比特币协会大使人物介绍:德国大使Josh Petty

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Alex Speirs Published: 11月 12, 2020
Twetch Co-Founder, Josh Petty

Twetch联合创始人兼首席执行官Josh Petty通过游击式营销为自己在网上赢得了声誉,但他期待的是他不断增长的业务及其在发展Bitcoin SV生态系统中扮演的角色——这才会给人们留下持久的印象。

“我想你可以说我是一个连续创业者,因为大概十年来我一直在从事软件应用开发,目前正在Bitcoin SV上打造我的产品。”Petty解释道。

“目前我的重心主要放在Twetch上。这是一款对接比特币的应用,用户可以发布个人信息,拥有个人数据,并从中获利。”

但是,如果Twetch成就了现在的Josh Petty,那他当初是怎么进入比特币圈子的呢?为什么他最终选择了一个强敌环伺(社交媒体巨头几乎无处不在)的领域作为他的首要目标呢?

“我是从大学时期做网站起家的。那时候学会了制作WordPress网站——很简单的东西。后来慢慢地,我进入了软件开发领域。”他说。

“在这条职业道路上,我认识了比特币,于是就开始设想一个比特币贯穿各类应用的世界:起初作为货币,然后再把它变成一个实际的数据存储空间。”

就像任何自称是连续创业者的人一样,Petty感兴趣的是新技术如何能为当前的问题提供解决方案。虽然他发现比特币纯属偶然,但没过多久他就看到了比特币的潜力,并开始思考其使用方式。

Petty说:“我实际上是在一次大学聚会上听说比特币的。当时我真的不知道它是什么——我只花了一两天时间做了一些基础研究。”

“即便是这样,我也完全被它吸引住了。等深入了解了以后就完全着了迷。我觉得比特币的实用范例非常广。尽管当时对支付技术的认识还不多,甚至都不能说真正了解互联网,但我还是立刻意识到了比特币的潜力。”

用Twetch给个体赋能

Petty对比特币的潜力有着深刻的理解。他想到了如何利用比特币打破社交媒体的现状,建立一个新的平台,让用户基础和数据变现不再是这个平台的主要焦点。

“我们知道,利用比特币,我们的平台就可以给个体赋能,远超过任何其它社交媒体或应用。”Petty说道。

“你知道,从本质上说,无论是电邮、聊天还是使用社交网络,你都是在创造信息。而其它公司会获取你的数据,想方设法以此牟利,而你一分钱都拿不到。”

而解决方案就是利用Bitcoin SV的独特能力,即无限扩容和保证低廉的交易成本,将社交媒体体验带到链上。用户支付少量费用(只需几美分)就可以发布内容;反过来,他们会从内容互动中获得收益。以点赞和分享为例,这也需要花几美分。用户还可以用BSV轻松支付,并为想与他们的内容进行互动的用户设定最低支付门槛——这被恰当地称为“喷子税”。

Petty说:“世界上一半左右的人都在使用社交媒体,也就是大概30亿人,所以这是个非常庞大的市场。很多人每天都花好几个小时玩社交媒体,却没获得任何回报,付出的时间和信息都毫无价值可言。”

“所以我们要重新给用户赋能,让他们切实创造价值并从中获益,并且进行信息交易,最后真正拥有和保有这些信息和价值。”
这不仅仅是让用户通过他们的社交媒体账户变现并获得他们创造和分享的内容的价值。由于数据为用户所有且存储在区块链上,用户在社交媒体上的内容不再受其所在平台的支配。

“如果Twetch破产了或者Twetch.com宕机了,用户仍然可以获取到他们的信息。如果你以后被社交媒体平台封禁,你只需到竞争平台那里登录,就可以拿到所有的数据。”Petty解释道。

“但现实情况并非如此。如果你被删号或者账号遗失,那可能你花了十年时间上传的YouTube视频就完全失去了意义。而我们正准备改变这一切。”

如今用户已经接受了Twetch提供的模式。尽管在传统营销或产品推广方面并没做什么,但在最近公开的统计中,Twetch的用户数已经超过20000人。从Twetch的角度来看,它的价值主张是对现有企业的一种升华,这足以吸引那些相信“没有最好,只有更好”的用户。

由Bitcoin SV提供支持

重构社交媒体的运营模式并不是在随便一条区块链上就能完成的:它必须建立在能够按需处理必要的吞吐量以及按需扩容的区块链上。在考察了各类可用产品后,Bitcoin SV是Twetch的唯一选择。

“起初我也试过其它加密货币,真正地钻研和了解过它们的实用范例,而Bitcoin SV的确让我眼前一亮。我注意到所有其它加密货币基本上都没意义,你可以在初始比特币协议上做到他们所宣传的所有事情。”Petty说道。

“Bitcoin SV是多年实验的逻辑结论,它实际上已经证明比特币做到了其它加密货币所宣称的一切。Bitcoin SV是切实可行的。”

Petty和他的团队(包括比特币协会美国大使Billy Rose在内)在Bitcoin SV上找到了归属感,之后只需一路向前,直到将梦寐以久的社交媒体解决方案变成现实。

“Twetch的这个想法已经有五年了,现在终于在Bitcoin SV上得以实现,原因就是Bitcoin SV拥有我们所需要的一切——能扩容,能进行微交易,能让你使用链上数据。这实际上可以解决互联网上需要解决的问题了。”Petty说道。

“而这也的确实现了给用户赋能。”

Josh Petty – Bitcoin Association Ambassador Profile: Germany

By Alex Speirs Published: November 12, 2020
Twetch Co-Founder, Josh Petty


Twetch co-founder and CEO Josh Petty has built a reputation for himself online with his guerrilla marketing efforts, but he’s hoping that it’s his growing business and the role it plays in developing the Bitcoin SV ecosystem, that leaves a lasting impression.

