

如果区块链能将所有这些优势都提供给私营企业,它自然也可以为政府提供同样的好处。在许多情况下,政府管理面临的是数据管理的问题:理论上而言,政府的客户是普通民众,这意味着相关的数据可能是海量的。

比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen主持了主题为“区块链下更好的政府”的小组讨论,他说:“这个小组讨论的目的是讨论私营企业(通常是开发区块链技术的主体)如何与政府机构合作,从而为公共利益提供有益的解决方案。而这个领域内许多重要的区块链应用都是由政府推动的。”

Bin Zayed集团董事总经理Muhammad Salman Anjum表示赞同:“企业级区块链的最大实用范例是在公共部门。谁是区块链的最大受益者?是政府。为什么? 因为他们需要信任。什么才能带来信任?区块链。这简直是天作之合。”

政府为公民提供许多服务,因此区块链技术会带来众多潜在的影响。同时,政府通常不如私营公司那样行动迅速,因此影响全局性的变革可能是一个较缓慢的过程。

“你需要循序渐进,先是小型实用范例,之后是大型实用范例(例如身份管理等),然后才轮到会改变国家命运的那些实用范例。”Anjum解释道。

沙特阿拉伯麦加市政府的数字化转型负责人Ahmed Yousuf也出席了小组讨论,从政府的角度提出了关于创新的观点:“对我们来说,当我们研究区块链时,它使我们意识到区块链将在短期及长期的未来对我们日常生活中所面临的挑战和实际的业务问题产生影响。问题之一是政府中的一部分人认为区块链只是一种应用(数字货币),并且他们开始质疑该如何使用区块链来为民众提供服务。作为回应,我们开始拿出各种实用范例并表示:‘让我们来考察一下这个基本结构,并思考一下我们如何基于问题生态系统和解决方案生态系统来实现整体的基础设施。’”

 

可持续发展世界的关键

当日晚些时候,Nguyen进行了演讲,主题是“区块链技术如何成为可持续未来的关键性驱动力量”。演讲指出,来自Bitcoin SV生态系统的三家实用范例公司已为此奠定了基础。

第一家公司是Weather SV,该平台能让用户将气候数据流直接记录到区块链上。这些数据是公开可用的,并且其最终目的是在将来打造一个数据市场,使之成为气候和天气信息的通用来源,而这些信息反过来又可以用于描绘天气数据的全貌。

Recycle SV是第二家以可持续发展为主要业务的公司,这家位于苏格兰的初创公司使用数据来鼓励回收行为。他们的移动应用恰如其分地被命名为Recycle SV,可用来扫描包装中的条形码或二维码,在确认已将其投放回收地点后,再进行一次扫描。这样就围绕整个回收流程打造了一套数据经济,为决策者提供了有用的可衡量的指标,同时也为进行回收工作的人们打了一扇获取奖励的大门。

Predict Ecology是一家澳大利亚数据公司,他们正在研究使用区块链来改善环境的各种方法。他们其中的一个项目位于澳大利亚的凯恩斯市,利用树上的物联网(IoT)传感器来记录数据。这些传感器可用于连续跟踪大量的数据,目前他们正在考虑用该技术来记录特定树木的二氧化碳排放量,然后将其进行转换,估算出通过保护该树木所能节约的能源的量。

 

利用区块链改善医疗保健

所有严重依赖数据的行业都有可能通过区块链技术得到直接、显著的改进。医疗行业不仅产生大量数据,同时也依赖于这些数据,而且任何对现状的改善都可能对社会福祉产生立竿见影的效果。

Muhammad Salman Anjum是Bin Zayed集团的董事总经理,他一直在开发基于区块链的新冠肺炎管理系统。

“新冠肺炎是2020年一直存在的问题,正确的思考方式是用2020年的技术来解决2020年的问题。”他如此说道,“Web应用,传统数据库——这些已经是10、20、30年前的技术了。我们现在有更新的技术。现在,我认为技术已经足够成熟,我们可以提出一个生产级的解决方案。新冠肺炎是目前全球面临的挑战,一线医护人员无法独自解决这一问题,他们需要帮助。”

