NFT艺术创作

Greg Hall 460 x 488
By Greg Hall Published: 9月 21, 2021
NFT3

提到非同质化通证(NFT)艺术,总是与钱有关:这件NFT艺术作品在拍卖会上售价十万美元,或是那件作品卖了6900万美元。

但NFT艺术远不止一个通证能卖多少钱这么简单。对很多艺术家来说,这是创作媒介的重塑,能利用新兴科技,更好地反映出基于数据的数码世界的真实情况。

比特币协会采访了两位通过BullishArt在BSV区块链上发表艺术项目的艺术家——Roma Soida和Francesco Buonfino,了解他们如何看待NFT浪潮,以及他们认为这股浪潮对艺术、艺术家和鉴赏家有怎样的冲击力。

艺术家简介Roma Soida

Instagram

BullishArt简介

Roma
 

Roma Soida是一位常驻俄罗斯的跨领域艺术家,最近在BSV区块链上创作了基于NFT的“火柴盒”系列艺术作品。

 

谈谈你自己你的背景以及你艺术家之路

最初阶段,我的作品主要是稚拙艺术(局外人的艺术),有一些独立于机构的项目。我来自西伯利亚地区的克拉斯诺亚尔斯克市,对我来说,创作就是保留自己特点的一种方式。在根据自己知道的神话故事构建世界时,我会想起童年回忆,甚至还有我想像出来的古代画面。从科学方法的角度来看,我借助的是文化研究的精神分析方法。

 

你如何概括自己的艺术

我的作品有许多无意识的投射、探讨了内心世界的神秘主义,充满了来自潜意识深处的洞见。我完成了大量不同的作品,虽然可以使用的工具很有限,这种方法的规则就是“即兴”地表达自我。

因为只有少量精心挑选的工具和材料,我创作的非盈利项目和平面艺术系列,几乎都是第二自我ADIOS AMOR的体现。

原始的艺术体验主要是存在主义的体验,不可能通过“艺术定律”体验到。神秘主义反对科学所证明的定律和对真理的逐渐掌握,原始艺术反对以考上某个特定专业院校为前提的传统艺术。

2018年,我的画作《每颗心都在寻找爱》获得Untitled Prize奖“艺术家生活”版块的主要奖项(https://www.romasoida.com/untitled)。奖励是我可以在英国艺术和设计高等学校当代艺术系学习两年。

我目前所处的阶段,是正在对当代艺术领域形成一套全新的看法和相应技能,与此同时不失去自己的特点。当今的关键研究方法,还有研究近现代艺术涉及到的种种问题,带来很多评估文化环境的新方法和新标准。很荣幸可以有机会从经验的角度出发,评估独立艺术与机构艺术创作项目的差别。我在自己的作品中探讨了这种差别,像是反对派来到了“白领假期”,我逐渐陶冶了自己。

 

火柴盒项目是如何出现的你能否描述一下项目的愿景

我刚才提到过,我受到了流行艺术和媒体文化的启发,很巧的是我正好有一盒火柴,它变成了我们每天都会用到的可口可乐罐的相似物(我们有个烤炉)。这是我想把自己与其他艺术家区分开来的自我表达之一。此外,它成了一种名片——任何情况下都可以用到的画出来的一盒火柴,碰到一个人我就会送给他或是留在酒店里。这种数码系列作品体现了我的背景,同时也过渡到一种全新的绘画水平。

艺术家简介Francesco Buonfino

Instagram

BullishArt 简介

Alphabet
 

谈谈你自己你的背景以及你艺术家之路

我1989年出生于贝内文托,现居米兰,很小的时候和父母搬到那里。

我在孩童时期就接触了艺术,我母亲是雕刻家,我叔叔是画廊老板,因此我一直处于作品、展出和艺术家当中,耳濡目染,受益匪浅。

我上了艺术高中,但强烈感受到自己艺术表达的不完整性,所以逐渐从简单的涂鸦纸发展到墙上涂鸦,成了一名涂鸦艺术家。

 

