Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021)首日精彩回顾

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Jamie McKane Published: 5月 18, 2021
Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 Day 1

备受期待的Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021于上周末正式启动,本次活动为新老开发者们提供了有关比特币开发的最新见解。本次大会于515日至16日举行,综合性及互动性的环节贯穿了两天的活动。活动主要涵盖了从如何成为比特币开发者到Bitcoin SV区块链构建的新工具等在内的丰富内容。

Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021)由比特币协会与nChain、WeAreDevelopers合作主办。活动的重点是基于Bitcoin SV区块链进行开发,因为该区块链与中本聪白皮书中所阐述的比特币原始愿景最为接近。Bitcoin SV可无限扩容、交易速度快且费用极低,对全功能脚本语言和智能合约也提供支持,并且十分稳定和安全,这使其成为了全世界区块链开发者的理想选择。

大会第一天呈现了丰富多彩的内容,行业专家们向参会者们介绍了包括:如何通过“Bitcoin SV学院”开始比特币开发以及Bitcoin SV网络上可用的各种工具和交易类型等在内的丰富内容。

活动临近尾声时,nChain首席技术官Steve Shadders和nChain首席科学家Craig S. Wright博士进行了一场炉边谈话。

如果你错过了现场直播,我们已从活动中总结出了一些精彩内容。同时,你也可以在此处观看Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021)第一天的完整视频。

 

开幕词 – Steve ShaddersJimmy Nguyen

 

比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen和nChain首席技术官Steve Shadders率先登场并宣布活动开始,Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021)第一天的活动正式拉开帷幕。

Nguyen和Shadders对当天的活动内容进行了简要概述,并阐释了比特币协会和nChain在Bitcoin SV生态系统发展中所扮演的角色。

Nguyen介绍了开发者大会活动的主要构成和议程,并宣布了一项穿插在不同演讲之间的小活动。在演讲和演讲之间的休息环节,参会者们可以通过扫描二维码赢得价值1美元的BSV,奖金将直接发送到他们的HandCash钱包。

Shadders还简要介绍了不断迭代更新中的Bitcoin SV工具集,并向观众们概述了每场演讲的主要内容。

Shadders表示:“我们将展示很多工具。Bitcoin SV的工具生态系统一直在快速发展。”

他同时指出,每场演讲后都会有现场问答环节,观众可以打字发送问题,每位专家都会对相关问题进行解答。

在第一场正式演讲开始之前,Shadders还重点强调了最近发布的Bitcoin SV节点软件v1.0.8测试版本,该版本将默认祖先限制提高到10,000。

他表示:“在过去两年中,祖先限制一直是一个最重要的议题。去除该限制一直存在着很大的挑战,但是我们现在已将限制提升到了10,000。我们认为我们完全可以将这个上限提得更高,但出于谨慎考虑,我们会先进行相关的测试。”

随后,Shadders向观众们介绍了来自Bitcoin SV学院的下一位演讲嘉宾,正式开始了本次大会。

 

Bitcoin SV学院和比特币开发入门

当天的第一场演讲聚焦在了比特币开发的学习工具上。

比特币协会的四名成员——培训及开发主管Brendan Lee、内容专家Connor Murray、课程专家Evan Freeman以及课程贡献者Kapil Jain上台讨论了最近在Bitcoin SV学院上推出的“比特币开发入门”课程

Bitcoin SV学院是由比特币协会运营的免费在线学习平台,该平台主要为新手和有经验的开发者提供具有学院风格、学术质量的比特币教育。完成每门课程后,学员们将被授予一个可共享的证书。

Bitcoin SV学院目前主要提供三个垂直领域的课程:比特币原理、比特币开发和比特币基础设施。“比特币开发入门”课程已于今年早些时候启动,而首个“基础设施入门”课程将于2021年晚些时候启动。

Bitcoin SV学院的“ Bitcoin开发入门”课程侧重于Bitcoin SV区块链背后的机制,主要涵盖:如何在区块链上创建交易并与之交互以及一些可用于在链上构建应用的工具等。