Anjum提到了许多相关的区块链的实用范例,以期为新冠肺炎的控制提供一个综合性的手段,当然,疫苗也包括在内。

“疫苗将是世界上最大规模的供应链运作。时间线必须准确——我们并没有很长的时间,只有当下,疫苗必须在大约六个月的时间内完成。管理系统必须进行计划、采购、优先分配并执行相关操作。”他解释道,“在这件事情上,不能有任何错误的信息。可能会有很多人声称他们手里有疫苗,企图快速地赚一笔。但是,如果你没有建立一个信任层,或者说如果整个监管链条不在区块链上,那这样的事情就还会继续发生。”

Ron Austring是EHR Data的首席科学家,他着重研究了由建立在无数孤立的数据库上的医疗体系所产生的问题,这些数据源通常都是类似或相关的,但它们彼此之间却不一致且不兼容。

“在EHR Data,我们将美国的所有医疗保健数据孤岛合并成了一个。如此一来,就可以跟踪所有不同细分领域的全部医疗服务。”他说道,“当患者按照处方,去药房购买阿片类药物时,这一记录就将以安全的加密格式进行存储。我们将该数据的哈希值写入区块链以及存档节点,以使其永远不会被破坏或篡改。”

一旦数据上了链,就将变得十分可靠,然后就可以将其用于提供可操作的信息,无论信息的使用者是决策者(医生)还是患者本人。

EHR Data正在开发的一个具体实施方案正好与阿片类药物危机有关。Austring表示,这一领域发展受阻主要是因为医疗数据的来源分布广泛且独立。通过将医疗数据存入一个单一的数据库,便可以分析更多的长期数据。例如,可以分析执行了多种阿片类处方的患者所消耗的吗啡量。

区块链数据清洁公司Veridat的负责人Phillip Runyan也谈到了孤岛效应,该公司目前正在开发临床研究领域的解决方案。

“眼下的问题是数据完整性。作为一个药品生产商,我是否掌握了来自多个信息孤岛的所有数据?这些数据当中是否有杂质?我是否能从一个全面的视角上做出一个明智的决定,从而推进药物研发或在药物研发方面取得突破?作为监管机构,我是否拥有药品生产商的所有信息,并且我是否能确保这些信息的准确性和完整性?这些事情非常重要,我们的服务完全可以解决这些问题。”他如此说道。

Runyan举了一个例子。这个故事很特别,说的是有个人多次被抓到贿赂官员以获得疫苗和其它药品的批文。在数据不可篡改且无法伪造的世界中,这不会成为一个问题。

 

投资区块链

Jimmy Nguyen最后再次发表了演讲,并强调了区块链投资正被用于建立更美好未来:“区块链技术是自互联网以来我们生命中最大的技术飞跃,但大多数人并不完全理解个中的原由。而答案就在于数据以及数据所具备的为人类自身创造一个更美好的世界的能力,但前提是我们必须能够更好地优化数据、管理数据访问权限和将数据变现。”

为了说明这一点,他展示了新加坡物联网公路网络所生成的数据,该网络每小时跟踪16万次行程,每天就是4百万次,一年则是14亿次。这些数据总共有1.3万亿行,大小是108TB。

在这种规模的数据量之下,数据收集和分析问题将被放大。这是区块链技术(尤其是Bitcoin SV)可以一展身手的地方。通过去除中间环节便能极大地缩小数据错误的范围,并不再需要对第三方的信任。数据不再是一个一个的孤岛,而是可以存储在单一、可验证的数据库中。数据交易可以与数据无缝结合,从而激励整个生态去进行数据创造和共享。

Investing for Tomorrow

By Alex Speirs Published: February 16, 2021

With growing awareness of the disruptive potential blockchain technology represents for virtually every industry, it was only natural that the subject was well-covered at the 13th Ritossa Global Family Office Investment Summit in Dubai, with Bitcoin SV and showcase companies from the wider ecosystem well-represented at the event.

