活动报道:比特币协会第二届“BSV风险投资推介日”

post-event-report-bitcoin-associations-2nd-bsv-venture-pitch-day

在伦敦召开第五届创纪录的CoinGeek旗舰会议前夕,比特币协会举行了他们的第二届“BSV风险投资推介日”,当天,一组从比特币SV生态系统中精选的初创团队向一群经验丰富的科技投资者进行了演讲展示,吸引潜在的融资注入,以助推他们的事业起步。

目睹了六个月前刚在韩国首尔举办的首届推介日,前来参会的投资者们对本次活动抱有极高期待,他们从世界各地汇集奔赴伦敦,寻找下一个在比特币SV上构建的优秀创新项目。

比特币协会创始会长吉米·阮(Jimmy Nguyen)表示:“在首届推介日成功举办后,我们收到的申请数量大幅增加,同时BSV风险投资的多样性也显著提升。”

“此次我们收到了50份申请,比我们首届推介日翻了一倍。仅能邀请10支入围团队前往伦敦向投资者进行推介,这对我们的筛选小组来说并不容易。”

这10位入选团队都有15分钟向所有投资者进行集中展示的时间,随后还有10分钟的现场问答环节。这些提案来自不同的背景,从使用BSV区块链进行会展管理到个人数据管理等各类应用。

吉米评论道:“BSV风险投资的多样性表明,开发人员和企业家正迅速地认识到,比特币SV是唯一能够支持企业应用的区块链。”

“凭借杰出的数据容量、大规模扩容的能力,还有其他任何平台都无法达到的微交易支持水平,比特币SV是当之无愧的商用区块链。今天现场有各种类型的推介项目,都在寻求借助比特币真正的力量共同进步。能够见证比特币SV展现潜能,我欣喜万分。”

这些推介者不仅是在为吸引投资争取机会,也在为亮相2020年CoinkGeek伦敦会议的主舞台而努力,因为届时在现场超过800位观众中,有许多人士可以在一夜间改变这些团队的未来命运。

“推介日”上有四个团队令人瞩目:其中一个(Baemail)已入选伦敦会议日程,另外三个从“推介日”中脱颖而出。他们的背景和想法各不同,但他们绝对是值得投资者时间和金钱的风险投资对象:

Baemail

作为比特币SV社区的知名人物,达伦·凯伦施维勒(Darren Kellenschwiler)带来了构建于开放身份协议(Paymail)的商业驱动的邮件实施项目。

Baemail的首席执行官达伦·凯伦施维勒解释道:“Baemail是一款Paymail对Paymail的加密邮件系统,用户可通过此系统为信息增值。”

“我今天是为了推销收件箱经济的理念而来,这是针对世界上大量的电子邮件提出的解决方案。如今,每天发送的电子邮件约有3000亿封。我们想减少这个数量,让人们只用有意义的方式交流。我们需要经济学来解决这个问题,而Baemail就是经济学在电子邮件问题上的第一个应用。”

Baemail的工作原理是允许Paymail平台上的电子邮件发送者在其发送的邮件中附上一笔金额,然后在收件人的收件箱中,邮件将按金额高低降序排列。收件人在打开和阅读邮件时获得发件人支付的费用。

“我们现在正处于需要迅速提高发展速度的阶段。” 凯伦施维勒说道。

“在未来12个月内,我预计我们会与HandCash、RelayX和其他任何想与我们合作的Paymail钱包进行整合。这样做是为了确保我们的用户群体尽可能的普及广大。”

在凯伦施维勒看来,这个创意的精妙之处在于其简单性——但这一特点也是Baemail最大的风险:新兴的竞争对手。考虑到这一点,他想以明确的目标制胜,从投资者那里得到融资。

“这次投资将主要用于扩大团队规模,以提高发展速度。” 他解释道。

“今天在此交流帮我确定了未来五年的发展。在了解了投资者对当前模式和未来走向的看法后,我得到了有用的反馈,同时帮助我找出了目标推进Baemail而需要在当下完成的事情。”

Memento

杰瑞米·斯特里特(Jeremy Street)和丹尼尔·斯特里特(Daniel Street)兄弟无疑是本次“推介日”最长途跋涉的参与者,他们的产品Memento给投资者留下了深刻的印象,也在CoinGeek伦敦会议的主舞台上为自己赢得了宝贵一席。

“Memento带来的是无广告社交媒体体验。”Memento的联合创始人兼首席技术官杰瑞米·斯特里特解释道。

“很遗憾,目前在市面上例如Instagram之类的社交媒体中,不到1%的用户能够通过自己发布的内容获利——通常只能通过广告。使用该平台的其他所有人(包括最吸睛的照片和视频)都一无所获。我们想做的就是从(利润)等式中去除广告,把权利归还用户。”