Evan Freeman表示:“我们一年前就开始致力于打造这个全球最伟大的Bitcoin SV教育资源了。

我们之所以这样做,是因为我们很清楚无知对一个成长中的生态系统是一件多么危险的事情。”

Bitcoin SV学院的课程聚焦于比特币白皮书的原始愿景以及这些思想如何被应用于Bitcoin SV区块链。

Brendan Lee告诉观众,在不久的将来,Bitcoin SV学院三个版块的入门级课程将全部开启,完成每门课程大约需要9个小时的时间。

Connor Murray还正式公布了Bitcoin SV学院的比特币基础(Bitcoin Essential)系列课程,该课程由小型课程组成,旨在消除人们对比特币的误解,并专注于特定主题。

该系列课程的第一门课程为“比特币基础知识”,大约需要两到三个小时才能完成。“比特币基础知识”课程主要涵盖:比特币背景知识、基本机制及其技术重要性等在内的更多扩展知识。

 

打点钱包、风语者和打点ID – 林哲明

接下来,Mempool联合创始人兼首席执行官林哲明向参会者们介绍了打点钱包服务及最新推出的工具——风语者与打点ID。

打点钱包不仅仅是一个标准的BSV钱包,它还提供了多种开发工具,并支持在Bitcoin SV上创建和管理token。

哲明概述了这些工具的工作原理以及开发者如何与各种打点钱包API进行交互以构建支付和数据功能。

他指出了在中国等国家使用基于比特币的支付服务(例如PayMail)所面临的挑战,因为在这些国家,英文单词和字符的发音和共享天然受限。

林哲明表示:“我们提出了两种新技术来帮助解决此问题。第一个是风语者,它是一种去信任的消息转发服务。

第二个是打点ID,这是一种去中心化的身份协议。”

这两种工具都运行在Bitcoin SV区块链上,其主要目标是简化身份验证并将消息转发给其他人。

在演讲中,林哲明表示:风语者消息转发服务利用支付渠道与PayMail集成在一起,并借助其点对点去信任基础架构保留了通信的隐私性。

打点ID还为Bitcoin SV的开发者们提供了巨大的可能性,因为它充当了不同公钥的地址簿的作用,并且与PayMail兼容,也正是这项技术为风语者提供了底层识别数据。

 

Chronos Labs套件和Univrse – Aaron Russell

随后登场的是Chronos Labs的创始人Aaron Russell,他分享了自己为Bitcoin SV区块链构建的各种工具。

其中包括:Operate BSV,这是一种使用Lua编程语言在Bitcoin SV上构建智能合约的工具;TxForge,它使开发者可以轻松地构建可互操作的数据交易;PayPresto,它允许Bitcoin SV应用的用户使用任何Bitcoin SV钱包来支付数据交易费用。

Russell的演讲主要包括他开发这些工具的个人动机以及他们对互用性的关注。他还谈到了Bitcoin SV开发工具的现状以及如何改进这些工具。

Russell表示:“在数据上链这一问题上,目前约定俗成的标准是Unwriter的Bitcom,这一标准的使用率一直很高。

大多数Bitcoin SV的交易都是数据交易,而且它们大多数遵循Bitcom的标准。”

但是,Russell也表示,Bitcom和其他现有标准都存在一些问题,而这些问题是可以得到改善的,从而可以进一步提高Bitcoin SV应用的互用性和可访问性。其中最重要的一项是在执行这些数据交易标准时出现人为错误的可能。

为了解决这个问题,Russell发布了一个全新的协议,该协议旨在减少将数据写入区块链或与之交互时发生错误的可能性。这个解决方案是基于CBOR协议的,CBOR是一种类似于JSON的协议,主要用于实现二进制数据的序列化。

Russell表示:“我的这个协议叫做Univrse。它是一种用来对数据进行序列化的通用模式,并将签名与加密内置模块视为协议的第一类公民。它让我们能够以简洁、二进制友好的格式对任意数据进行序列化。”

Russell使用该工具的JavaScript库对Univrse协议的实施进行了现场演示,展现了该工具在区块链上进行数据序列化的简便性和可靠性(即使数据很复杂)。

 

