图瓦卢国家数字账本:赋能于全球首批区块链公民

Alex Speirs 150 x 150
By Jamie McKane Published: 5月 4, 2021
Tuvalu National Digital Ledger - Empowering the world’s first blockchain citizens

图瓦卢是南太平洋的一个小型岛国,该国居民可能成为世界上首批区块链公民,即公民的身份、国籍和金融数据都将安全地存储于公共区块链之上。2020年12月,图瓦卢政府宣布即将启动一项大规模的数字迁移项目,该项目将使其国家治理系统和金融系统集成在BSV公共账本上,从而成为全球首个无纸化社会。

图瓦卢正在与领先的企业级区块链技术公司nChain、比特币咨询公司Elas Digital和社区技术咨询公司Faiā合作推进该项目,在BSV公共区块链上共同构建图瓦卢国家数字账本。正是由于BSV区块链可无限扩容、交易费用低廉且网络协议稳定,它成为了该项目可靠而高效的基础。

图瓦卢约有11000公民,但该国电子银行基础设施薄弱,并且始终受到海平面上升的威胁。但是,图瓦卢拥有“.tv”顶级域名的所有权,它是该国最重要的资产之一。近年来由于在线视频流媒体平台的飞速发展,对该域名的需求量也在激增。

Faiā的董事总经理兼创始人George Siosi Samuels拥有图瓦卢血统(其外祖母是Nanumea的Fakaua家族的后裔),他发现了利用该域名资产来加快该国数字化转型以及岛屿发展的潜力,从而减轻气候变化所带来的危险。他发布了一项五步走计划,可以在保护图瓦卢免受气候变化的影响的同时全面改革其数字基础设施。此后,该国政府与其Samuels进行了接触,并与Faiā、nChain和Elas Digital共同协作以期实现这一愿景。

该计划首先要对“.tv”域名进行一场竞标,其部分收益将用于建设数字基础设施,以推动图瓦卢国家数字账本的创建。BSV因其出色的稳定性和可扩容性而受到青睐,将被用于国家数字账本项目。BSV遵循了比特币创立时的技术原则,通过去除区块上限来支持低价且快速的交易,进而能够在极大地降低交易处理成本的同时提升交易处理量。

随着国家账本项目的不断推进,Faiā创始人George Siosi Samuels、Elas Digital创始人Brendan Lee和nChain商业服务部总监Simit Naik进一步阐述了该技术的应用方式及其对图瓦卢人民的意义。


消除误解

George Siosi Samuels
Faiā董事总经理George Siosi Samuels

Faiā董事总经理George Siosi Samuels对图瓦卢人将拥护全新的数字公民身份满怀信心。他解释说,外界对于图瓦卢居民的科技素养存在许多误解,而且许多图瓦卢人已经在寻找创新的方法来解决该国电子银行系统缺失的问题。

Samuels说:“我们要解决的第一项误解就是,人们往往认为一个小型岛国的居民肯定很原始。但我理解人们如此认为的原因。

但是图瓦卢的网络条件可以进行Zoom通话,并且大多数人也已经拥有了手机。对于岛上许多地方无法使用信用卡和获得电商服务的问题,也已经有人正在想办法解决这些问题。(图瓦卢人民)非常了解世界上可用的资源以及他们自己互联网基础设施的情况。他们已经在进行升级了,并且目前的互联网设施已足够让他们把各种东西联网了。”

Faiā的三大基本支柱是文化、社区和技术,Samuels充分利用了这三个支柱,以确保图瓦卢人民参与到打造自己的国家数字账本的过程中来。

Samuels是文化以及技术社区领域方面的专家,自2013年以来一直在比特币领域从事相关的工作,并在各种社区驱动型计划和项目上积累了丰富的经验。他的公司正在利用这种专业知识来支持图瓦卢的文化灵活性,并在部署国家数字账本的过程中提高透明度,以确保整个过程的每一步都与社区保持接触。