‘I guess you could say that I’m a serial entrepreneur – I’ve spent roughly the last ten years of my life building software applications and I’m currently working on building with Bitcoin SV,’ Petty explains.

‘My main focus at the moment is Twetch, which is an application interface to Bitcoin. Users can post their information, own their data and profit from that content.’

But if Twetch is where Josh Petty is today: how did he get into Bitcoin and why did he end up picking the near-ubiquitous social media giants as one his first targets?

‘I originally started out in university making websites. I learned how to make WordPress websites – really simple stuff – and then, over time, graduated into software development,’ he says.

‘Along that career path, I had learned about Bitcoin and started to imagine a world where applications could utilise Bitcoin – initially as money, then later, as an actual place for data storage.’

Like any self-described serial entrepreneur, Petty is interested in how novel technologies can provide solutions to present problems. Though he discovered Bitcoin by accident, it didn’t take long for him to see its potential and to begin thinking of ways that it could be used.

‘I learned about Bitcoin at a college party actually, and I didn’t really know what it was – it took me a day or two of just doing some basic research,’ says Petty.

‘But it totally caught my eye, I was totally into it after I thought about it. I thought that there was such a big use case for it – even not knowing a lot about payment technologies or even the internet at the time, I immediately recognised the potential of Bitcoin.’

Empowering the Individual with Twetch

With a firm grasp on the potential utility of Bitcoin, Petty had an idea of how it could be used as a tool to disrupt the social media status quo, establishing a new platform where the userbase and the monetisation of their data aren’t the primary focus.

‘We knew that using Bitcoin, we could start to empower the individual more than any other social media or any other application,’ says Petty.

‘You know that that you’re essentially, whether it’s email or chat or using social networks, you’re creating information. And these other companies are getting your data and they’re selling it one way or the other. You don’t see anything in return.’

The solution was to harness Bitcoin SV’s unique capabilities – infinitely scalable capacity and assured low transaction costs – to move the social media experience on-chain. Users pay small amounts of money – matters of cents – to post content; in turn, they are rewarded from interactions with the posts – likes () and shares () for example, which also cost a few cents to make. Users can also easily pay each another in BSV, as well as set minimum payment thresholds for users wanting to interact with their content – appropriately dubbed a ‘troll tax’.

‘There’s about half the world that uses social media – 3 billion people roughly – so it’s a very large category, many people are spending many hours of their day using this and seeing nothing in return – there’s no value of their time or information,’ says Petty.

‘We are going to put that power back into the user and we’re going to allow them to actually create value and earn from it and trade that in and actually be able to own that and keep that.’

And it isn’t just about allowing users to monetise and receive value for the content they are creating and sharing via their social media account. Because the data is owned by users and stored on the blockchain, the contents of their social media page no longer live and die by the mercy of the platform it’s used on.

‘If Twetch fails or Twetch.com goes down, the user still can get their information. If you get banned from a social media platform in the future, you’re just going to go to a competitor and log in and take all your data with you,’ explains Petty.

‘Currently, that’s not the case. If you get removed or you lose your account, you may have spent ten years building YouTube videos and they’re completely lost. We’re changing all of that.’

So far, users have bought into the model offered by Twetch. At last public count, Twetch had topped 20,000 users, despite doing very little in the way of traditional marketing or product evangelising. From Twetch’s perspective, the value proposition is such an improvement over incumbents that it is enough to attract those who know there must be something better out there.

Powered by Bitcoin SV

Re-envisioning the social media operating model could not have been done on any blockchain: it had to be built on one that could handle the necessary throughput and scale as required. After considering the different offerings available, Bitcoin SV was the only choice for Twetch.

‘I started experimenting with other cryptocurrencies and understanding the use case, really studying it, and Bitcoin SV really caught my attention. I had realised that all the other cryptocurrencies – they basically don’t make sense. You could just do everything they say they could do actually on the original Bitcoin protocol,’ says Petty.

’Bitcoin SV was the logical conclusion to many years’ worth of experimenting and it proves, that actually, Bitcoin does everything that all these other cryptocurrencies say that they want to do. It actually works.

Once Petty and his team – including fellow Bitcoin Association Ambassador Billy Rose – found a home with Bitcoin SV, it was a then a straight line to bringing the social media solution long-imagined to life.

‘With Twetch, this is a five-year-old idea finally being brought to life on Bitcoin SV because it does everything that we need – it does scale, it has microtransactions, you can use the data on-chain, you can actually solve the problems that need to be solved on the Internet,’ says Petty.

‘And that’s really giving users the power.’