比特币数据交易– Alessio PaganiJack Davies

下一场演讲中,nChain研究员Alessio Pagani及nChain研究与开发科学家Jack Davies介绍了如何使用比特币交易向区块链写入数据。

这场演讲主要探讨了Bitcoin SV交易的基本原理以及可用于在Bitcoin SV区块链上读写数据的不同机制。

Pagani和Davies的演讲涵盖了从Bitcoin SV交易处理的基本标准到在区块链上读写数据时需要注意的事项等在内的所有内容。他们还现场演示了如何创建Bitcoin SV交易。

Pagani表示:“比特币交易的主要功能是将比特币的保管权从一个用户转移给另一个用户。”

然后,他解释了比特币交易的基本格式,包括各种不同的字段以及解锁与锁定脚本的性质。使用这些脚本,用户就可以通过区块链传输数据。

他解释道:“脚本的重要性不言而喻,因为它们可以帮助我们传输数据。你可以将交易想象成用来装载数据的包裹。”

Davies则向参会者们进行了实时、深入的演示,展示了如何使用JavaScript和BSV库创建比特币交易。

他还向参会者们介绍了如何与比特币脚本进行交互、生成密钥对等。

Davies和Pagani的演示向观众们深入、透彻地阐释了比特币交易的原理,并展示了交易创建与验证的整个过程。

 

面向全球应用的可扩容比特币 – Jad Wahab

随后,nChain的软件工程师Jad Wahab概述了:作为一个点对点支付与数据协议,Bitcoin SV如何通过诸如简易支付验证(SPV)之类的标准实现扩容。

Wahab演示了点对点(P2P)支付协议的运作方式以及如何使用轻量级客户端工具箱(主要提供SPV及一系列相关工具)实现真正的P2P交易。

SPV的用户会存储区块头链条以及Merkle证明,Merkle证明主要被用来以密码学的方式验证交易的有效性。

Wahab表示:“用户不需要运行节点,他们不需要验证这个世界上的每一笔交易,因为他们只关心自己的交易。”

他指出,这一论点在2010年得到了中本聪的支持,这也证实了SPV的运行与比特币的最初愿景一致。

Wahab还列出了一些目前可在Bitcoin SV上支持SPV的工具以及一些还有缺陷的工具,同时明确了实现可扩容的点对点交易的长远发展方向。

他鼓励对SPV运行问题和点对点交易扩容问题感兴趣的开发者积极站出来为创建SPV客户端和协议做出贡献。

Wahab说:“我们越早解决(可扩容)比特币用户层面的问题,对所有人都越好,我们也可以更快地投入到其他方面的工作。”

 

Craig S. Wright博士的炉边谈话

在Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021)第一天的活动临近尾声之时,Steve Shadders与Craig S. Wright博士就比特币的历史发展以及围绕协议和白皮书的不同设计决策进行了讨论。

对话首先从一个讨论开始,主要围绕白皮书中提到的向网络上所有节点广播交易这一点。Craig博士解释了比特币区块和区块头的广播是如何实现的,以保证网络节点的良好运行。

他指出,当比特币节点接收到区块头时,有一点是至关重要的,他们需要了解其它节点与网络其余部分的连通性,以对网络传输进行优化。

Craig博士表示:“只有当你弄明白(其它节点)的连通性,弄明白他们是否响应、是否转发(收到的消息)等等,你才知道要如何去优化网络传输。

你可以弄清楚的是,就你自己的连通性和网络计算能力而言,什么才是在网络上进行各类广播的最优方式——这会因时因地而发生变化。”

Shadders还请Craig博士阐明了比特币节点的定义,并让Craig博士解释具有多个控制方的节点为何也符合该定义。Craig博士回答说,从代理人的角度来看,那些决定要验证哪些交易以及决定挖矿奖励该付给谁的人发挥的就是节点的作用。