你如何概括自己的艺术

2008年我不再进行涂鸦艺术,因为我认为没有创新了。我开始在油画布上尝试各种不同技术,包括丙烯酸涂料和喷漆。

我继续进行研究,投身于纯粹的模拟插图,运用墨水、水彩和铅笔,加入许多复杂的线条。但随着时间推移,我越来越觉得要综合、简化我的语言。从这方面来看,数码绘图大有帮助,仅用几何图形就表现出我想象中的世界,结合到一起,我就可以用我的方式让大家看到整个世界和周遭的事物。不过,在数码绘图中,我喜欢用不同的技术支持来激发、孕育、实现屏幕上的东西。最近几个月我一直在用软件创作浅浮雕,并让木头和其他材料活灵活现起来。

 

《有生命的字母表》项目是如何诞生的你能否描述一下项目的愿景

《有生命的字母表》诞生的原因是我想玩一玩字母,就和我玩涂鸦一样,源于表达的需求。我想要采用每个人都能理解的方式,比如字母表或者单个字母,你的名字很可能由这些字母组成。字母呈现出孩童般的形状,我把自己想像成一个孩子,每天上学,但不喜欢字母的形状,所以用自己的想象力让字母变形了,并创造出一个新世界与同学共享。

 

技术型艺术

俄罗斯艺术家Roma Soida 说过:加密艺术并不是夸大宣传,他在BullishArt上创造了“火柴盒”系列NFT艺术品。

“这肯定是一股改变既定世界艺术的潮流,它将会持续下去。”

从数字上来看是大势所趋了。根据NFT追踪网站nonfungible.com的报道,2021年第一季度,NFT市场价值超过20亿美元,其中NFT艺术占了将近一半。MarkeWatch 九月份的报道称,最大的NFT市场OpenSea八月份的交易量是七月份的十倍。

NFT艺术领域的新手(或门外汉)迟早会提出这样的问题:为什么用独特的数字通证绑定艺术品如此重要?常见的答案是这么做可以让人们安全地拥有、评估、购买、售卖、交换艺术品,而不用担心作品出处或数字世界中的无限可复制性。

谈到NFT,人们总是会质疑艺术和价值之间的关系。数码NFT艺术品可以卖到数百万美元,但与传统艺术真的有可比性吗?传统艺术越多,买家大概就会更容易接受实体的艺术作品,而数码艺术只不过是若干字节的数据,由JPEG图或其他类型的图像文件构成,可以无限复制。基于这种思路,人们买卖的到底是什么价值?

Soida 表示:“除了凝视一个物理实体带来的视觉欢愉,一切艺术的价值几乎都在于其社会建构。”

“收藏家购买了Kroons的金属雕像“兔子”,他所购买的是艺术家的生活、想法、流行性和成就。从这个角度来看,加密艺术完美体现出艺术品和物理实体的分离。这是对所有权概念进行的一种纯粹概念抽象。加密艺术有一条铁律——你买到的一切都是独一无二的。艺术家创造了唯一的通证,你把它买下来,就意味着你买到了独家所有权。

Soida提到的Jeff Kroons的“兔子”雕塑是很合适的例子。这个系列创作于1986年,就是三只毫无特色的不到一米高的不锈钢兔子雕塑,其中一件在2019年卖到了9110万美元。购买者只是买到价值将近一亿美元的不锈钢吗?答案显然是否定的。

这个答案会因为这只兔子与系列中的其他雕塑作品几乎一样而改变吗?

 

Roma Soida“火柴盒”系列的部分作品

 

作为艺术的通证

Soida 表示:“当然了,用一个算法创作作品,后续的销售、体力劳动的迁移、无作者、无版权等等都会存在一些伦理问题。”

“不过这些问题存在于现代社会的各个领域,自然会间接反映在加密艺术的环境中。”

你想想每次当有破纪录的NFT艺术品拍卖、艺术家赚了数百万美元时人们普遍的反应,就会发现Soida所言非虚。批评的声音常常是针对价格的:一个指向数字艺术作品的通证怎么可能值这么多钱?你看看关于Koons和他作品价格的拉锯战,就可以发现早在NFT出现之前,更加传统的艺术就已经开始受到这样的诟病了。

恰恰相反,区块链艺术所具有的差异性增强了形式而非削弱了形式。人人可用的互联网和一系列不同的数码工具意味着艺术创作的门槛比以往更低,而且对于潜在艺术家和经验丰富的艺术家来说,他们可使用的方法也呈指数级增长。

Soida解释道:“区块链技术有能力物化和监管很多以前难以记录下来的法律程序。”

“似乎艺术世界别无选择,只能创造出现实世界的数码模拟,因为有创意的方法和参与者正在不断涌现,每个人都想发声,留下印记,当然了,也要从中获利。”

“因此,这改变了表达形式、沟通形式,但交互的原理还是一样的。只是有了新工具之后发展过快了:策展、出售、收藏、评估、推广、法律服务、伦理框架、存档、存储等等。”

然而,尽管有很多方式让NFT技术服务于艺术和艺术家,但通证化艺术的主流对话依然停留在价格上。

Soida表示:“从摄影师和雕刻家开始售卖作品那时起,艺术世界就一直在发生同样的事。”

“亲笔签名的限定版作品比工业规模量产的作品要贵得多:复制数量越少,价格越高。”

即使站在Soida的角度,我们也可以理解,执着于艺术品的价格会让艺术家很沮丧。但还有别的考虑,不仅是NFT可以在市场上卖多少钱,还有要用什么区块链、铸造多少个版本,这些都是艺术创作的过程之一。这是否意味着它们都与艺术密不可分?

意大利艺术家Francesco Buonfino 表示:“在这个问题上,许多艺术家意见不一,有人认为这是完全的创新,也有人不相信这一点。”

“铸造的过程当然涉及到版本的选择,还有系列作品的发展。我喜欢系列作品,让画作具有连续性,并在作品背后创造一个故事。我不喜欢单独一件作品放在那儿,因为他们没什么意义或只有经验上的单一含义。”

“每个人应该可以自由表达自我,同样的,可以自由地欣赏艺术家的作品,有机会收藏某些作品,而不拘泥于其货币价值。”

以Buonfino的系列作品《有生命的字母表》为例,该系列包含了对应英文字母表的26幅艺术作品,还有一幅包含了所有字母的索引图。每个字母有50个版本,而索引图有300个版本。拥有全部字母的人有资格申请BARTsv奖励,BARTsv是BullilshArt自己的通证,可在BullishArt生态系统中使用,进行艺术赞助或艺术家投资。

再看看最近破纪录的由加拿大艺术家Mad Dog Jones创作的“复制者NFT”,每件艺术作品每28天会自我复制,创造出与初代作品相关的七代作品,“宗谱”的所有权随原型作品的每次售卖而转移。然而,像打印机一样,每次复制都有可能“卡纸”,导致复制失败。“复制者”最终卖了410万美元。

这样的创新离不开创作媒介。

 

Francesco Buonfino的“瓷器人”

 

 

NFTBSV 以及 BullishArt

想创造NFT艺术作品的艺术家都会面临平台的选择问题。

Soida和Buonfino都选择在BullishArt上发表NFT系列作品,这是一个精选的NFT艺术平台。BullishArt上的艺术家可以自由选择在某个区块链上创造自己的NFT,平台上也有很多来自不同区块链的NFT,很少有平台是这么做的。Soida的“火柴盒”系列和Francesco的“有生命的字母表”系列都创作于BSV区块链。

Buonfino 表示:“我与BullishArt一起进入了NFT领域,他们是一个积极向上且很有吸引力的团队,我们从开始到现在都合作得很愉快。”

“他们花了大量时间,为我们提供不同的区块链选择。和其他项目不同,BullishArt真正关心艺术家的利益,并提供各种选择。BSV是最新的一种选择,把NFT百分百上链的这种做法让我印象十分深刻。”

Soida说道:“我以前没注意过BSV,但BullishArt宣布了这一最新型的NFT解决方案,我很快发现BSV的NFT可以百分百上链。这非常有趣,然后我进一步了解到了BSV在扩容、交易便捷性方面的优势。”

NFT Artistry

By Greg Hall Published: September 21, 2021
NFT3

When non-fungible token (NFT) art is brought up, it’s usually in the context of money: this piece of NFT art sold for $100,000 at auction, or that one over there sold for $69 million.

