比特币对比测试:BSV和BTC

By Jamie McKane Published: 十月 1, 2021

加拿大第五大特许专业会计和商业咨询公司MNP发布了一份报告,比较了两种区块链——Bitcoin Satoshi Vision (BSV) 和Bitcoin Core (BTC),以确定哪一种更符合中本聪在2008年白皮书中所描述的比特币协议最初愿景。该报告题为《最初的比特币协议:它是什么,它为何重要》。报告得出的结论是BSV最能代表比特币的最初愿景。

报告称:“在参考了中本聪在白皮书、论坛帖子、电子邮件以及其他文献中所提出的比特币最初愿景,对BTC和BSV进行研究后,我们认为BSV是目前最能代表中本聪初衷的实现方案。”

MNP调研了大量与最初的比特币协议有关的原始资料,从而确定了一个标准,并据此来比较BTC和BSV的协议。该标准能体现出中本聪积极开发区块链协议期间所提出并实现的比特币愿景。

凭借这些原始资料和中本聪对于比特币的设想——“一个电子现金交易网络,将其打造成全球性的支付系统参与竞争”,MNP构建起了一个有力的评估框架,定义了具体的标准,用以比较BSV和BTC谁更符合中本聪所提出的比特币最初愿景。

 

比特币的最初愿景

MNP将0.1.0至0.1.5版本的比特币软件源代码定义为其初始源代码,因为这些是公认的由中本聪本人发布的软件版本。

然而,MNP的调研远不止代码本身。为了确定有关比特币设计初衷的基本事实,报告采用了以下信息来源:

  • 2008年发布的最初的比特币白皮书;
  • 早期版本的代码库,包括已知的中本聪版本比特币客户端软件;
  • Metzdowd论坛上汇总的已知是来自于中本聪的电子邮件;
  • 比特币论坛(Bitcoin Forum)和P2PFoundation论坛汇总的中本聪本人发布的帖子。

基于这些资料,MNP将比特币设计初衷所包含的功能主要归为三大类:交易验证、身份安全和网络访问。

交易验证的核心是解决双重支付(也叫“双花”)问题,比特币协议提出了一种解决方案,它通过点对点的分布式时间戳服务器生成交易的时序证明。身份安全是指将比特币网络设计成一个不依赖第三方的系统,由此避免与中间人交换个人信息,并大大降低了因疏忽或数据泄露而导致个人信息泄露的风险。最后,网络访问包括原生比特币通证的效用、比特币网络的可扩容性、以及设想中可与Visa等数字支付网络相媲美的交易量处理目标。

MNP还确定了几个关键组件,按照其设计初衷,这些组件对比特币网络的运行至关重要。这些组件包括:

  • 时间戳服务器——时间戳服务器是比特币账本的基石,它可提供加密证据,证明某个时间点存在某个数据,以及在给定的时间范围内,某些地址之间发生了某笔交易;
  • 工作量证明——工作量证明用于验证比特币网络上的全部交易和区块。新区块的不断添加将让修改之前的区块将变得越来越困难;
  • 激励机制——每一次比特币节点赢得创建新区块的权利并将新区块添加到链上后,节点都会获得奖励,也就是交易手续费和区块补贴。区块补贴会随着时间的推移而下降,交易手续费则会随着交易量的增加而增加;
  • 策略——每一种比特币实现方案的策略都各不相同,其中最显著的区别是对区块大小的限制。中本聪最初实现的默认区块大小上限为1MB,并有意在未来提升这一上限;
  • 独立于受信任的第三方——比特币的点对点网络意味着其没有理由依赖受信任的第三方来促成交易或保证交易安全。在MNP的分析里,也包括了属于受信任第三方的交易所;
  • 利益相关者——比特币的主要利益相关者包括在比特币网络上运作的节点运营商、用户和开发者。系统运行所必需的次要利益相关者包括电力供应商、硬件供应商和互联网服务提供商(ISP);
  • 网络和区块——各节点必须遵循白皮书所概述的有关在链上创建和写入交易的基本规则,所有节点均依赖于最长链的数据,以便能够自由加入和退出网络。只要节点运营商中有善意行为者,网络节点的数量就不必太多;
  • 安全性——交易在被验证前都将核验该交易是否为双重支付,这个过程只能通过对51%的网络发起攻击才能绕过,而要实现此类攻击将因消耗过多算力而变得不可行。

在定义比特币的设计初衷时,MNP还强调了区块大小、经济激励、共识机制和比特币脚本操作码等重要概念。

MNP的报告称:“这三项属性为任意给定的比特币实现方案、其网络如何运行以及其网络可提供何种功能给出了界定特征。这种功能最终将决定各种应用会如何利用其区块链网络潜力。”

报告发现,区块大小是比特币网络扩容和处理更大交易量的主要制约因素,区块大小的上限直接制约了每秒可写入区块链的交易数量。报告指出,扩容区块大小从而支持日益增长的交易量非常重要,而中本聪发给Metzdowd邮件列表的一封电子邮件也支持这一观点,该邮件称区块大小未来可能接近100 GB。

报告称:“节点运营商为了经济激励而参与分布式网络的运营,从这一角度来看,区块大小也很重要。如果区块较小,则每一区块可处理的交易数量有限,随着网络使用量的上升,交易手续费率会随着时间的推移而急剧增长。”

交易手续费随着时间推移而增长,与区块补贴奖励的内在下降机制会同时发生,这使得交易手续费成了比特币协议经济激励结构的一个重要组成部分,将来可通过交易手续费使挖矿变得有利可图,从而激励人们去参与挖矿。比特币有关工作量证明的共识机制也与这些经济激励有内在关联,因为验证交易和添加交易到区块的算力投入是保障其网络安全的基础——保护网络免受双重支付问题困扰,并免遭51%的网络攻击。

最后,中本聪对比特币协议的愿景还包括用比特币脚本语言(比特币协议的底层脚本语言,类似于Forth语言)编写的各种操作码。这些强大的操作码使得基于区块链的成熟的编程语言得以实现,从而能够创建复杂的程序和函数并写入数字账本。

 

定义测试标准

MNP报告的调研范畴仅限于最初的比特币协议,并将其与截至2021年3月31日的BTC和BSV实现方案进行了对比。

这次对比排除了某些比特币实现方法以及BSV和BTC协议的某些方面,因为它们与报告中所定义的测试标准无关,包括如下内容:

  • 估值——报告未涉及BTC或BSV的市场定价机制;
  • 声誉——报告未涉及公众对BTC或BSV的看法;
  • 既往分叉——报告没有分析既往分叉,如Bitcoin Cash、BitcoinABC和BitcoinXT等。

基于比特币最初愿景的重要组件、关键和非关键方面,MNP建立了一个全面的评估框架,用以客观地比较BTC和BSV这两种比特币实现方案。

报告称:“在该框架下,我们确定的调研方向涉及几个领域,包括比特币的实现方法和概念、组件、合法性、隐私、设计、外部因素、资源利用、功用、功能性和非功能性要求、相关风险和用例等。每个领域又进一步细分出评估流程,用以比较BTC、BSV以及最初发布的Bitcoin ALPHA v0.1.0。”

对比的结果发现,BSV这一实现方案更符合中本聪对于比特币的最初愿景。对比结果总结如下。

 

BTCBSV的分析

BSV和BTC与最初的比特币协议相比,最显著的技术性差异在于,BSV的区块大小在理论上没有上限,而BTC正好相反,区块大小受到了人为的限制。BTC的区块大小上限为1MB,这意味着与BSV所能提供的更大区块相比,其扩容能力和提供实现比特币最初愿景所需的高交易吞吐量的能力受到了限制。

BTC和BSV在下述特定测试标准下的表现表明,BSV在设计上比BTC协议更接近于最初的比特币协议:

  • 网络扩容和区块大小——BSV没有默认的区块上限,它可以随着交易量的增加轻松扩容,使得区块大小与其网络的市场力量相称。而BTC的区块被人为地限制在了1MB,这给其网络上每日可处理的交易量施加了一个硬性的上限,使得该网络无法随着交易量的增长而扩容;
  • 对免费交易的处理——由于仍有比特币可挖,因此比特币的最初愿景表示仍应免费处理一些交易。这可在BSV网络上是可行的,也确实有人在这么做。而在BTC网络上,免费的交易可能会被矿工忽略并被废弃在交易内存池中;
  • 能耗——随着交易量的增长,在BSV上处理每笔交易所需的能耗会下降,而在BTC上的能耗却会增长。这是因为在BSV上,区块大小可以随着交易量的增加而增加,每个区块可以包含更多交易,从而降低了每笔交易的能耗。而在BTC上,每笔交易的总能耗因交易难度增加而增加,因其区块大小无法扩充以容纳更大的交易量;
  • 脚本语言和操作码——BSV恢复了比特币白皮书中所描述的原始操作码功能,从而可实现复杂的智能合约和高效的数据处理。BTC禁用了比特币的很多原始操作码,阉割了其作为智能合约和复杂脚本的虚拟机的能力。

BSV和BTC的很多属性,特别是那些描述网络安全和交易处理机制的属性,在MNP的评估标准下都表现得同样出色。然而,上文总结的标准表明,BSV可以随着交易量的增长而扩容的能力,使其与扩容能力受人为限制的BTC相比更符合比特币的最初愿景。

这份报告还依据其框架内的诸多标准研究了BSV和BTC的其它差异,包括双重支付、激励机制、可靠性、可维护性和网络独立性等等。

 

MNP评估框架的建立

比特币协会(Bitcoin Association)与MNP的企业风险服务高级顾问Joseph MacCallum和MNP的合伙人Hassan‘Hash’Qureshi展开了讨论,主题涉及他们如何建立起该方法和框架,从而将BTC和BSV的协议与中本聪对比特币的最初愿景进行比较。

MacCallum解释说,该框架不限于某个具体的区块链,从技术上讲,它能将任何协议与白皮书中描述的比特币最初愿景进行比较。

“我们希望确立一种可用于考察所有区块链的调研线。依据这些调研线,我们可以比较不同的代码库,看看它们是否具有相同的功能。” MacCallum 说道,“如果它们功能不同,就需要进行必要的测试。测试将会基于我们制定的评估标准进行。”

创建评估框架的基本理念在于确定中本聪在其代码、白皮书和谈话中所描述的真正愿景,并依靠这些基本事实来解决比较过程中发现的任何冲突。

MacCallum说:“白皮书给我们提供了非常有用的基本事实,我们也在试图扩宽自身视野——我们特别依赖这份白皮书和论坛帖子,因为可以肯定那些出自中本聪本人之手。”

BSV和BTC的最大差异在于,后者对区块大小进行了人为限制。MNP的报告发现,这与中本聪提出的比特币最初愿景不一致。这一人为上限直接限制了其网络的可扩容性,而MNP发现这违背了比特币协议的设计初衷,即成为一个可扩容的支付处理系统。

“在可扩容性方面,有一种明确的说法,即它应该是可扩容的,不应该被限制在有限的交易数量上,它应该能够在一个区块内处理全部交易。” MacCallum说道,“白皮书并没有给区块大小设定固定上限,但在Metzdowd论坛上有几次关于该问题的讨论。我想其中一次讨论是在回应一个漏洞,有人说需要限制区块的大小,但实际上中本聪就在那篇帖子下边跟贴称‘看,这是可以改变的,我们以后会将其扩容——它只是暂时需要限制在这么小’。从白皮书、代码和他亲自写的论坛帖子来看,对区块大小做出的任何限制很显然都只是暂时的。”

BTC将区块链和加密货币描述为旨在促进投机性投资的“价值储存”系统,与之形成对比的是,MNP将每一种协议的通证估值排除在其研究之外,因为这与比特币网络的最初愿景无关。Qureshi解释说,通证估值是由投机驱动的,它对于考察任意协议是否符合比特币的最初愿景完全无关。

“我们将注意力聚焦在核心要点上,那就是:中本聪想要的是什么,他在白皮书和其它原始资料中阐述的真正愿景是什么?”Qureshi说道,“中本聪在白皮书中并未提及‘我想要最值钱的代币’,所以虽然这种估值很有趣,但它实际上与支付处理系统的理念背道而驰。因此我们的评估框架没有包括通证估值。”

关于评估框架和研究结果的详细解读,可参考MNP的完整报告

The Bitcoin test: BSV vs BTC

By Jamie McKane Published: October 1, 2021

MNP, the fifth largest chartered professional accountancy and business consulting firm in Canada, has released a report that measures two blockchains – Bitcoin Satoshi Vision (BSV) and Bitcoin Core (BTC) – against the original vision of the Bitcoin protocol described in Satoshi Nakamoto’s 2008 white paper. Titled ‘The Original Bitcoin Protocol: What is it and Why Does it Matter?’, the report finds that Bitcoin SV is the blockchain implementation which stays truest to the original vision of Bitcoin.

‘After examining Bitcoin Core and Bitcoin Satoshi Vision compared to the original vision set forth in the whitepaper, forum posts, emails, and other writings by Satoshi, it is our opinion that Bitcoin Satoshi Vision is the implementation that currently best represents what Satoshi originally intended,’ the report states.

MNP examined a wealth of source material related to the original Bitcoin protocol to define a standard against which both the BTC and BSV protocols could be compared. This standard represents the vision of Bitcoin as described and implemented by Satoshi Nakamoto during the time when he was active in the development of the blockchain protocol.

Using this source material and Satoshi Nakamoto’s vision of Bitcoin as ‘a transaction network for digital cash to compete as a global payment system’, MNP built a robust assessment framework and defined specific criteria for comparing the adherence of BSV and BTC to the original vision for Bitcoin as described by its creator.

 

The original Bitcoin vision

MNP defined the original source code for Bitcoin software as being limited to versions 0.1.0 through 0.1.5, the software versions recognized as those released by Satoshi Nakamoto.

However, the investigation goes far beyond the code itself. In establishing the base truths of the original Bitcoin design, the report relies on the following sources of information:

  • The original Bitcoin whitepaper posted in 2008.
  • Early versions of the codebase including known Satoshi’s versions of the Bitcoin client software.
  • Known emails from Satoshi, as summarized on the Metzdowd Forum.
  • Posts by Satoshi, as summarized on Bitcoin Forum and P2PFoundation.

Based on these sources, MNP describes the capabilities of the original Bitcoin design as primarily comprising three areas: transaction validation, identity security and network access.

Transaction validation centres around the resolution of double spending provided by the Bitcoin protocol using a peer-to-peer distributed timestamp server to generate proof of the chronological order of transactions. Identity security refers to the design of the Bitcoin network as a system which does not rely on a third party and the subsequent exchange of personal information with intermediaries, which greatly increases the risk of exposure through negligence or a data breach. Lastly, network access encompasses the utility of the native Bitcoin token as well as the scalability of the network and its posited goal of handling transaction volumes comparable to digital payment networks like Visa.

MNP also identified several critical components which are crucial to the operation of the Bitcoin network as originally designed. These are as follows:

  • Timestamp server – The timestamp server is the cornerstone of the Bitcoin ledger, providing cryptographic evidence that data existed at a certain time and that transactions happened between addresses within a given time frame.
  • Proof of work – Proof of work is used to validate all transactions and blocks on the Bitcoin network and makes it increasingly difficult to change previous blocks as new ones are added.
  • Incentives – Bitcoin nodes are rewarded every time they win the right to create a new block and add it to the chain with transaction fees and a block subsidy that declines over time as transaction fee rewards become greater in line with transaction volumes.
  • Policies – Policies differ with each Bitcoin implementation, and the most salient of these to this comparison is that of block size limitations. Satoshi Nakamoto initially implemented a default block size limit of 1MB with the intention of increasing this limit in the future.
  • Independence from trusted third parties – Bitcoin’s peer-to-peer network design means there is no cause for reliance on trusted third parties to facilitate or secure transactions. MNP’s analysis includes exchanges within the category of trusted third parties.
  • Stakeholders – The primary stakeholders of Bitcoin are the node operators, users and developers operating on the Bitcoin network. Secondary stakeholders necessary for the system to function include electricity providers, hardware providers, and Internet service providers (ISPs).
  • Network and blocks – Nodes must follow the basic rules outlined in the whitepaper for creating and writing transactions to the blockchain, and all nodes rely on data from the longest chain to be able to enter and exit the network freely. There is no need to have a large number of network nodes as long as there are good actors amongst the node operators.
  • Security – Transactions are checked for double spending before they are validated, a process which can only be bypassed via a 51% attack on the network, which consumes an inordinate and unviable amount of computational power to accomplish.

In defining the original Bitcoin design, MNP has also highlighted the important concepts of block sizes, economic incentives, consensus mechanisms and Bitcoin Script opcodes.

‘These three attributes provide defining characteristics of any given Bitcoin implementation, how that network will perform and the functionality the network provides. Ultimately that functionality determines how various applications utilize the power of a particular blockchain network,’ the report states.

The report finds that block size is the primary factor in determining the ability of the Bitcoin network to scale and handle greater transaction volumes, with capped block sizes directly limiting the number of transactions that can be written to the blockchain every second. It notes that the importance of scaling block sizes to support increased transaction volumes is supported by an email sent by Satoshi to the Metzdowd mailing list which states that the potential size of a block could reach nearly 100 gigabytes (GB) in future.

‘Block size is also important from the perspective of economic incentives that draw node operators into running the distributed network. With a small block size, transaction fees will dramatically increase over time as the network gets used more due to the limited number of transactions that can be processed per block,’ the report states.

This increase in transaction fees over time will coincide with the built-in decline in block reward subsidies, making it a crucial component of the Bitcoin protocol’s economic incentive structure that transaction fees within are able to incentivise profitable mining in the future. Bitcoin’s proof-of-work consensus mechanism is also intrinsically tied to these economic incentives, as the commitment of computational power to validate and add transactions to blocks underlies the security of the network – protecting it from double spending and 51% attacks.

Finally, Satoshi Nakamoto’s vision of the Bitcoin protocol included a variety of opcodes written in Bitcoin Script, the protocol’s underlying Forth-like scripting language. These powerful opcodes enabled a fully-fledged programming language built on the blockchain, which in turned allowed for the creation of complex programs and functions written to the digital ledger itself.

 

Defining testing criteria

The scope of the MNP report is limited to examining the original Bitcoin protocol and contrasting it with BTC and BSV implementations as of March 31, 2021.

Certain Bitcoin implementations and aspects of the BSV and BTC protocols were excluded from the comparison due to their irrelevance to the criteria defined in the report, including the following: 

  • Valuation – The report does not address the mechanisms that inform the market pricing of either BTC or BSV.
  • Reputation – The report does not address the publicly perceived perceptions of either BTC or BSV.
  • Previous forks – The report does not include an analysis of previous forks, such as Bitcoin Cash, BitcoinABC, and BitcoinXT.

Based on the key components, critical and non-critical aspects of the original Bitcoin vision, MNP created a comprehensive assessment framework against which to objectively compare the BTC and BSV Bitcoin implementations.

‘In the framework, lines of inquiry were identified in several areas including approach and concept of Bitcoin, components, legality, privacy, design, external factors, resource usage, functionalities, functional and non-functional requirements, associated risks and use cases. Each area was subdivided into assessment procedures that were completed for BTC and BSV as well as the first release of Bitcoin ALPHA v0.1.0,’ the report states.

The results of this comparison, which found the BSV implementation to be more aligned to Satoshi Nakamoto’s original vision for Bitcoin, are summarised below.

 

Analysing BTC and BSV

The most significant technical differences between Bitcoin SV and BTC when comparing them against the original protocol concern Bitcoin SV’s theoretically unbounded block size and BTC’s antithetical artificial block size limit. BTC is limited to a maximum block size of 1MB, which means its ability to scale and to offer the high transaction throughput needed to realise the original vision for Bitcoin is hamstrung when compared with the larger block sizes offered by BSV.

The performance of BTC and BSV against the following selected testing criteria demonstrate how BSV’s design is closer to the original Bitcoin protocol than that of the BTC protocol:

  • Network scaling and block size – Bitcoin SV has no default block size limit and can easily scale as transaction volume increases by increasing block sizes in relation to network market forces. BTC has an artificial block size limit of 1MB, which imposes a hard cap on the number of transactions that can be processed on the network daily, making it impossible to scale the network as transaction volume grows.
  • Processing free transactions – As there is still Bitcoin to be mined, the original vision of Bitcoin states that free transactions should still be processed. This can and does occur on the BSV network, but free transactions may be ignored by miners on BTC and starve in the mempool.
  • Energy consumption – As transaction volume grows, the amount of energy consumed to process each transaction falls on BSV and grows on BTC. This is because as block size increases in relation to transaction volume on BSV, more transactions can be included per block and the energy cost per transaction declines. On BTC, overall energy consumption per transaction increases with difficulty as the block size does not increase to accommodate greater transaction volume.
  • Scripting and opcodes – Bitcoin SV has restored the original opcode functionality described in the Bitcoin white paper, enabling complex smart contracts and efficient data processing. BTC has disabled many of Bitcoin’s original opcodes, neutering its ability to function as a virtual machine for smart contracts and complex scripting.

Many attributes of BSV and BTC, especially those which describe network security and the mechanisms by which transactions are processed, perform equally well against MNP’s assessment criteria. However, the criteria summarised above show how the ability for BSV to scale in relation to transaction volume makes it far more aligned with the original vision of Bitcoin than the artificially limited BTC.

The report also examines other discrepancies between BSV and BTC across numerous criteria within its framework, including instances of double spending, incentive mechanisms, reliability, maintainability, and network independence.

 

MNP on the assessment framework

Bitcoin Association spoke to MNP Enterprise Risk Services Senior Consultant Joseph MacCallum and MNP Partner Hassan ‘Hash’ Qureshi about how they established the methodology and framework for comparing the BTC and BSV protocols with Satoshi’s original vision for Bitcoin.

MacCallum explains that the framework was established to be blockchain-agnostic and technically capable of comparing any protocol with the original vision of Bitcoin as described in the white paper.

‘We wanted to have a bunch of lines of enquiry that we could use to then go and make observations in any blockchain. By looking at the lines of enquiry, we could then compare codebase with codebase and see whether these do the same things,’ MacCallum says.

‘If they don’t, then there is the need for required testing. The testing would be dependent on what we came up with for the assessment criteria.’

The philosophy behind creating the assessment framework was to establish the truth of Satoshi’s vision as described in his own code, white paper and conversations and to rely on these as a source of truth to resolve any conflicts discovered during the comparison.

‘The white paper gives a very good ground truth. We try to pull out a broad vision – we rely on the white paper heavily as well as forum posts because we can confirm those are Satoshi,’ MacCallum says.

The biggest discrepancies between BSV and BTC arise from the latter’s artificial limit on block sizes, which the report found to be misaligned with the original vision for Bitcoin as described by Satoshi Nakamoto. This limit places direct restrictions on the scalability of the network, which MNP found contradicts the original design for the Bitcoin protocol to function as a scalable payment processing system.

‘In terms of scalability, there’s a clear narrative there that it should be scalable, it shouldn’t be limited to a number of a finite number of transactions and it should be able to handle everything in a period,’ MacCallum says.

‘The white paper doesn’t really give us a set limit on [block size], but there are several conversations about it throughout the Metzdowd forum. I think one was in response to a bug and they needed to cap the block size, but literally right below that, Satoshi says look, this can be changed, we’ll make it bigger later – it just needs to be this small for now. From looking at the white paper, the code and the direct forum posts, it’s very clear that any block size limits were meant to be temporary.’

In contrast to BTC’s narrative around blockchain and cryptocurrency as ‘store-of-value’ systems designed to facilitate speculative investment, MNP excludes the valuation of each protocol’s token from its study due to its irrelevance when considering the foundational vision of the Bitcoin network. Qureshi explains that token valuation is driven by speculation and is completely unrelated to the adherence of any protocol to the original vision for Bitcoin.

‘We were laser-focussed on the mandate, and that was: what did Satoshi want and what was his vision articulated in the white paper and source material?’ Qureshi says.

‘Satoshi in the white paper didn’t say “I want the most valuable coin”, so while the value is interesting it actually works against the idea of a payment processing system. That’s why the value of the token wasn’t included in our assessment framework.’

A detailed explanation of the assessment framework and the study’s findings is available in the full MNP report.