他们还谈到了区块链治理的复杂性以及三管齐下治理模型(包括:比特币规则、共识限制和当地政策)的优缺点。

Shadders和Craig博士还探讨了矿工合谋、网络攻击等假想情况,并鼓励在默认设置上实现共识与节点自治。

他们的对话涉及比特币的发展、nChain与比特币协会在促进比特币及整个区块链行业发展上所发挥的作用等诸多方面。

想了解更多与本次活动相关的精彩内容,请观看下方Bitcoin SV开发者大会(2021)第一天活动的完整视频。

Recap: Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 – Day 1

By Jamie McKane Published: May 18, 2021

The much anticipated Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 kicked off last weekend, providing new and experienced developers alike with fresh insight into the world of Bitcoin development. The event took place on May 15-16 – both days packed with comprehensive and interactive sessions that looked at everything from how to become a Bitcoin developer to the exciting new tools being built for the Bitcoin SV blockchain.

Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 was hosted by Bitcoin Association in partnership with WeAreDevelopers and nChain. The event focused on development on the Bitcoin SV blockchain, which is the blockchain most closely aligned with the original vision of Bitcoin as outlined in Satoshi Nakamoto’s 2008 white paper. Bitcoin SV offers unbounded scaling, ultra-fast and cheap transactions, support for a fully-featured scripting language and smart contracts, as well as a stable and secure protocol – making it the best choice for blockchain developers around the world.

The first day of Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 offered a variety of content to attendees, with industry experts explaining everything from how to get started with Bitcoin development through Bitcoin SV Academy to the various tools and transaction types available on the Bitcoin SV network.

The day ended with a fireside chat featuring nChain CTO Steve Shadders and nChain chief scientist Dr Craig S. Wright.

In case you missed the live stream, we have pulled together some key highlights from the event. You can also watch the full Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 Day 1 stream here.

 

Opening remarks – Steve Shadders and Jimmy Nguyen

Bitcoin Association Founding President Jimmy Nguyen and nChain CTO Steve Shadders took the stage first up to officially open the event, kicking off Day 1 of Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021.

Nguyen and Shadders gave an overview of what to expect from the event, as well as explaining the role played by Bitcoin Association and nChain in the development of the Bitcoin SV ecosystem.

Nguyen explained the structure and agenda for the DevCon event, adding that a promotion was being conducted during the breaks between sessions where attendees could win $1-worth of BSV sent directly to their HandCash wallet by scanning a QR code.

Shadders also provided background on the evolving toolsets for Bitcoin SV and gave viewers an idea of what to expect from each session.

‘We are going to showcase a whole lot of tools. The tooling ecosystem in Bitcoin SV is always growing,’ he said.

He noted that a live Q&A session would follow each presentation, with each expert given the opportunity to respond to written questions from the audience.

Before taking us to the next session, Shadders highlighted the recent launch of the Bitcoin SV Node Software v1.0.8 beta release, which raised the default ancestor limit to up to 10,000.

‘The ancestor limit has been the top of the agenda for the last two years – there have been challenges in getting that rolled out – but we have now increased the limit to up to 10,000. We think we could push it a lot higher, but out of an abundance of caution we are doing testing first,’ he said.

Shadders then officially kicked off the event by introducing the next speakers from Bitcoin SV Academy.

 

Bitcoin SV Academy and Introduction to Bitcoin Development

The first session of the day focussed on the tools available to learn Bitcoin development.

Four Bitcoin Association members – training and development manager Brendan Lee, content creator Connor Murray, curriculum specialist Evan Freeman and curriculum contributor Kapil Jain – took the stage to speak about the recently-launched Introduction to Bitcoin Development course on Bitcoin SV Academy.

Bitcoin SV Academy is a free online learning platform run by Bitcoin Association which offers university-style, academia-quality Bitcoin education for both new and experienced developers. Upon completion of each course, users are awarded with a shareable certification.

The academy currently offers courses in three verticals – Bitcoin Theory, Bitcoin Development and Bitcoin Infrastructure. The Introduction to Bitcoin Development course was launched earlier this year, with the first introductory infrastructure course set to launch later in 2021.

Bitcoin SV Academy’s Introduction to Bitcoin Development course focuses on the mechanics behind the Bitcoin SV blockchain, how to create transactions on and interact with the blockchain and the wide selection of tools available to build applications on-chain.

‘We set forth one year ago to build the greatest Bitcoin SV educational resource in the galaxy,’ Evan Freeman said.

‘We did so because we knew just how dangerous ignorance can be to a growing ecosystem.’

Bitcoin SV Academy’s courses focus on the original vision of the Bitcoin whitepaper and how these ideas are applied to the Bitcoin SV blockchain.

Brendan Lee told viewers that in the near future, introductory courses will be available across all three aforementioned sections in the Bitcoin SV Academy, with each one designed to take around nine hours to complete.

Connor Murray also formally announced Bitcoin SV Academy’s Bitcoin Essentials stream, which will comprise shorter courses that clear up misconceptions about Bitcoin and focus on specific topics.

The first of these courses is named Bitcoin Basics and takes between two and three hours to complete. Bitcoin Basics provides users with more information on the background of Bitcoin, its basic mechanics and what is important about the technology.

 

DotWallet, Windtalker and DotID – Lin Zheming

Next up, Mempool co-founder and CEO Lin Zheming took the stage to speak about his DotWallet service and its new Windtalker and DotID tools.

DotWallet is much more than just a standard BSV wallet – it offers a variety of development tools and supports the creation and management of tokens on Bitcoin SV.

Zheming outlined how these tools work and how developers can interact with the range of DotWallet APIs for building payment and data functionalities.

He explained the challenges of using Bitcoin-based payment services such as PayMail in countries like China, where it is more difficult to pronounce and share English words and characters.

‘We present two new techniques to help solve this problem. The first one is Windtalker, which is a trustless message forwarding service,’ Zheming said.

‘The second is DotID, which is a decentralised identity protocol.’

Both tools run on the Bitcoin SV blockchain and aim to make validating identities and forwarding messages to others easier.

In his presentation, Zheming explained that the Windtalker forwarding service utilises payment channels, is integrated with PayMail and retains privacy of communication due to its peer-to-peer trustless infrastructure.

DotID also offers significant potential for Bitcoin SV developers, as it functions as an address book for different public keys that is compatible with PayMail, and it is this technology that provides the underlying identification data for Windtalker.

 

Chronos Labs Suite and Univrse – Aaron Russell

Chronos Labs founder Aaron Russell took the stage next to speak about the diverse range of tools he has built for the Bitcoin SV blockchain.

These include Operate BSV, a tool for building smart contracts on Bitcoin SV using the Lua programming language; TxForge, which allows developers to easily build interoperable data transactions; and PayPresto, which allows users of Bitcoin SV apps to pay for data transactions from any Bitcoin SV wallet.

Russell’s presentation covered his personal motivation for the development of these tools and their focus on interoperability. He also spoke about the current state of development tools for Bitcoin SV and how these could be improved.

‘When it comes to putting data on chain, the de facto standard has been Unwriter’s Bitcom, the adoption of which has been huge,’ Russell said.

‘The majority of Bitcoin SV transactions are data transactions and the majority of those follow Bitcom’s standards.’

However, Russell said Bitcom and other existing standards have a few issues which may be improved to further the interoperability and accessibility of Bitcoin SV applications. One of the most significant of these is the capacity for human error in implementing these data transaction standards.

To address this, Russell revealed a brand-new protocol which aims to reduce the potential for errors when implementing or interacting with data written to the blockchain. The solution is based on CBOR, which is a protocol similar to JSON that is used for serialising binary data.

‘What I’ve created is called Univrse. It is a universal schema for serialising data with signatures and encryption built-in as a first-class citizen of the protocol. It allows us to serialise any arbitrary piece of data in a concise, binary-friendly format,’ Russell said.

Russell provided a live demonstration of the Univrse protocol implementation using the tool’s JavaScript library, showing how easy and reliable the tool makes data serialisation on the blockchain, even for complex data payloads.

 

Bitcoin data transactions – Alessio Pagani and Jack Davies

The next session shed light on how Bitcoin transactions can be used to embed data on the blockchain and was presented by nChain researcher Alessio Pagani and nChain research and development scientist Jack Davies.