But NFT art is about so much more than how much you can sell a token for. For many artists, it’s the reshaping of a medium to take advantage of emerging technology and better reflect the realities of a data-based digital world.

Bitcoin Association speaks to two artists with art projects published on the BSV blockchain via BullishArt – Roma Soida and Francesco Buonfino – about how they view the NFT wave and the impact they believe it has on art, artists and connoisseurs.

ARTIST PROFILE: ROMA SOIDA

Instagram

BullishArt profile

Roma
 

Roma Soida is a Russian-based interdisciplinary artist who recently created the Matches Box series of NFT-based art on the BSV blockchain.

 

Tell me about yourself, your background and your path to becoming an artist.

At the initial stages of my work, naive art (the art of outsiders) and projects independent of institutions appeared. I come from the Siberian city of Krasnoyasrk; for me, doing creative work was a means of preserving my own identity. When constructing my world based on my own individual mythology, I turned to childhood memories or even more archaic images that pop up in my imagination. As a scientific method, I relied on the psychoanalytic methodology of cultural research.

 

How would you describe your art generally?

Pictures consisted of casts of the unconscious, talking about the mysticism of the inner world, full of insights coming from the depths of the subconscious. I was able to accomplish a huge variety of tasks, but with a limited set of tools, and the rule of the method was to express myself with the help of “improvised means”.

With a limited set of fancifully selected tools and materials, almost all non-profit projects and graphic series that I created [were] on behalf of the alter ego ADIOS AMOR.

Artistic experience in primitives is primarily an existential experience and it is by no means experienced according to the laws of art. Mysticism opposes science with its proven laws and the gradual mastery of truth, and the primitive opposes conventional art, which presupposes the passage of a certain professional school.

In 2018, I won the main prize of the Untitled Prize “Artist’s Life” – with the painting [“Every Heart Seeking Affection”] (https: //www.romasoida. com / untitled). The prize was a two-year study at the British Higher School of Art and Design at the Department of Contemporary Art.

At the moment I am at the stage of forming a new set of beliefs and competencies in the field of contemporary art; I try not to lose my identity at the same time. Key research approaches of our time, as well as the range of problems of studying the art of modern times, contribute to the expansion of methods and criteria for assessing the cultural environment. I have been given a unique opportunity, from an empirical point of view, to assess the difference between independent and institutional approaches to the creation of art projects. I talk about this difference in my works, like a rebel who came to a white-collar holiday, I gradually cultivate myself.

 

How did the Matches Box project come about? Would you care to describe your vision for the project?

As I noted earlier, I was inspired by pop art and media culture, interbreeding with the fact that I had, in particular, a box of matches, which became an analogue of the can of Coca-Cola that we used every day (we had a gas oven). It was one of the aspects of self-expression that I wanted to differentiate myself from other artists. In addition, he became a kind of visiting card – a painted box of matches for all occasions, which I gave when I met a person or left in hotels. And this digital series is a kind of tribute to my background and at the same time a transition to a new pictorial plane.

ARTIST PROFILE: FRANCESCO BUONFINO

Instagram

BullishArt profile

Alphabet
 

Tell me about yourself, your background and your path to becoming an artist.

I was born in Benevento in 1989. I live in Milan where I moved when I was very young with my parents.

I approached art while still a child: my mother was a sculptor and my uncle a gallery owner, so I received a lot of input and stimuli being in the midst of creations, exhibitions and artists.

I attended art high school, but I experienced a great sense of incompleteness in my artistic expression, so slowly starting from simple scribbled sheets I moved on to the walls, becoming a graffiti artist.

 

How would you describe your art generally?

In 2008 I stopped [graffiti art] because I believed I had no more innovation. I started to paint with various techniques on canvas; acrylic paint but also spray.

Continuing my research, I dedicated myself to purely analogue illustration: ink, watercolour and pencils, diving into many complex lines. But the more time passes, the more I feel I have to synthesize, simplify my language. In this, the digital drawing has been a great help, coming to represent figures of my imaginary world only with geometric shapes that, put together, allow me to show you the world and what surrounds us in my way. From digital drawing, however, I love to bring out, give birth to, and materialize what is on the monitor on various supports. In recent months I have been creating low reliefs that arise from software and come to life on wood and other various materials.

 

How was the Living Alphabet project born? Would you like to describe your vision of the project?

Living Alphabet was born because I wanted to go back to playing with letters, as I did with graffiti. It arises from the need to express my forms with something that everyone can interface with, such as the alphabet or the single letter, with which to perhaps compose your name. They are childlike shapes, I put myself in the shoes of a child who goes to school but who doesn’t like the shapes of letters and so with his imagination he transforms them and creates a world to share with his classmates.

 

Technical artistry

‘Crypto art is more than hype,’ says Roma Soida, a Russian artist and creator of the Matches Boxes series of art NFTs on Bullish Art.

‘It is definitely a wave that is changing the established level of world art right now, and it is here to stay.’

By the numbers, it certainly seems that way. NFT tracker nonfungible.com reported that in Q1 2021, the NFT market was worth over $2 billion, with NFT art making up just under half of the total. MarketWatch reported in September that OpenSea, the largest NFT marketplace, experienced ten times the trading volume in August than in July.

Those newly initiated (or uninitiated) into the world of NFT art will sooner or later ask why tying a unique digital token to a piece of art is important. The common answer is that it allows people to securely own, value, purchase, sell and exchange art without having to worry about provenance or the endless duplicability of the digital world.

One reaction to NFT art is to question the relationship between art and value. Digital NFT art is being sold for millions and millions of dollars, but can that really be compared to traditional art? With more traditional art, the buyer is presumably receiving the physical art piece itself, but digital art is just bytes of data comprising a .JPEG or other image file which can then be copied ad infinitum. On that basis, what exactly of value is being bought and sold?

‘Apart from the visual pleasure of contemplating a physical object, almost all of the value of art is a kind of social construct,’ says Soida.

‘The collector buys the metal Koons’ Rabbit, what he buys belongs to the life, ideas, popularity and success of the artist. Crypto art, in this regard, is the ideal manifestation of the separation of a work of art from some kind of physical object. This is pure conceptual abstraction applied to the idea of ownership. Crypto art has an unconditional agreement that everything you buy is unique. An artist creates only one token, and by buying it, you are buying the exclusive right to call this work yours.’

Soida’s reference to Jeff Koons’ Rabbit sculpture is an apt one. Created in 1986, the series features three 3ft stainless steel sculptures of a feature-less rabbit, one of which was sold for $91.1 million as recently as 2019. Was the purchaser simply buying nearly $100 million worth of stainless steel? The answer to this is self-evidently no.

Is that answer changed by the fact that it is one in a series of identical sculptures?

 

Part of the Matches Box series by Roma Soida

 

Tokens as art

‘Of course, there are a number of ethical problems associated with the creation of works by an algorithm with the subsequent sale, the displacement of manual labour, the death of the author, copyright and much more,’ says Soida.

‘However, these problems exist in all areas of modern society and of course, they are also indirectly present in the crypto art environment.’

Soida’s words ring true when you consider the common reactions to each new record-breaking NFT art auction which earns millions of dollars for the artist. Critique often comes as a reaction to the price: how can a token pointing to a digital piece of art possible be worth so much money? You can read the back-and-forth over Koons and the price being paid for his work to see that these critiques have been applied to more traditional forms of art long before the arrival of NFTs.

