回顾:Bitcoin SV线上会议——聚焦亚太

Greg Hall 460 x 488
By Greg Hall Published: 4月 27, 2021
BitcoinSV Virtual Meetup: Asia-Pacific

本月早些时候,比特币协会举办了亚太地区的线上会议,邀请Bitcoin SV社区对该地区涌现出的伟大企业和项目进行了线上展示。

本次会议由比特币协会的东南亚经理Ella Qiang主持,她邀请到了来自Bitcoin SV生态系统内的一些嘉宾。

 

周全 – 比特币协会技术推广专家

首先登场的是比特币协会的首位中国技术推广专家周全,他分享了一些中国国内正在使用Bitcoin SV开发的项目的最新进展,这些项目令人兴奋而且很重要,但在国外却不太知名。其中包括Mempool的比特币即服务(BaaS)和Badge项目。他还谈到了RUN协议,以及对于RelayX将该协议作为他们钱包的通证协议的看法。最后,他谈到了小聪游戏最近推出的感应合约(Sensible Contract),其中包含了一系列的开发工具和资源,被称为“务实的比特币开发者”所“缺失的部分”。

 

林哲明 – Mempool创始人兼首席执行官

Mempool的创始人兼首席执行官林哲明随后发表了讲话。Mempool不仅是Bitcoin SV社区内最知名的交易处理商之一,同时也是应用基础设施的重要提供商,这也让林哲明能够站在一个独特的视角上来评估Bitcoin SV当下的态势。

他表示:“我们需要关注那些以前没有听说过比特币的用户,如何更好地为他们服务?如何让Bitcoin SV对那些聚焦于服务大众的开发者更加友好?”

这就是Mempool的BaaS系统的由来(B代表比特币,而不是区块链)。该服务提供了一个可对比特币账本进行读写的API,从而让应用开发者能够在控制交易中所创造的数据的同时,不再需要有费率、确认时间和其它技术方面的担心。

“这样一来,我们只需要说服开发者(而不是用户)去使用账本。这就是Mempool提供的BaaS服务背后的逻辑。”林哲明说道,“我们仍然需要去将比特币的工作原理传授给大家,还要告诉他们我们如何去实现比许可型区块链或私有区块链更多的东西,但是大多数人并没有特别在意自己应用中的公共区块链的本质。”

 

Ian Lee – Merkle Science副总监

Merkle Science是一家总部位于新加坡的区块链分析公司,主要负责提供交易监控和取证解决方案。其副总监Ian Lee代表该公司参加了会议。他首先宣布了一则令人振奋的消息:对Bitcoin SV进行覆盖的软启动已成功,这意味着Merkle Science平台现在已经可用于监控Bitcoin SV交易,以标记潜在的洗钱风险。

Lee谈到了Merkle Science的产品套件与竞品之间的差异。他表示:作为提供这项服务的新晋公司,他们注意到,许多公司会使用已被标记为与犯罪活动有关的大型钱包的地址数据库来进行风险标记。

“但就像正在聆听这场会议的所有业内人士都可能意识到的那样,加密货币的问题在于:我们可以轻松地创建新的钱包地址。”李说道,“所以,依靠数据库来标记风险是有局限性的——如果这些犯罪分子创建了新的钱包,那么原有的这些工具很可能无法检测到。我们想要解决的是:有没有一种方法可以检测到传统数据库检测不到的风险?”

为此,他们研究了传统银行在交易监控上的成功经验(他们不具备区块链所能提供的这种透明度)。

“他们的方法是设计一套基于行为的规则,用于检测可疑交易。我们是行业内首批将这种数据库方法与行为规则引擎相结合的公司之一,这种行为规则引擎可以完全基于行为来主动监视和标记可疑交易。”

Lee还利用他在合规方面的专业知识稍微讲解了一下“Travel Rule”规则。FATF在2019年引入了该规则,要求两个互相交易的不同资产服务提供商必须交换发送方和接收方身份信息。

他解释道:“该行业所面临的最大问题之一在于现在并没有明确的指导来说明应由谁以及如何提供这些Travel Rule的解决方案,这是与SWIFT不同的地方。这导致了众多不同的供应商的出现,而且并非所有这些供应商都能用相同的语言进行交流。如果两家公司都使用各自的供应商,会发生什么情况呢?”

另一个大问题是Travel Rule要求各国通过立法以满足这些要求。如果在执行不同规则的两个国家之间发生了交易,或者一个国家执行了该规则而一个国家没有,将会发生什么呢?根据Travel Rule,这些交易将无法进行。

Lee说:“这可能对该行业造成非常不利的影响,因为这基本上是将各国进行孤立,直到所有国家都加入。鉴于区块链试图去推动去中心化的生态系统,这与区块链的初衷就完全相悖了。”

 

George Siosi Samuels – Faiā董事总经理,Brendan Lee – Elas Digital创始人

George Siosi Samuels和Brendan Lee接下来谈到了图瓦卢国家数字账本项目,该项目正在Bitcoin SV上进行构建。

Lee上来先对这个项目进行了一下概要介绍:“想要描述这个项目,最好的方式就是先说清楚,我们来这里不是为了解构一切、替换一切、更新一切或是改变既有的一切。并不是这样的。我们真正要做的是利用现有的法律、程序和文件来管理图瓦卢的社会,我们要改变的是用于记录和交换这些文件的媒介。”