This session covered the basic mechanics of Bitcoin SV transactions and the different mechanisms that can be used to embed data on or read data from the Bitcoin SV blockchain.

Pagani and Davies covered everything from basic standards of Bitcoin SV transaction processing to key considerations when writing or reading data on the blockchain. They also showed a walkthrough demonstration of how to create Bitcoin SV transactions.

‘The primary functionality of a Bitcoin transaction is to transfer custody of Bitcoin from one user to another,’ Pagani said.

He went on to explain the basic format of a Bitcoin transaction, including its various fields and the nature of unlocking and locking scripts. Using these scripts, users can transfer data through the blockchain.

‘Scripts are important for us because they help us to carry data. You can think of transactions as packets that we will use to include our data,’ he explained.

Davies provided viewers with a live, in-depth demonstration that showed how to create Bitcoin transactions using JavaScript and the BSV library.

He also walked attendees through how to interact with Bitcoin scripts, generate key pairs, and more.

Davies and Pagani’s demonstrations conveyed deep and thorough explanations of Bitcoin transaction mechanics, as well as chronicling and explaining the entire process of transaction creation and validation.

 

Scaling Bitcoin for global adoption – Jad Wahab

Next up, nChain software engineer Jad Wahab outlined how Bitcoin SV can be scaled as a peer-to-peer payment and data protocol using standards like Simple Payment Verification (SPV).

Wahab demonstrated how a peer-to-peer (P2P) payment protocol can function and how true P2P transactions can be enabled using a lightweight client toolbox, which offers SPV along with a collection of associated tools.

SPV involves users storing a chain of block headers and a Merkle proof, which can be used to cryptographically prove transaction validity.

‘Users don’t need to run a node and they shouldn’t have to validate every single transaction on the planet instead of just caring about their own,’ Wahab said.

He pointed out that this argument was backed up by communication from Satoshi Nakamoto in 2010, confirming that the implementation of SPV is aligned with the original vision of Bitcoin.

Wahab also listed the available tools which enable SPV on Bitcoin SV and those which are still missing, highlighting the direction further development towards scalable peer-to-peer transactions must take.

He encouraged developers interested in solving the problem of SPV implementation and peer-to-peer transaction scaling to reach out and contribute to the creation of an SPV client and protocol.

‘The sooner we can sort out scaling Bitcoin’s user aspect, the better for everyone and the faster we can move on to other things,’ Wahab said.

 

Fireside Chat with Dr Craig S. Wright

To round out day one of the Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021, Steve Shadders sat down with Dr Craig S. Wright for a candid discussion on the historical development of Bitcoin and the differing design decisions surrounding the protocol and white paper.

The conversation began with a discussion around the broadcasting of transactions to all nodes on the network as laid out in the white paper. Wright explained how the broadcasting of blocks and block headers worked on Bitcoin in relation to good practice for network nodes.

He noted that when Bitcoin nodes receive block headers, it is important for them to understand how well-connected other nodes are in relation to the rest of the network to optimise network traffic.

‘Optimising network traffic is only going to occur if you can start working out what connectivity [another node] has, if they are responsive, if they forward, and all sorts of things like this,’ Wright said.

‘You are going to work out, for your particular connectivity and network computation power, what is the optimal methodology to send everything around the network – and it is going to vary.’

Shadders also asked Wright to unpack the definition of a Bitcoin node with Wright to determine how a node with multiple controlling actors fits into this definition, to which he answered that the actor who makes the decision of which transactions to validate and who to pay the mining reward to functions as a node from an agency perspective.

They also spoke about the intricacies of blockchain governance and the advantages and disadvantages of the three-pronged governance model, which comprises Bitcoin rules, consensus limits and local policies.

Shadders and Wright broke down various hypothetical situations with regards to miner collusion, network attacks, encouraging consensus and node autonomy in relation to default settings.

Their conversation ranged across various topics related to Bitcoin development, the role of nChain and Bitcoin Association in furthering Bitcoin development and the nature of the blockchain industry as a whole.

If you want to learn more about the wealth of content offered in these sessions, check out the full livestream of Bitcoin SV DevCon 2021 Day 1 below.