On the contrary, the differences attributed to blockchain-based art are enhancing the form rather than reducing it. The internet and the vast array of digital tools available to almost anyone mean that the barriers to creating art are lower than ever, while the methods available to potential and experienced artists are increasing exponentially.

‘Blockchain technology has the ability to objectify and regulate many legal processes that were difficult to document before,’ explains Soida.

‘It seems to be that the art world had no other choice but to create a digital analogue of the art world, because the number of creative disciplines and participants has increased in a mega-volume, and everyone wants to speak out, leave a mark and, of course, get a profit from this.’

‘Accordingly, this changes the form of representation, the communication – but the mechanics of interaction remain the same. It just gets overgrown with new tools: curation, sale, collecting, assessment, promotion, legal services, ethical framework archiving, storage and so on.’

However, despite the many ways that NFT technology can serve both art and artist, the mainstream conversation surrounding tokenised art still seems stuck on price.

‘The same story has been happening in the art world ever since photographers and engravers began selling their works,’ opines Soida.

‘Autographed limited edition prints cost incomparably more than those produced on an industrial scale: the small the number of copies, the higher the cost.’

Even in light of Soida’s position, it would be understandable that too close a fixation on art prices might frustrate artists, but these ancillary considerations – not just how much an NFT might go for on the marketplace but which blockchain to use and how many editions to mint – are also a part of the artistic process. Does that mean they’re also an inextricable part of the art?

‘On this, many artists are divided – there are those who think it is a total innovation and those who do not give it their own credit,’ says Italian artist Francesco Buonfino.

‘The minting process involves decisions on the number of editions certainly, but also on the development of a series. I like to work in series, give continuity to the drawings, create a story behind the work I do. I don’t like a single work put there like this, without a sense or with a single empirical meaning.’

‘Everybody must be free to express themselves, and vice versa to travel in the creations of an artist and have the opportunity to collect something that has value that is not only monetary.’

Take Buonfino’s Living Alphabet series, for instance, which consists of 26 pieces of art representing each letter of the English Alphabet, as well as an index piece containing every letter. There are 50 editions available for each letter piece, and 300 for the index. But users who own the entire letter series also become eligible to apply for a reward of BART, BullishArt’s own token which can be used throughout the BullishArt ecosystem for things like art sponsorship and artist investment.

Or how about the recent, record-breaking REPLICATOR NFT by Canadian artist Mad Dog Jones. Each art piece replicates itself every 28 days, creating up to seven generations of artwork associated with the initial piece; ownership over the lineage transfers with each sale of the ancestor piece. However, like a printer, each replication has some chance to result in a ‘jam’ piece, which doesn’t replicate. REPLICATOR sold for $4.1 million.

Such innovations are inextricable from their medium.

 

China man by Francesco Buonfino

 

 

NFTs, BSV and BullishArt

One of the choices faced by artists wanting to create NFT-based art is which platform to use.

Both Soida and Buonfino launched their NFT series on BullishArt, a curated NFT art platform. Artists appearing on BullishArt choose which blockchain on which to mint their NFT, and the platform has NFTs minted on many blockchains – one of the few to do so. Both Soida’s Matches Box series and Francesco’s Living Alphabet series are minted on the BSV blockchain.

‘My journey into the world of NFTs is together with BullishArt, a really positive, engaging team with whom we had a great time from day one,’ says Buonfino.

‘They have spent a lot of time informing me and other artists about the different options between blockchains. Unlike other projects, BullishArt truly cares for the interests of artists and offers various options. BSV was the most recent offering and I was very impressed with the idea that NFTs are 100% on the blockchain.’

‘I was not aware of BSV, but the BullishArt team announced this new solution for NFTs and I soon learned that BSV NFTs are 100% on-chain,’ says Soida.

‘This was very interesting, then I learned more about the benefits of BSV related to scale, and the conveniences in transactions.’