他说:“我与各种技术推广及公司在文化和改变管理方面的问题打过交道,而且我知道某种文化或某个群体需要为某些类型的改变做好准备。

如果他们没有做好准备,那么你便需要认识到这一点并帮助他们朝着该方向发展,而且你必须获得所有关键利益相关者的支持。”

作为其信息和通信技术(ICT)迁移计划(包括国家数字账本项目在内)的一部分,图瓦卢的国民身份信息正在发生重大转变,这对于吸引生活在海外的图瓦卢人回到这个岛国具有巨大的潜力。

Samuels说:“图瓦卢希望从将沉之国转变为创新之国,有很多非常聪明的图瓦卢人已在海外深造并定居,而这个项目其中的一个目的便是吸引这些聪明人回流祖国。”

Samuels对图瓦卢国家数字账本计划的前景充满信心,小部分原因在于这个国家与生俱来的文化灵活性以及能够提供强有力支持的社区。他还指出,虽然这个平台将建立于区块链之上,但用户以及大多数使用这项技术进行构建的开发者却永远不需要与Bitcoin SV协议有直接打交道。

他解释说:“如果你将比特币本身视为没有存在感的管道工程,那么它便与互联网本身无异。如此一来,你实际上只需要专注于构建优质的应用即可。”

由于这肯定是一个长期的项目,而且会分阶段上线,Samuels相信,随着对基础“管道”的不断微调,图瓦卢国家数字账本的开发将没有任何阻碍。

该项目的第二阶段也即将开始,该阶段将包括与图瓦卢公民更广泛的接触,并将定期更新与项目部署相关的信息。

Samuels说:“我对第二阶段充满了期待——我们将开始与公民进行线上和线下的互动,并进行更频繁的交流。现在我们已经完成了第一阶段,因此我们更加明确了要如何与社区进行整体互动。这就是我们强调该项目社区性的一面。”


图瓦卢国家数字账本服务

图瓦卢国家数字账本的建基于BSV公共区块链之上,该区块链提供了卓越的交易吞吐量、稳定性和极低的交易费用。在这个最尖端的网络之上,图瓦卢将使用Metanet协议来运行一套许可型加密账本,这使得建立在比特币之上的价值互联网平台成为可能。Metanet是用于创建交易的协议,此类交易的构造带来了链上数据结构。这些数据结构通过公共账本底层的不可篡改性和可靠性得到保护,同时还能确保与图瓦卢公民相关的信息维持私有和加密状态。

Elas Digital founder Brendan Lee
Elas Digital的创始人Brendan Lee

Elas Digital的创始人Brendan Lee表示:“图瓦卢国家数字账本的最初愿景是将一套托管账本保存在一个统一的Metanet数据结构中,且该账本由众多单独的子账本组成,每个子账本都能为图瓦卢政府提供某种类型的其它功能。我们很幸运,该国政府立马就理解了这一提案中更广阔的含义,并愿意迈出一大步,成为第一个使用Metanet作为公民管理系统的政府。”

“通过对最尖端的加密技术的战略性应用,我们可以保护个人信息的私密性,同时为让所有访问这些个人信息的人能够以非常公开透明的方式来验证其出处。”Lee随后又补充到。

并不是Elas Digital、nChain和Faiā在写这套账本,他们充当的只是服务提供商的角色。他们为图瓦卢人民提供了一套工具,让他们自己去建立和填写国家数字账本。这确保了图瓦卢人民拥有完全的自主权并对自己的信息拥有完全的控制权。

“图瓦卢国家数字账本的内容将由图瓦卢人民创建、拥有和控制。我们将与他们合作,以确保我们的工具能够满足他们的需求。”Lee说道。

在图瓦卢的数字迁移流程中,应用也将基于国家数字账本进行开发,首先是一个管理公民身份应用的门户。

“我们正在开发的第一个应用是管理图瓦卢公民身份应用处理系统的门户。我认为这真的是迈出了重要的第一步,因为它解决了图瓦卢人民一系列棘手的行政问题,让他们不用从一开始就需要倚赖政府提供的服务。”Lee接着说,“随着往后的发展,我们目标是用区块链上的等效物来替代绝大部分纸制的政府服务(例如捕鱼许可、土地转让、出生/死亡/婚姻等)。无论是何种情况,我们的目标都是利用比特币的高效、快速和低成本来提供相同的结果。”

这些都是团队在与图瓦卢人民进行了长时间协商后决定的将来要做的事情。但最后,账本应涵盖该国的政府、金融和零售服务的方方面面。


为图瓦卢提供数字现金

nChain director of business services Simit Naik
nChain商业服务部总监Simit Naik

图瓦卢目前使用的是澳元(AUD),因为它没有自己的货币。因此,团队将提供工具,让澳元在国家数字账本上以通证化的方式运行。“图瓦卢使用澳元作为其主要货币,因此我们的做法将着力将澳元通证化,以便将其用作数字现金,而BSV将成为图瓦卢通证化货币的底层账本。”nChain商业服务部总监Simit Naik解释到,“我们知道,变革总是困难的,新技术似乎复杂且来势汹汹。我们的策略是最大程度地降低潜在变化所带来的影响,让澳元维持可用是我们在思考图瓦卢案例时的核心部分。”

实物现金仍然在图瓦卢的经济中发挥着重要作用,nChain致力于提供一种解决方案,在保留现金的各项好处的同时通过数字功能性为其提供加持。

Naik表示,他们的策略将维持现有的现金体系,同时为其添加可访问性、数字支付和微支付的好处。它还将解决现金所面临的一些挑战,包括分配和监控问题等。

这是图瓦卢国家数字账本第一阶段实施计划的一部分,同时进行中的还有公民应用门户的开发。

Naik说:“初期,我们将专注于两个关键领域:公民应用和数字现金。公民身份应用的启动将为图瓦卢国家数字账本奠定基础,未来各阶段将在此注册管理机构的基础上提供增强功能,例如国家数字身份框架。数字现金系统将用于应对图瓦卢现金使用过程中所面临的最大挑战,包括提供更便利的现金访问权限以及进行数字支付和微支付的能力。从政府的角度来看,我们将提供不同的通道来分配现金并监控九个岛之间的现金流通。”

像Faiā和Elas Digital一样,nChain敏锐地意识到,有必要向全世界传递基于区块链的项目的相关知识以及对图瓦卢国家数字账本计划产生影响的社会和文化因素。

“在考虑区块链的相关问题时,我们面临的最大挑战是对公共区块链与私有区块链以及对区块链本身的作用的误解。”Naik解释道,“我们的职责是确保通过教育和宣传来解决这些问题,并要在这一领域发挥思想领袖的作用。我们预见到在图瓦卢之外的地区也会有这些问题,因此我们的工作重心要放在将确保其他国家及利益相关者充分如何去选择一项技术,以及这种选择如何帮助我们在应对客户挑战和驱动时提供正确的解决方案。”

他指出,团队将对图瓦卢的国家数字账本的部署进行管理和精心安排,以确保该国人民有机会去充分理解和支持数字迁移项目。

Naik说:“对于任何数字化转型计划——特别是那些我们认为是革命性的计划,我们都必须确保考虑到了文化和社会驱动因素,并将其应用于管理各种新技术的推广之上。在图瓦卢,我们对于在短时间内推动太多变化持谨慎态度,因此我们着力于进行增量的更改,以确保在转型过程中为图瓦卢提供强有力的支持。”

图瓦卢国家数字账本项目在区块链和加密货币领域是独一无二的。这是一项政府计划,利用了BSV公共账本作为其底层技术,因此,项目进度将被仔细量度,而整个实施过程中的咨询服务也不会间断。

当下的环境,充斥着着各种无良的加密货币“投资计划”、过热的初始代币发行(ICO)以及对高波动性数字代币的投机,人们期望从中获得快速回报。而BSV则在这种境况下巩固了其稳定之源的地位,是适用于所有人的最佳区块链——无论是企业还是政府,又或者是业余爱好开发者,都可以在之上构建应用。

图瓦卢政府一直对外在其数字迁移计划上进行广泛的磋商,并且始终坚持认为BSV是能满足该国需求的最佳选择。

今年将会发布更多有关图瓦卢国家数字账本项目的信息,一个专用的门户网站也将一并上线,用以征集公民的反馈并展示与该计划相关的公开更新。

Tuvalu National Digital Ledger: Empowering the world’s first blockchain citizens

By Jamie McKane Published: May 4, 2021
Tuvalu National Digital Ledger - Empowering the world’s first blockchain citizens

The inhabitants of Tuvalu, a small island nation in the South Pacific, could become the world’s first blockchain citizens, whose identity, citizenship and financial data are secured on a public blockchain. In December 2020, the Tuvaluan government announced that it would embark on a massive digital migration project which would see it integrate its governance and financial systems with the BSV public ledger and become the world’s first paperless society.

Tuvalu is collaborating with leading enterprise blockchain technology company nChain, Bitcoin consultancy Elas Digital and community-tech consultancy Faiā on the project. These organisations are working together to build the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger on the public BSV blockchain, which provides a reliable and efficient foundation thanks to its unbounded scaling, low transaction fees and locked-down protocol.

Tuvalu has a population of around 11,000 people, limited electronic banking infrastructure and is threatened by rising sea levels. One of the country’s greatest assets, however, is its ownership of the ‘.tv’ top-level domain, which has seen a surge in global demand thanks to the growth of online video streaming platforms.

Faiā managing director and founder George Siosi Samuels, who is of Tuvaluan heritage (and whose maternal grandmother is descended from the Fakaua clan of Nanumea) spotted the potential in using this asset to expedite the country’s digital transformation and potentially raise its islands to mitigate the danger of climate change. After he published a five-step plan for saving Tuvalu from climate change while also overhauling its digital infrastructure, the government reached out to Samuels and coordinated with Faiā, nChain and Elas Digital to realise this vision.

The plan begins with hosting a bidding war for the ‘.tv’ domain, the proceeds of which will partly be spent on building out digital infrastructure to facilitate the creation of the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger. BSV was chosen for the digital ledger project due to its exceptional stability and scalability. The technology adheres to Bitcoin’s founding principles in its support of cheap and efficient transactions enabled by its removal of block size limits, which greatly improves transaction processing cost and capacity.

As implementation of the national ledger continues to progress, Faiā founder George Siosi Samuels, Elas Digital founder Brendan Lee and nChain director of business services Simit Naik provide further insight on how the technology will be applied and what it means for the people of Tuvalu.


Clearing up misconceptions

George Siosi Samuels
George Siosi Samuels, Faiā managing director

Faiā managing director George Siosi Samuels is confident that the Tuvaluan people will embrace their new digital citizenship. He explains that there are many misconceptions about the technological literacy of Tuvalu’s residents and that many Tuvaluans are already finding innovative ways to work around the lack of an electronic banking system in the country.

‘One of the first things that we want to address is the misconception of a smaller island nation being almost primitive – and I understand why people think this,’ Samuels says.

‘But the Internet in Tuvalu is fast enough to do Zoom calls, most of the people already have mobile phones and some of them are finding solutions to get around the fact that most of the islanders can’t use their credit cards locally for a lot of online e-commerce services.’

‘[The people of Tuvalu] are very much aware of what’s available in the world and their Internet infrastructure. They are already in the process of upgrading everything and they have access to the Internet that is adequate to get things online.’

Faiā’s three foundational pillars are culture, community and technology, all of which Samuels is leveraging to ensure the Tuvaluan people are engaged in the process of building their own national digital ledger.

Samuels is an expert on culture and community in the technology sphere, having been involved in Bitcoin since 2013 and accumulating vast experience in the world of community-driven initiatives and projects. His company is drawing on this expertise to support the cultural agility of Tuvalu and deliver transparency in the deployment of the national digital ledger, ensuring engagement with the community at every step of the process.

‘I’ve dealt with the cultural and change management aspects of many technology rollouts and companies, and I understand that a certain culture or group of people need to be ready for certain types of change,’ he says.

‘If they’re not, you need to be able to identify the behaviours to help move them towards that and you must get the buy-in of all the key stakeholders.’

Tuvalu’s national identity is shifting significantly as part of its ICT migration plan – which includes the national digital ledger project – and which has great potential to attract Tuvaluans living abroad back to the island nation.

‘Tuvalu wants to shift the narrative from being a sinking nation to becoming an innovation nation and they have a lot of very smart Tuvaluans that studied and moved overseas,’ Samuels says.

‘Part of this this project is also about bringing the brainpower back to work in their ancestral homeland.’

Samuels remains confident in the future of the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger initiative in so small part due to the innate cultural agility and supportive community of the country. He also notes that while the foundation of this platform will be built on the blockchain, users and many developers building on that technology will never need to interact with the Bitcoin SV protocol directly.

‘If you treat Bitcoin itself as boring plumbing, then it is no different to the Internet itself, in which case you really just need to focus on is building good applications,’ he explains.

Due to the long-term nature of the project and its staged rollout, Samuels is confident that development of the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger will be able to progress unhindered as the underlying ‘plumbing’ continues to be fine-tuned.

The second phase of the project is also set to begin soon and will comprise more widespread engagement with Tuvaluan citizens as well as the publication of regular updates on the project’s deployment.

‘I’m really looking forward to phase two – we’re going to start looking at the civic engagement, both online and offline, and putting out more frequent communications,’ Samuels says.

‘Now that we’ve done phase one, it’s a lot clearer as to how we will engage with the general community moving forward. And this is where we get to highlight the community aspect of the project.’


Services on the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger

The underlying foundation of the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger will be the public BSV blockchain, which offers unparalleled transaction throughput, stability and ultra-low transaction fees. Atop of this cutting-edge network, Tuvalu will run a set of encrypted permissioned ledgers using the Metanet protocol, which enables a value-based Internet platform built on Bitcoin. Metanet is a protocol for the creation of transactions that are structured in a way which enables on-chain data structures. These data structures are secured by the underlying immutability and reliability of the public ledger, while also ensuring that information regarding Tuvaluan citizens remains private and encrypted.

Elas Digital founder Brendan Lee
Brendan Lee, Elas Digital founder

‘The original vision for the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger was framed as a set of managed ledgers held within a single unified Metanet data structure and comprised of many separate sub-ledgers, each providing some type of functionality for the Tuvaluan government,’ says Elas Digital founder Brendan Lee.

‘We are very fortunate that the government immediately understood what the broader proposal meant and were willing to take a leap and become the first government to use Metanet as a system for civic management.’

‘With strategic application of state-of-the-art encryption technology, we can keep private information private, while giving anyone accessing the private information a very public and open means by which to verify its provenance,’ he adds.

Elas Digital, nChain, and Faiā are not creating the ledger itself – they act as service providers that will provide the tools to the Tuvaluan people to build and populate their own national digital ledger. This ensures that the Tuvaluans have complete authority and control over their own information.

‘The material contents of the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger will be created, owned and 100% controlled by the people of Tuvalu. We will work with them to make sure that our tools do what they need,’ Lee says.

Applications will also be developed on top of the national digital ledger as part of Tuvalu’s digital migration process, beginning with a portal to manage citizenship applications.

‘The first application we are developing is a portal to manage the Tuvaluan citizenship application processing system. I think this is actually a great first step, as it solves a difficult and wide-ranging set of administrative problems for the Tuvaluans without creating something they need to rely on from day one for government services,’ Lee says.

‘Over time, we aim to replace almost all paper-based government services (e.g., fishing licenses, land transfer, birth/deaths/marriages, etc.) with blockchain equivalents, in each case aiming to provide the same outcomes, with the efficiency, speed and low cost of Bitcoin.’

This will be something the group does in consultation with the people of Tuvalu over time, but eventually, the ledger should cover all aspects of the country’s government, financial and retail services.


Providing digital cash for Tuvalu

nChain director of business services Simit Naik
Simit Naik, nChain director of business services

Tuvalu currently uses the Australian Dollar (AUD), as it does not have its own currency. The group will therefore provide the tools to operate a tokenised version of this currency on the national digital ledger.‘Tuvalu primarily uses the Australian Dollar as its main currency and so our approach will focus on providing a tokenised form of the AUD for use as digital cash. BSV will be the ledger that will underpin the tokenised currency for Tuvalu,’ nChain director of business services Simit Naik explains.

‘We know that change is always difficult and new technology can seem complex and overwhelming. Our strategy is to minimise the impact of any potential change and maintaining the use of the AUD is a core part of our thinking in Tuvalu.’

Physical cash still plays an important part in Tuvalu’s economy and nChain is focused on delivering a solution that maintains all the benefits of cash, but enhanced by digital functionality.

Naik says their strategy will maintain the existing cash system while adding the benefits of greater accessibility, digital payments and micropayments. It will also address some of the challenges of cash, including distribution and monitoring.

This forms part of the first phase of the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger’s implementation, along with the development of a portal for citizenship applications.

‘In the initial phase, we will focus on two key areas: the citizenship process and digital cash. The initial phase of the citizenship process will lay the foundations of the Tuvaluan National Digital Ledger, with future phases building on these registries to deliver enhanced capabilities, such as national digital identity frameworks,’ Naik says.

‘The digital cash system will be designed to address the biggest challenges of cash usage in Tuvalu, including providing better access to cash and the ability to make digital payments and micropayments. From a government perspective, we will be delivering different channels to distribute cash and monitor the circulation of cash across the nine islands.’

Like Faiā and Elas Digital, nChain is acutely aware of the need to educate the world about blockchain-based projects as well as the societal and cultural factors affecting the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger plan.

‘When we consider blockchain, the biggest challenge we face is the misunderstanding of public vs private blockchains and the role of the blockchain itself,’ Naik explains.

‘It is our role to ensure we address these via education and outreach and playing the role as thought leaders in this space. We foresee a lot of these issues arising from outside of Tuvalu, so our work will need to focus on ensuring those other countries and interested parties fully understand how the choice of technology helps us to deliver the right solution for the challenges and drivers of our client.’

He notes that the deployment of Tuvalu’s National Digital Ledger will be managed and carefully staged to ensure the country’s people are given the opportunity to fully understand and support the digital migration project.

‘With any digital transformation programme, particularly those we see as revolutionary programmes of work, we need to ensure we take into account cultural and societal drivers to manage the rollout of any new technology,’ Naik says.

‘In Tuvalu, we are mindful of pushing too much change in a short period of time, so we are focused on delivering incremental changes to ensure we support Tuvalu in the transformation journey.’

The Tuvalu National Digital Ledger project is unique in the world of blockchain and cryptocurrency; it is a government initiative that leverages the underlying technology of the BSV public ledger and as a result, progress will be carefully measured and consultancy will continue throughout its implementation.

In an environment rocked by unscrupulous cryptocurrency ‘investment schemes’, over-inflated initial coin offerings (ICOs) and the speculative buying of volatile digital tokens for quick returns, BSV has cemented its position as a source of stability and the best blockchain for everyone from enterprises and governments through to hobbyist developers all to build applications on.

The Tuvaluan government continues to consult extensively regarding its digital migration plans and remains committed to BSV as the best option to meet the country’s needs.

More information on the Tuvalu National Digital Ledger project is expected to be released this year, along with a dedicated portal to elicit feedback from citizens and provide public updates on the initiative.