The Ritossa Summit, hosted by Sir Anthony Ritossa and held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum, welcomes an audience of extraordinarily high-net-worth individuals and their investment representatives, with a collective wealth totalling $4.5 trillion.

Bitcoin SV businesses and the innovators that lead them participated in a range of panels and sessions over the event’s three days, showcasing the massive potential for the technology to add value. The panels and presentations all had different focuses, but a clear theme emerged: better. At a summit about investing for tomorrow, the message from the Bitcoin SV contingent was that the technology provides a means to improve on the status quo.

 

Smart Cities

One panel, ‘Better Communities with Blockchain: Smart Cities and the Internet of Things’, focused on the role that blockchain technology has to play in the cities of tomorrow.

Simit Naik, director of business services at leading blockchain research and development firm, nChain, pointed to one particular example – Geospock – an extreme-scale data integration company, with a focus on geospatial data.

‘Blockchain can help in two key areas. First, blockchain gives you a very secure, very transparent way of maintaining data integrity. We can use the blockchain to ensure the integrity of the data that exists within a geospatial database,’ Naik explained.

‘Second, Geospock captures data about events. Every event has the potential to be valuable information and those events themselves trigger other events. They might be payment events – and what we are doing using blockchain is adding the payment layer on top. The fact that Bitcoin SV allows us to use micropayments means that it’s possible to do payments of fractions of a cent or lower at every single event, which makes it possible for us to do real-time payments with real-time event data.’

‘One example is the event data being captured by road sensors in Singapore being used to trigger payments, so that every time you drive a car down the road, rather than paying a yearly tax, you might pay-per-use. All of that can be done in real-time directly on the blockchain.’

Experiential reality (XR) developer Transmira was also represented on the panel, with an appearance by CEO Robert Rice. Like Geospock, Transmira’s flagship product Omniscape also leverages location-based data – this time however to create commercial campaigns and experiences for commercial brands, businesses and smart cities.

‘We are in data-rich environments,’ explained Rice. ‘What we are doing [with Transmira] is going from data, to information, to knowledge – and then ultimately, to experience.”

 

Managing Data

In talking about the applications of blockchain technology, data is the recurrent factor common to all discussions. As such, the next panel shifted the focus from communities to business, debating how Bitcoin SV’s data management capabilities will lead to better business outcomes. The session welcomed business leaders from across the Bitcoin SV ecosystem to discuss the application of blockchain technology in the context of data management.

One such project is UNISOT’s Seafoodchain. UNISOT CEO Stephan Nilsson participated in the panel and made the case for blockchain’s data management applications, using his own company as an example:

‘What we see in the seafood industry is that very little is digitised; a lot of manual work is done,’ he explained.

‘Seafoodchain is our industry solution for the seafood industry. What we provide with our supply chain management solution are tools to improve the quality of the product and also help to prove the sustainability and provenance of the product.’

In a given supply chain, vast quantities of data are produced by every link and actor involved. This is especially true in the case of seafood, but is the same for virtually every industry – and will only become more true as global supply chains continue to lengthen and grow in complexity over time.

‘We are collecting information from every step in the supply chain – from the DNA of the fish eggs, how it has been brought up, harvested, slaughtered, all the way to being transported to the restaurant,’ Nilsson explained, before raising a secondary benefit of the blockchain-based approach.

‘By taking these small pieces of information and putting it on the blockchain, the actors within the supply chain can also monetise this information,’ he said.

‘They can buy and sell small pieces of information – temperature, weight, location – and start selling them to other actors in the supply chain. The fisherman can monetise the information of how he caught the fish, at what time and what location, all of which can be used throughout the supply chain.’

nChain helps industries create blockchain solutions so that companies can get more out of their data. Naik talked about another example of the data management capabilities driving positive  EHR Data, which takes this idea and applies it to healthcare, arguably one sector with perhaps the most to gain from the data management revolution offered by blockchain.