该项目希望在不强制进行大规模改变的情况下为图瓦卢提供变革性的价值。其带来的结果将是建立一个更加强大的系统——但这仍是每个政府所需要的系统,它可以为国家带来特定的价值。Lee专门举了一个例子:这个岛屿国家没有一个地方的海拔超过4米。如果将政府的流程和系统永久性地存储在区块链上,这便为图瓦卢打开了一扇新的大门,他们可以借此来应对海平面上升的风险。Lee说,从务实的角度看,在最坏的情况下,该项目将使图瓦卢的人民搬迁到其它地方变得更加实际。

Samuels则表示:“长期以来,比特币和数字货币生态系统一直在关注的都只是代币的价格和支付方面的情况。但我们正朝着比特币的数据功能迈进,这是最令人兴奋的事情。从这个角度来看(而非消费者的角度),比特币还有无限的潜能。”

 

刘成奇 – Relayx创始人

最后,刘成奇也加入了会议,他谈到了RelayX DEX(第一个在Bitcoin SV上运行的去中心化交易所)。

他深入介绍了RelayX和DEX的构建过程以及他们从中学到的经验。当人们听到关于交易所(现阶段,特别是有关去中心化交易所)的话题时,我们往往难以跳出原有的思维框架。因此,刘成奇作为一个刚刚尝试过打造创新型交易所的人,也是值得花时间听听他高屋建瓴的观点的。

刘成奇感兴趣的另一个领域是通证化。RelayX的去中心化交易所向其用户发行了REX1通证,用以实施忠诚度计划。每个通证背后均由BSV支持,可以进行兑换。这一举措同样也需要深思熟虑。

刘成奇表示:“我一直认为不可能成功包装一个毫无用处的产品。你可以制定最佳的激励计划——每周点击一次便可获得X个通证——这唯一的作用就是美化你的数字。我认为,如果一个公司,没有基本的用户价值,就不应该部署通证之类的东西来让数字变得好看,这只会挤压短期市场。你只是想用通证来支持某些你无法清晰定位的东西。”

这就是为什么让通证可兑换如此重要。

“加密货币世界中所有的传统空投项目,有很多都没有人认领。这些都是实际的通证,但是它们都没了。当我们空投REX1时,REX1最大的价值就在于其可兑换性上。如果你不进行兑换,那么它所等值的BSV将仍然在那。”

刘成奇非常愿意公开自己的经验,听众的问题涵盖了众多有趣的方面,因此如果你不直接听他的讲话,可就错过了很多。点击视频,便不会错过任何内容。

 

Bitcoin SV线上会议

点击链接,观看比特币协会亚太地区线上会议:

BSV Virtual Meetup – Asia-Pacific – April 2021

By Greg Hall Published: April 27, 2021
BitcoinSV Virtual Meetup: Asia-Pacific

Bitcoin Association’s Virtual Meetup series came to the Asia-Pacific region earlier this month, inviting the Bitcoin SV community for an online showcase of the great businesses and projects emerging from the area.

The meetup was chaired by our own Ella Qiang, regional manager for Southeast Asia at Bitcoin Association, who welcomed a selection of guests from across the Bitcoin SV ecosystem.

 

Aaron Zhou – technical outreach specialist, Bitcoin Association

First up was Aaron Zhou, Bitcoin Association’s first China-based technical outreach specialist, who shared an update on the exciting projects being developed in China using Bitcoin SV, including those which are important, yet lesser-known outside of the country. These include the Mempool Bitcoin-as-a-Service (BaaS) and Badge projects. He also talked about the RUN protocol and RelayX’s adoption of it as their wallet’s token protocol. Lastly, he talked about SatoPlay’s recently launched Sensible Contract, which comprises a collection of developer tools and resources that is billed as the ‘missing piece’ for the ‘pragmatic Bitcoin developer’.

 

Lin Zheming – founder and CEO, Mempool

Mempool founder and CEO Zheming Lin spoke next. Not only is Mempool one of Bitcoin SV’s best-known transaction processing operations, but it is also a key provider of application infrastructure, giving Lin a unique vantage point from which to assess the contemporary landscape for Bitcoin SV.

‘We need to focus on those users that have not heard about Bitcoin before: how to serve them better, how to make the Bitcoin SV blockchain more friendly to developers that are focusing on normal people,’ Lin said.

This is where Mempool’s BaaS system – the B standing for Bitcoin rather than Blockchain – comes in. The service provides a read and write API for the Bitcoin ledger to application developers without the need to get weighed down by things like fee rates, confirmation times and other technical considerations, while at the same time still allowing them to control the data created in the transactions.

‘In that way, we will only need to convince the developers – not the users – to use the ledger. That is what’s behind the BaaS service provided by Mempool,’ Lin said.

‘We will still need to educate people about how Bitcoin works and how we can achieve much more than permissioned or private blockchains, but most of them are not very concerned about or worried about the public blockchain’s nature in their applications.’