Memento是一款类似Instagram风格的应用程序,通过微支付激励平台上的互动。用户不会收到广告,而是支付非常少的费用(由发布内容的用户赚取),与他人的帖子进行互动——无论是点赞还是评论。

Memento的联合创始人兼首席执行官丹尼尔·斯特里特解释说:“Memento的本质,就是要让世界上任何能够使用智能手机和互联网的人,从一开始就能够创造收入。”

“相比Instagram和Facebook通过用户赚走所有的钱,不如让用户开始反过来赚钱。”

斯特里特兄弟相信,与目前主宰全球社交媒体格局的互联网巨头较量绝非易事,但在适当资金的注入下,他们可以在年底前成为市场的链上强有力竞争者。

“我们规划了一份两年路线图,可以让我们全职投入到Memento。丹尼尔和我一直在做每周80小时的全职工作,所以只能在业余时间进行这个项目。”杰瑞米·斯特里特说。

“我希望能够全身心集中在Memento上,并尽快完成构建。我们知道想要打造的是什么;我们有工程师人脉;我们也了解熟知市场营销。我们只需要比别人更有效、更迅速地完成构建。”

Looter

作为一个土生土长的新西兰人,安格斯•亚当斯(Angus Adams)目前在伦敦nChain公司担任产品分析师,他演讲展示的背景故事可能是最有趣的,因为他代表的是无法亲自到伦敦向投资人推介的兄弟(同样也是该项目创始人)。

“实话说,我的兄弟本·亚当斯(Ben Adams)感到很遗憾!但因为我们一起丰满了这个商业创意,所以我对他希望实现的目标非常了解。”他解释说。

“我想介绍一下Looter,这是一款社交健身应用。该应用允许在平台上进行小额支付。而通过小额支付,您可以实现一些想法,例如鼓励你的朋友和家人出去跑步,来为慈善机构筹集资金,甚至可以投注比赛结果。”

通过一款类似Strava的实现工具,亚当斯认为Looter可以为一个已经流行的应用类型增加一个财务层,他们希望通过在充满大量同质产品的空间中建立一个竞争优势。

亚当斯说:“这个创意是我们俩同时想到的。我们俩都酷爱使用社交健身应用程序,而且我们认为,作为用户将户外跑步热情货币化的一种方式,整合小额支付后体验会更好。”

“现有用户达1.9亿,市场空间很大。当然也不乏竞争对手,但还没有人和我们的做法一样。”

除了围绕用户驱动下主动参与财务的主要功能外,Looter还为用户提供机会,将其跑步数据出售给感兴趣的第三方(例如,涉及健身和保险行业的第三方)来获得被动收入。像许多其他争取风险投资的团队一样,Looter现在也需要吸收投资来加快扩增。

“本(Ben)希望筹集20万英镑。他希望在四月份聘请专职的开发人员,并在用户体验和用户界面(UX/UI)设计领域获得一定帮助。”亚当斯说。

“明年年初,本(Ben)目前希望全面推出该产品。我认为,成功的必要条件是有100,000个活跃用户。而到明年年底,我们的目标是增加100,000个以上的用户。”

ActivitySV

随着个人数据的激增持续快速增长,一位经验丰富的中国企业家来到伦敦推介ActivitySV。这是一款链上应用程序,既可以促进用户在持有和转移数据方面获得更大控制权,又可以为人们货币化自己的数据提供便利。

“无论是目前还是将来,随着用户们对自身隐私的日益关注,我认为机会就在眼前。”ActivitySV的创始人林哲明解释说。

“由于法规的限制,公司因为众多阻碍而无法使用用户数据。(通过ActivitySV)我们提供了一种方式,让用户可以授权数据使用并从中获利。”

ActivitySV三管齐下的方法涵盖了存储、传送和货币化,体现了其基本原则,即用户应具有控制其数据的能力。林先生展示了利用Apple的HealthKit应用程序的用例,并暗示即将进行概念验证演示,他充满信心地表示其企业已为立即扩张做好准备。

“在接下来的12个月中,我们的重中之重是组建一个专攻该项目的团队。” 他说道。

“我们希望该项目可以在六个月内作为可行的演示程序在App Store商店上线,如此一来我们就能了解,年底前能够吸引多少用户。”

林哲明的独特之处在于,他正在寻找新的投资者加入现有的投资团队,为准投资者提供了更多的确定性和成熟度。他以清晰的路线图和稳盈利的计划进行自己的推介,这样的演讲展示给投资者留下了深刻的印象,并为他在CoinGeek伦敦会议的主舞台上争取到了亮相机会。

他说:“我们正在寻求投资,主要是为了扩充我们的团队并为这个项目添加人才。”

“我本人也是(ActivitySV)的投资者之一,我们已经组成了一个投资团队。希望通过今天的介绍,我们可以与现场参加“推介日”活动志同道合的朋友们一起加大对这个项目的投资。”

Post-event report: Bitcoin Association’s 2nd BSV Venture Pitch Day

post-event-report-bitcoin-associations-2nd-bsv-venture-pitch-day

Before the record-breaking fifth iteration of CoinGeek’s flagship conference in London, the Bitcoin Association held their second BSV Venture Pitch Day, where a selected group of start-ups from the Bitcoin SV ecosystem presented to a group of seasoned tech investors, pitching for a possible cash injection to help them take their businesses to the next level.

Held just six months on from the inaugural Pitch Day in Seoul, South Korea, expectations were high from the investors in attendance, who had travelled to London from all over the world in search of the next great innovation to be built on Bitcoin SV.

‘After the success of the first Pitch Day, there was a noticeable uptick both in the number of applications we received, as well as the diversity of the BSV ventures,’ says Jimmy Nguyen, Founding President of the Bitcoin Association.

‘We had 50 applicants this time – double the number from our 1st Pitch Day. That made it a tough job for our screening panel to narrow the field down to just ten ventures, who were invited to pitch in London to the investors.’

For the ten ventures who were selected to pitch, each were allotted 15 minutes to present to the room of assembled investors, followed by a ten-minute question and answer session from the floor. Those presenting came from a range of different backgrounds, with proposals encompassing everything from event management to personal data management using the BSV blockchain.

‘The diversity of BSV ventures emerging illustrates that developers and entrepreneurs are quickly understanding that the Bitcoin SV is the only blockchain capable of powering enterprise applications,’ says Nguyen.

‘With its greater data capacity, ability to massively scale, as well as facilitate microtransactions at levels previously unseen on any other platform, Bitcoin SV is the blockchain for business. It was fantastic to see the possibilities that Bitcoin SV presents, with a diverse range of pitches here today all seeking to harness the true power of Bitcoin.’

Those pitching were vying for the opportunity not just to attract investment, but also to present on the main stage at CoinGeek London 2020 – with an in-person audience of over 800 , many of whom have the ability to change the future of these ventures overnight.

Four ventures from Pitch Day presented on the main stage – one (Baemail) which had already been placed on the conference agenda, and an additional three ventures selected from Pitch Day.

They were divergent in their origins and ideas, but all confident that they had ventures worthy of the investors’ time and money:

Baemail

A well-known face in the Bitcoin SV community, Darren Kellenschwiler brought with him a commercially driven email implementation built on open identity protocol, Paymail.

‘Baemail is a Paymail-to-Paymail encrypted messaging system, where you can add value to the message,’ explains Darren Kellenschwiler, CEO of Baemail.

’I’m here today to sell the idea of inbox economics as the solution to there being way too many emails in the world. At the moment, there’s about 300 billion emails sent every day. We want to cut that down, so people are only communicating in a meaningful way. We need economics to solve that problem, and Baemail is the first application of economics to the email problem’

Baemail works by allowing the sender of an email on Paymail’s platform to append a monetary value to the message they send, which are then ordered in the receiver’s inbox by descending value. The receiver earns the fee paid by the sender when they open and read the message.

‘We’re at the stage now where we need to rapidly scale up the development speed,’ says Kellenschwiler.

‘Within 12 months, I see us integrating with HandCash, RelayX and any other Paymail wallets that want to work with us. We’ll do this to make sure that the userbase is as wide as possible.’

In Kellenschwiler’s eyes, the brilliance of his idea is borne out of its simplicity – a characteristic that also represented Baemail’s biggest risk: emerging competitors. With this in mind, he was seeking funding form the investors with a clear objective in mind.

‘The investment will predominantly go towards expanding the team in order to increase the speed of development,’ he says.

‘The conversations that I’ve had today have help me formulate what the next five years is going to look like. The feedback was fantastic in terms of getting to know how investors perceive the current model and where it was aiming, while helping me work out where I now need to aim to take the next steps with Baemail.’

Memento

Certainly winning the award for the longest commute to Pitch Day, brothers Jeremy and Daniel Street impressed the investors and earned a spot on the mainstage at CoinGeek London with their product, Memento.

‘Memento is an ad-free social media experience,’ explains Jeremy Street, co-founder and CTO of Memento.

‘Unfortunately, you have social media like Instagram at the moment, where less than 1 percent of users are able to monetise their content – typically through advertising. Everyone else that uses the platform – including some of the most amazing photos and videos – get nothing for it. What we want to do is remove the ads from the equation and bring the power back to the people.’

Packaged in an Instagram-esque app, Memento works by incentivising interactions on the platform through micropayments. Instead of being served with advertisements, users are charged a nominal fee – which is earned by the user who posted the content – to interact with others’ posts, be it liking or commenting.

‘Memento essentially allows anyone in the world that has access to a smartphone and the internet, to be able to generate revenue from day one,’ explains Daniel Street, co-founder and CEO of Memento.

‘Instead of Instagram and Facebook making all of this money from its users, how about the users start making some back?’

Taking on the internet behemoths which dominate the global social media landscape at present is no mean feat, and the Street brothers are confident that with an appropriate cash injection, they can bring an on-chain competitor to market by year’s end.

‘We have a two-year roadmap that would allow us to jump on Memento on a full-time basis. Daniel and I have been working 80-hour weeks at full-time jobs, getting this done in our spare time,’ says Jeremy Street.

‘I want us to be able to focus completely on Memento and build it as fast as possible. We know what we want to build; we know the engineers that we need; we know the marketing. We just need to build it effectively and quickly before anyone else.’

Looter

With perhaps the most interesting backstory to a presentation, Angus Adams, a New Zealand-native now working as a product analyst at nChain in London, presented to the investors on behalf of his brother – the founder – who was unable to make it to London.

‘[Brother Ben Adams] can be a bit of a pain to be honest! But we fleshed out this business idea together, so I had a pretty good background on what it was he wanted to achieve,’ he explains.

‘I presented Looter – a social fitness app. which allows for micropayments on the platform. With the micropayments, you are able to do things like incentivise your friends and family to go out running, raise money for charity by running, or even gamble on race outcomes.’

With a Strava-like implementation, Adams sees Looter as an opportunity to add a fiscal layer to an already popular genre, presenting a point of difference they hope will establish a competitive edge in a space filled with largely homogenous offerings.

‘The light bulb went on for both of us. We both use social fitness apps quite frequently and we thought that the experience would be better if we integrated micropayments, as a way for users to monetise their desire to go out and run,’ says Adams.

‘With 190 million existing users, the market is big. There’s definitely competitors too, but none who are doing what we’re doing.’

In addition to the headline features focused on user-driven, active financial engagement, Looter also offers their users the opportunity to earn a passive income by selling their running data to interested third parties – those involved in the fitness and insurance industries for example. Like many of the other ventures, they were seeking investment to enable an accelerated scaling up of Looter.

‘Ben’s looking at raising £200k. He’s looking to hire a full-time developer in April, as well as getting some help in the UX/UI space,’ says Adams

‘[Early] next year, Ben is looking at having a full launch of the product. I think for success, you’d want 100,000 users active. By the end of next year, the goal would be 100,000 plus users.’

ActivitySV

With the proliferation of personal data continuing to expand at a rapid-rate, an experienced entrepreneur from China came to London to pitch ActivitySV, an on-chain application that would facilitate both greater control for users when holding and moving data, as well as avenues for people to monetise their own data.

‘I think there is an opportunity here, as users become increasingly concerned with their privacy, now and in the future,’ explains Lin Zheming, founder of ActivitySV.

‘Because of regulation, there are a lot of barriers that prevent companies from being able to utilise a users’ data. [With ActivitySV] we can provide a way that data can be authorised for use by the users and earn a fee for doing so.’

ActivitySV’s three-pronged approach, covering storage, transmission and monetisation, is predicated on a fundamental principle that users should have the ability to control their data.  Presenting a use case utilising Apple’s HealthKit app and signalling that a proof-of-concept demonstration was on the horizon, Zheming expressed confidence that his venture is ready for immediate expansion.

‘Over the next twelve months, our priority is to build up a team that is dedicated to working only on this project – that’s the priority,’ he says.

‘We are hoping to have the project online as a working demo on the App Store within six months, then it will be a case of seeing just how many users we are able to obtain by the end of the year.’

Zheming’s pitch was unique in that he was seeking investors to join an existing investment group, offering an added layer of certainty and maturity for prospective funders. He pitched with a firm roadmap and plan for profit in place, a presentation that impressed the investors and earned him a place on the mainstage at CoinGeek London.

‘We are seeking investment, mainly to increase our manpower and improve our access to talent as we make this work,’ he says.

‘Personally, I am an investor [in ActivitySV] and we have an investment group already put together. We are hoping that after today, we can further invest in this project together with some of those here at the Pitch Day.’