‘The first principle for the [EHR Data] project was to eliminate data silos – make it easy for people to get this single source of the truth for all healthcare information related to the patient. The next stage is monetising it and increasing the value of that data for the patient themselves – EHR Data make it easy for the patient to own that data, permission the data and share the data with other healthcare organisations across the world,’ explained Naik, adding:

‘We see data as being the most valuable commodity of the 21st century.’

 

Building Better Government

Of course, if blockchain has all of this to offer to private enterprises, it can offer many of the same benefits to governments. Government administration is, in many cases, a matter of data management: in theory, the customer base for a government is the general population, meaning that the amount of data concerned can be enormous.

In setting the scene for the panel he was moderating, ‘Better Government with Blockchain’, Bitcoin Association Founding President Jimmy Nguyen said: ‘The purpose of this panel is to talk about how private enterprises – often the ones developing the blockchain technology – can work with government agencies to deliver solutions that benefit the public good. A lot of the key blockchain applications in this region are being driven by the government.’

Muhammad Salman Anjum, managing director of the Bin Zayed Group, agreed, saying: ‘the biggest use cases of enterprise blockchain are in the public sector. Who is the biggest beneficiary of blockchain? Governments. Why? Because they need trust. What brings trust? Blockchain. This is a match made in heaven.’

Governments perform many services for their citizens, so potential impact points for blockchain technology are aplenty. At the same time, governments are oftentimes not as agile as private corporations, so affecting wholesale change can be a slower process.

‘You need to go step by step: small use cases, then to the critical ones such as IDs, and then to the ones that can change the fate of the country,’ explained Anjum.

Ahmed Yousuf, digital transformation lead at the Holy Makkah Municipality in Saudi Arabia, was on the panel to provide the government perspective on innovation.

‘For us, when we looked at blockchain, it made us realise the impact it could have in the short and long-term future based on the challenges and real business problems we are facing in daily life,’ he said.

‘One of the problems is that people in the government view blockchain as limited to one application [digital currencies] and they start challenging the idea of how we can use it to provide services. In response, we’ve started to bring use-cases, saying “let’s look at the whole fabric and ask how we can implement the entire infrastructure based on an ecosystem of problems and an ecosystem of solutions.”

 

The key to a sustainable world

Later in the day, Nguyen gave a presentation centred on how blockchain technology can be a key driver towards a sustainable future, pointing to three use case companies from the Bitcoin SV ecosystem already laying the foundation.

The first was Weather SV, a platform which allows users to record a stream of climate data directly to the blockchain. This data is publicly available and the intention is, over time, to create data marketplaces that can be used to provide a universal source of climate and weather information that can, in turn, be used to paint a complete picture of weather data.

Recycle SV is another company making sustainability their business, with the Scotland-based start-up using data to incentivise recycling. Their mobile app, aptly named Recycle SV, can be used to scan barcodes or QR codes from packaging and confirm that it has been dropped off at a recycling location, where it is also scanned. This creates a data economy surrounding the recycling process, providing useful measurables to decision-makers, while also opening the door for those doing the recycling to be incentivised for doing so.

Predict Ecology is an Australian data looking at various ways to improve the environment with blockchain, with one project in the works using Internet of Things (IoT) sensors on trees to record data in Cairns, Australia. These sensors can be used to track a litany of data, with one example currently under consideration using the technology to record the carbon dioxide emissions of a particular tree and then translate that into an estimate of the energy savings generated by preserving that tree.

 

Better healthcare with blockchain

Any industry that relies heavily on data has the potential to be directly and significantly improved by blockchain technology. Healthcare is an industry which not only produces and relies on vast amounts of data, but one where any improvements to the status quo is likely to have immediate tangible benefits to the wellbeing of society.