 

Ian Lee – associate director, Merkle Science

Merkle Science, the Singapore-based blockchain analytics company providing transaction monitoring and forensic solutions, was also on hand. The company was represented by associate director Ian Lee, who began by making an exciting announcement: the soft launch of coverage for Bitcoin SV, meaning that the Merkle Science platform can now be used to monitor Bitcoin SV transactions to flag potential money laundering risks.

Lee talked about the differences between the Merkle Science product suite and those offered by their competitors. As one of the newer players offering these services, he said they noticed that many companies would flag risk using large databases of wallet addresses which had been flagged as being associated with criminal activity.

‘The problem is, as anybody who is listening in this space is probably aware, the thing about cryptocurrency is that we can easily create new wallet addresses,’ Lee said.

‘Relying on a database to flag risk has limitations – if these criminals create new wallets, chances are that none of these tools are going to be able to detect that. We wanted to solve: is there a way to detect risk which moves beyond a traditional database?’

They looked at how traditional banks found success in transaction monitoring without access to the same visibility blockchain provides.

‘The way they do it is to design behaviour-based rules that detect suspicious transactions. We’re one of the first players in the space which combines this database approach with a behavioural rule engine that can actively monitor and flag suspicious transactions based purely on their behaviour.’

Lee also used his compliance expertise to provide a primer on the travel rule. Introduced by FATF in 2019, the rule requires that two different asset service providers transacting with one another must exchange the information as to the identities of the sender and the receiver.

‘One of the biggest problems this has had for the industry is that unlike SWIFT, there hasn’t been much guidance as to who and how these travel rule solutions should be created,’ he said.

‘That has led to dozens of different providers popping up and not all of these may communicate in the same language. What happens if two businesses are using separate providers?’

Another big issue is that the travel rule requires countries to adopt these requirements via law. What happens if transactions are happening between two countries with different implementations of the rule, or if one country has implemented the rule and one has not? Under the travel rule, those transactions can’t take place.

‘This can be very detrimental to the industry because it’s basically siloing countries off until all come on board. Given that blockchain is trying to promote decentralised ecosystems, that goes against the point of blockchain in the first place.’

 

George Siosi Samuels – managing director, Faiā and Brendan Lee – founder, Elas Digital

George Siosi Samuels and Brendan Lee joined next to speak about the Tuvalu national digital ledger project, which is being built on Bitcoin SV.

Lee opened by summarising the project:

‘The best way to characterise the project is really to make it clear that we’re not coming in to rip, tear, replace, make everything new and change the way everything happens. No. What we’re really doing is taking the existing laws and processes and documents that we use to manage society in Tuvalu and changing the media we use to record and exchange those documents.’

The project hopes to deliver transformative value to Tuvalu without forcing wholesale change. What should result is a system that is much more robust – something which is still needed by every government – but which can also deliver value specific to the country. Lee gives one example in particular: nowhere in the island nation is more than 4m above sea level. Having the processes and systems of government stored permanently on the blockchain opens doors for Tuvalu down the line as they grapple with the risks posed by rising sea levels. From a pragmatic perspective, in a worst-case scenario said Lee, the project would enable the people of Tuvalu to relocate elsewhere far more practically than otherwise might have been possible.

‘One of the things that is most exciting about this is that for a long time, the Bitcoin and digital currency ecosystems were just looking at the price of the tokens and the payment aspect,’ said Samuels.

‘We’re moving more toward the data functionality of Bitcoin, what it can truly do from that standpoint – and not just from a consumer perspective.’

 

Jack Liu – founder, RelayX

Finally, Jack Liu joined to talk attendees through the RelayX DEX, the first working decentralised exchange on Bitcoin SV.

He spoke in-depth about RelayX and the process of building the DEX, including the lessons they learned in doing so. When one hears talk about exchanges (and at this point, even decentralised exchanges), we tend to all think in the same terms, so hearing Liu speak in high-level terms about this topic as someone who has just gone through trying to build (and innovate with) an exchange is well worth the time.

Another area Liu is interested in is tokenisation. RelayX’s decentralised exchange issued REX1 tokens to their users to achieve a loyalty program, with each token being backed by BSV, which can be redeemed. This move, too, required careful consideration.

‘I always think that you can’t dress up a pig. You can have the best incentive plan – click this once a week and you’ll get X tokens – all that will do is wash your numbers up. I don’t think any Bitcoin company without fundamental user value should deploy things like tokens to juice up numbers and have a short-term squeeze,’ Liu said.

‘You want to use tokens to support certain things you’re trying to do that you can’t target.’

This, he says, is why having the tokens be redeemable was so important.

‘All the traditional airdrops in the crypto world, there’s a lot that are not picked up. That’s actual tokens that are gone. Here, when we airdropped REX1, there is no value to REX1 other than the redeemability. If you don’t redeem, then the BSV it equates to is still around.’

Jack Liu was very open about his experiences and the audience questions covered a lot of interesting ground, so there is little replacement for hearing it directly from him – which you can do by viewing the video below.

 

Bitcoin SV Virtual Meetups

Watch the full Bitcoin Association Virtual Meetup for APAC here: