区块链发明者口中鲜为人知的历史

Greg Hall 460 x 488
By Greg Hall Published: 2月 18, 2022
Scope of Blockchain image with icons

由于历史的巧合,比特币和区块链技术已经成为中本聪的同义词,这位匿名的开发者被认为是比特币的发明人。

然而,区块链之父根本就不是匿名的:Scott Stornetta和Stuart Haber被认为是区块链的发明者,他们提出了用时间链来解决文件认证问题的构想。他们甚至在《比特币白皮书》中被直接进行了引用。

他们拥有人们期待的区块链创造者的资历:Haber拥有哥伦比亚大学的计算机科学博士学位,而Stornetta则拥有斯坦福大学的物理学博士学位。

从他们口中听到的比特币的历史甚至可以追溯到中本聪之前。

 

发明背后的逻辑思考

Stuart Haber说他从小就对数学感兴趣。在纽约市的哥伦比亚大学学习了以密码学为重点的理论计算机科学后,他在Bellcore获得了一份工作,这是一家电信和研究公司,他当时的工作与密码学相关。

“他们遇到的密码学问题也是区块链世界听说过的那些问题。他们正在研究零知识证明,当时这是一个由Silvio Micali、Shafi Goldwasser和Charles Rakoff发明的全新概念。”他说。

当他在Bellcore工作了两年后,他认识了同事Scott Stornetta。正是Stornetta让两人走上了区块链的道路。Bellcore赋予了他们的员工很大的自由发挥的空间,让他们为自己发现的任何问题去打造解决方案,而这位研究人员心中有一个宏大而又具体的问题。

Stornetta说:“我真正关心的是,社会如此依赖于记录保存这件事——这大约已经是30年前的事了——我已经可以开始预见到会向完全的数字记录进行过渡。

“我知道在没有人注意到的情况下去改动数字记录是多么地容易,并且觉得如果我们不能找到一种方法来确保所保存的记录的完整性,我们怎么能在此之上建立任何一种值得信赖的基础设施呢?

“所以,对我来说,问题就是如何去创造一套不可篡改的记录。”

“我们正在解决的问题,”Haber解释说,“就是我们第一篇论文的标题《如何给数字文件加盖时间戳》。”

解决方案是使用单向哈希函数,接受文件的注册请求(这代表着文件的哈希值),将它们分组为“单元”(区块),构建Merkle树并创建一条相连的哈希值的链条。

换句话说,他们早在1991年就发明了区块链。他们在圣巴巴拉举行的第10届国际密码学年会Crypto 1990活动上提出了他们的解决方案,并在一年内就写出了算法——也就是现在所说的区块链。到1994年的时候,他们已经将这项技术从Bellcore剥离了出来,并成立了自己的初创公司——Surety Technologies。

“那时候,每一个有创造力的人,每一个能写一行代码的孩子,都在想象自己能经营一家大型的创业公司。”Haber说,“我们希望能就我们区块链中的哈希值达成全球共识。”

Haber和Stornetta是怎么做的呢?他们在每周结束时,用前一周的区块哈希值序列去构建另一个Merkle树,然后将这个Merkle树的根在《纽约时报》周日版上作为广告进行发布。今年是这些出版物首次出版的30周年纪念。

当被问及这种商业化的努力有多成功时,Haber平和地说道:“怎么说呢,在比特币起飞并变得火爆并且人们开始通过持有比特币赚钱之前,你没有听说过它。”

换句话说,生意并没有起飞。

Haber说,这并非是因为被其它的数字完整性机制所击败了。问题在于,即使世界上根本没有任何数字完整性机制,也能正常运转。企业同样乐于依赖文件时间戳,并在出现差异时进行处理。在上世纪90年代初,要做的不仅是获取企业的记录还要向他们收费,这一理念被证明是一门艰难的生意。

 

超前于你的时代

即便是在数字资产每天都能登上主流媒体头条的今天,区块链技术仍被证明是一个难以捉摸的概念。虽然了解这一创新的人可能会说出它所承诺的好处——透明度、真实性——但能够描述其技术基础或解释为什么区块链可以实现这些承诺的人则要少得多。

然而,对于Stornetta和Haber来说,他们在开发这项技术的时候,企业都还没有认识到互联网的存在。在2021年去传播区块链理论依然很困难,但Stornetta和Haber的任务是在互联网有机会彻底改变普通人对数据和数据共享的思考方式之前去完成这项工作。

Haber开玩笑说,在那个年代,告诉别人你有多个电子邮件地址是件新鲜事。

Stornetta说:“要知道,那还是拨号调制解调器的时代。

“甚至还不是互联网时代。而且带宽低,存储容量相对较小,并且公司内部的记录被认为是相互孤立的。你不会在公司之外去分享这些记录。

“我记得我们有一个最初的投资者是最聪明且最具远见的。他显然完全理解了这项技术,并对其感到兴奋。

“当我们告诉他,为了给他公司的记录加上戳印,他必须开放内部计算机接入互联网,他说,‘好吧,这是不可能的。为什么有人会蠢到去这么做呢?’

“所以,我们很难理解互联网之前的时代是什么感觉,所以,在一个比现在封闭得多的时代,试图去推动一个关于创建一套通用的公共记录的构想是难以说服别人的。”

尽管Stornetta和Haber都对自己的发明及其在历史上的地位感到满意,但在聆听他们的谈话时,我们会想,他们在1991年时是不是已经太过超前了。然而,Stornetta对此也有他自己独特的看法。

他说,“实际上,如果我有机会再来一遍,我会找到一种方法来让它适应那个时代和地方。这项技术本可以有很多应用,我认为,当人们说,‘哦,我有一个很棒的想法,但它只是还没到时候,’这根本就是吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸。”

不管怎么说,Stornetta接受了他在开发时间链期间及之后所获得的经验教训。

“我在许多方面都学会了失败。”Stornetta直言不讳地说,“对我来说,拿着酬劳去教授‘如何从失败中获得成功’似乎有点搞笑,但事实上,这些教训确实在一而再、再而三地发生。能够带领那些有伟大愿景但不了解一些简单陷阱的年轻企业家,并试图帮他们去规避发展过程中的一些痛苦和拖沓的情况,这让我感到很激动。”

而且不应该忘记的是,无论世人对区块链的看法或想法如何,中本聪确实在《白皮书》中提到了Haber和Stornetta。光这一点就对两位发明家产生了重大的影响。他们说:“当比特币起飞时……与一群金融人士对话,谈论我在历史上的地位对我来说是一段相当难忘的经历。有人会在他们的浏览器上拉出这篇论文,然后说,‘噢,天哪,你是对的!’如果《比特币白皮书》中的参考文献没有这一篇,那做比说就要容易得多了。”

 

中本聪的补充

两位发明家处于一个非同寻常的位置:他们的发明是全世界数字资产时代精神的基础,但在许多人的心目中,区块链的历史始于中本聪的比特币,也终结于中本聪的比特币。这当然是有道理的:比特币是迄今为止该技术最成功的应用。但是,若将比特币和区块链当作可互换使用的概念,就会错过区块链更广泛的潜力。

Stornetta还记得他第一次读比特币白皮书的时光,他说,白皮书的发布是一个让人“备感快乐的时刻”。

“中本聪选择专注于货币体系是一个了不起的想法。”Stornetta说,“但对我来说,我认为它只是众多可能的实用范例中的一个,而且是特别有趣的一个,但对我们来说,区块链只是为了建立记录的完整性。

他表示:“我不会说它完全是背道而驰了,而只是在开始探索所有的可能性,我们现在看到了它的蓬勃发展,人们正在试图以各种方式进行应用。这几乎就像Roger Bannister用四分钟跑完了一英里:人们只是不认为这件事可以做到。

“然后,有了比特币,你就实现了初步的突破。随之而来的事情就是,突然间每个人都说,‘噢,这件事是可以做到的……因此,从某种意义上,对我来说,你能对比特币所展示出的最高尊重就是尝试去超越它。而你看,所有人都在试图击败它,这真切地表明了它是一项多么重大的突破。”

Haber对此也表示赞同:“看着各种构想蓬勃发展,真是令人惊讶。

“不仅仅是2008年的《比特币白皮书》和2009年用创世区块部署的全新系统……当然了,区块链已被视为是众多愚蠢项目的通用解决方案,但有很多有趣的工作正在进行当中,目睹这种蓬勃发展令人高兴。

“我看到我们的发明……已能够确保记录的完整性,确保它们不能被篡改,可被用于各种事务。这是我们人类的沟通方式。这是维持记录的正确性。这是历史。当亚历山大图书馆……被烧毁时,我们损失惨重。”

The little-known history of blockchain, as told by its inventors

Greg Hall 460 x 488
By Greg Hall Published: February 18, 2022
Scope of Blockchain image with icons

Bitcoin and blockchain technology have, by sheer quirk of history, become synonymous with Satoshi Nakamoto, the anonymous developer credited with Bitcoin’s invention.

However, the fathers of the blockchain aren’t anonymous at all: Scott Stornetta and Stuart Haber are credited with the invention of blockchain, having come to the idea of a time-linked chain as a solution to the problem of authenticating documents. They were even cited directly in the Bitcoin white paper.

They have the credentials one would expect from the creators of the blockchain: Haber has a Ph.D. in computer science from Colombia University, while Stornetta has a Ph.D. in physics from Stanford University.

Between them, they tell a history of Bitcoin which stretches further back than even Satoshi Nakamoto.

 

Reasoning behind the invention

Stuart Haber says he was interested in mathematics from a young age. After studying theoretical computer science with a focus on cryptography at Columbia in New York City, he secured a grad job at Bellcore, a telecommunications and research company whose work at the time involved cryptography.

‘Their cryptographic problems were those that some of the blockchain world has heard of. They were working on zero-knowledge proofs when they were brand new, invented by Silvio Micali, Shafi Goldwasser and Charles Rakoff,’ he says.

When he had been working at Bellcore for two years, he met colleague Scott Stornetta. It was Stornetta who set the two on the path toward the blockchain; Bellcore gave their employees a long leash to build solutions to whatever problems they identified, and the researcher had one large, specific problem in mind.

‘The real concern I had was with the fact that society depends so much on its record keeping – this was about 30 years ago – and I could start to see that there would be this transition to entirely digital records,’ says Stornetta.

‘I knew how easy it was to alter digital records without anyone noticing and felt that if we couldn’t find a way to ensure the integrity of the records that we kept, how could we build any sort of trustworthy infrastructure on top of it?’

“So, for me, the question was how to create an immutable record.”

‘The problem that we were addressing,’ explains Haber, ‘was the title of our first paper: How to timestamp a digital document.’

The solution was to use one-way hash functions, take requests for registration of documents (which mean the hash values of the documents), group them into ‘units’ (blocks), build the Merkle tree and create a linked chain of hash values.

In other words, they had invented the blockchain back in 1991. They presented their solution at Crypto 1990, the 10th annual international cryptology conference in Santa Barbara, and within a year they had the algorithm – what is now called the blockchain. By 1994, they had spun the technology out of Bellcore and into its own start-up company – Surety Technologies.

‘This was way before every creative, every kid who could write a line of code, imagined himself or herself as running a big start-up,’ says Haber.

‘We wanted to be able to enable worldwide consensus on the hash values that were in our blockchain.’

The way that Haber and Stornetta did this was to, at the end of each week, take the sequence of block hash values from the preceding week, build another Merkle Tree, take the root of that tree and then publish it in the New York Times’ Sunday Edition as an advertisement. This year marked the 30th anniversary of the first of those publications – and that’s where they’re still published to this day.

When asked about how successful this effort at commercialization was, Haber says good-naturedly:

‘Well, you hadn’t heard of it until Bitcoin took off and became quite popular and people started making money by holding Bitcoin.’

In other words, the commercial business didn’t take off.

Haber says it wasn’t so much due to being outcompeted by any other digital integrity mechanism – the problem was that the world was getting along just fine without any digital integrity mechanism at all. Businesses were just as happy to go along relying on file timestamps and dealing with discrepancies as they cropped up. The idea of not only taking a business’ records but charging them for it turned out to be a tough sell in the early ‘90s.

 

Living ahead of your time

Even today, when not a day goes by without digital assets making mainstream headlines, blockchain technology has proven to be an elusive concept. While people who are aware of the innovation will probably be able to recite its promised benefits – transparency, authenticity – the number of people who can describe its technical underpinnings or explain why the blockchain can deliver on these promises is much smaller.

However, for Stornetta and Haber, they were developing the technology at a time when businesses had yet to come to terms with the Internet. As hard as communicating blockchain theory is in 2021, Stornetta and Haber were tasked with doing it before the Internet had a chance to revolutionize the way the average person thinks about data and data sharing.

Haber jokes that it was a time when telling people you had multiple email addresses was a novelty.

‘Realize, this was a day of dial-up modems,’ says Stornetta.

‘Not even Internet days. And small amounts of bandwidth, relatively tiny amounts of storage, and a very siloed view about records inside companies. You don’t share anything about those records outside those companies.’

‘I can remember one of the most intelligent, forward looking people who was our initial investor – certainly somebody who fully understood the technology and was excited about it.’

‘When we told him that in order to seal the records that he had at his own company he would have to open up his internal computers to Internet access, he said well that’s not going to happen – why would anyone be foolish enough to do that?’

‘So, it’s hard to grasp what the pre-Internet days felt like, and so trying to push a narrative about creating a universal public record in a time where things were much more closed than they are now was a difficult sell.’

Though both Stornetta and Haber are comfortable with their invention and its place in history, it’s understandable when listening to them talk to wonder if the two were simply too far ahead of their time back in 1991. However, Stornetta has his own unique take on this, too.

‘The reality is, if I had a chance to do it over again, I would have found a way to fashion it for that time and place. The technology could have had many applications, and it’s almost sour grapes, I think, when people say oh, I had a brilliant idea, but it was just before its time.’

In any case, Stornetta embraces the lessons learned during his time developing a time-chain and beyond.

‘I learned to fail in so many ways,’ says Stornetta bluntly.

‘It seems a little bit humorous to me that I get paid to lecture about being a success at failing – but in fact, the lessons really do replicate themselves generation after generation. Being able to take young entrepreneurs that have great vision but don’t know about some of the simple pitfalls and to try to help them avoid some of that pian and slowness of development is a thrill for me.’

And it shouldn’t be forgotten that whatever the world thinks or thought about blockchain, Satoshi Nakamoto did credit Haber and Stornetta in the whitepaper. This alone had a material effect on the two inventors:

‘When Bitcoin took off… it was quite an experience for me to talk to a group of financial people and say something about my place in history. And somebody would bring up the paper on their browser and say, oh my god, you’re right! It was much easier to do than say if there were no references in the Bitcoin white paper.

 

What Satoshi added

The two inventors are in an unusual position: their invention is fundamental to the digital asset zeitgeist gripping the planet, but in many people’s minds, blockchain history starts and ends with Satoshi Nakamoto’s Bitcoin. This makes sense, of course: Bitcoin is the most successful application of the technology to date. But to treat Bitcoin and blockchain interchangeably is to miss the much wider potential of blockchain.

Stornetta can remember when he first read the Bitcoin whitepaper, the release of which he says was a ‘very happy moment’.

‘Satoshi’s choice about focusing on a monetary system was a terrific idea,’ says Stornetta.

‘But for me, I thought of it as one use-case amongst many possible use cases – a particularly interesting one, but for us, it was just about establishing the integrity of the record.’

‘I wouldn’t so much say it ran in a completely different direction, but started to explore all the possibilities, and we see a flourishing of that now with all sorts of ways people are trying to apply it. It’s almost like Roger Bannister running a four-minute mile: people just didn’t think it could be done.’

‘Then, with Bitcoin, you have this initial breakthrough. And what follows is that suddenly everyone says, oh, things can be done… and so, in a sense, to me, the most flattering respect you can show for Bitcoin is to try to out-compete it. And you’ve got all these people that are out-competing it, that really shows just what a breakthrough it was.’

‘It’s amazing to watch the flourishing of ideas,’ agrees Haber.

‘Not just the Bitcoin whitepaper from 2008 and the brand-new system deployed with the Genesis block in 2009… of course, blockchain has been proposed as the solution for everything for many silly projects, but there is lots of interesting work going on and it’s great to see the flourishing of it.’

‘I see our invention.. already ensuring the integrity of records, ensuring that they cannot be changed that can be used for all kinds of things. It’s how we communicate as human beings. It’s keeping the record straight – it’s history. The Library of Alexandria… we lost quite a bit when that burned down.’