Muhammad Salman Anjum is managing director of the Bin Zayed Group, who have been developing a blockchain-based COVID management system:

‘COVID has been the problem of 2020; the right thinking is to solve this problem of 2020 with the technology of 2020,’ he said.

‘Webapps, legacy databases – these are the technologies of 10, 20, 30 years back. We have contemporary technology. Now, I think the technology is mature enough and we can come up with a production-grade solution. COVID is the current challenge to the whole world – the frontline healthcare workers can’t solve it on their own – they need aid.’

Anjum pointed to the multitude of interrelated use cases for blockchain to deliver a comprehensive means for managing COVID response, including, of course, vaccines.

‘Vaccinations will be the largest supply chain operation in the world. The timeline has to be accurate – we don’t have years, here, it must be done in the span of maybe six months. The management system is required to plan, procure, prioritise distribution and execute the operation,’ he said.

‘You can’t deal with any wrong information for this product – and there will be plenty who claim to have a vaccination, looking to make quick money. If you don’t have a trust layer – the whole chain of custody not on blockchain – such things will keep on happening.’

Ron Austring, Chief Scientist at EHR Data, focused on the problems which are created by a healthcare system founded on countless repositories of siloed data sources, oftentimes which concern the same subjects, yet remain inconsistent and incompatible with one another.

‘At EHR Data, we’re taking all of the healthcare data silos in the US and we are combining that into a single silo. What that allows is to do is track all medical services across all those different industries,’ he said.

‘When a patient goes to the pharmacy to fulfil a prescription for an opioid drug, that record gets stored in a secured encrypted format. We write the hash of that data to the blockchain and to an archival node so that it can never be destroyed or tampered with.’

Once data is on the blockchain, it can be relied on and then used to provide actionable information, whether that’s to decision-makers or the patients themselves.

One specific implementation of this which EHR Data is developing relates to the opioid crisis, an area which Austring says is being held back by the widely distributed and independent sources of healthcare data. With healthcare data in one repository, more long-term data can be analysed, such as the level of morphine being consumed by a patient who is fulfilling multiple opiate prescriptions.

Phillip Runyan, director of blockchain data hygiene company Veridat, which is currently developing solutions in the clinical research space, also commented on the silo effect:

‘The issue at hand is data integrity. As a manufacturer, do I have all of the data, unadulterated, from multiple silos? Do I have a full view to make smart decisions to advance drug development or pump the breaks on it? As a regulatory body, do I have all the information from a drug manufacturer and do I know that it is accurate? Is it whole? These things are incredibly important, and our service solves these concerns and more,’ he said.

Runyan pointed to recent examples from China. One particular story saw a person in China who had been repeatedly caught bribing officials to get his vaccines and other pharmaceuticals approved. In a world where data is immutable and cannot be fabricated, this isn’t an issue.

 

Investing in Blockchain

Jimmy Nguyen took one final opportunity to address the audience and drive home the point that blockchain investments are being used to help build a better future.

‘Blockchain technology is the biggest technology leap of our lifetime since the internet, but most people don’t fully understand why,’ he said.

‘The answer lies in data, and the ability of data to create a better world for ourselves if we can better optimise, manage access and monetise data.’

To illustrate this, he presented the figures being generated by Singapore’s IoT road network, which tracks 160,000 road trips every hour, 4,000,000 in a day and 1.4 billion in a year. Collectively, this data accounts for 1.3 trillion rows and 108 terabytes worth of data.

At such massive scale, problems with data collection and analysis are amplified. This is where blockchain technology and in particular, Bitcoin SV, can step in and make a difference. The removal of intermediaries vastly reduces the scope for data error and eliminates the need for trust between third parties. Data no longer needs to be siloed, but can be stored in a single, verifiable repository. Data transactions can be paired seamlessly with data, creating incentives for the creation and sharing of data across the ecosystem.